Slipknot
Disasterpieces [DVD]


4.5
superb

Review

by wikuk USER (24 Reviews)
November 22nd, 2005 | 38 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist


I've promised to write a Disasterpieces review (look to IOWA for that sentence), so here it is.
Disasterpieces is a DVD containing the most popular songs on their S/T album and their IOWA.

The members of Slipknot:

#0: Sid Wilson: Turntables
#1: Joey Jordison: Drums
#2: Paul Gray: Bass
#3: Chris Fehn: Custom Percussion
#4: James Root: Guitar
#5: Craig Jones: Samples and Media
#6: Shawn Crahan: Custom Percussion
#7: Mick Thompson: Guitar
#8: Corey Taylor: Vocals


When I borrowed this DVD from a friend (I couldn't find it in the record store) he gave a few days later an almost entire black DVD. On the front the logo of Slipknot can be seen (You know, the name but with a capital S and K). On the bottom of the cover the name Disasterpieces stands, but in the middle, the famous devil/metal sign with a tribal S in middle stands. Perfect cover, it makes little childs stay away from it while older people are attracted to it.

The concert itself is very good, with the energetic knots, and even more energetic crowd, all the songs are well done. There is also lots of special effects used trhough the concert: fire, lights, fake snow, lights over the crowd, it all fits perfectly into the songs and doesn't get annoying. The percussionists and DJ, who aren't bizzy the whole time, just go jumping on their toms, crowdsurfing or other things who don't relate to making music.

All of the songs are done with high energy, but besides the songs there are some extra's between most tracks. There is a movie how they've set up the stage between Eeyore and Disasterpiece, or a scene with the guitarists and Joey practising between Disasterpiece and Purity. Also what is done great is switching between the songs itself. Sometimes Corey tells the listeners which song comes next while sometimes first some noise is done by the guitar or DJ followed with the song itself. Whatever happens, it sounds great.

Besides the concert there is also some other stuff, like video's. Now I have to say that however the first 2 video's sucks (Spit It Out and Wait and Bleed) but the I love the videoclip of My Plague. For the rest it is mainly some settings, nothing to worry about.


What was good about the DVD:

- Their perfomance kicks almost all the other @$$es from other bands. They have lots of energy on stage, with their mindless running and raising toms of the 2 percussionists. The crowd sometimes has to "help" like they did in Spit It Out or Liberate, and the best thing is that they do it on the right time. The effects used trough the whole concert is also very good. Some fire, special light effects or even fake-snow (Gently). Their concert seems to be almost perfect.

- The drumming of Joey is insane. From his great double-base to technical rifs, everything is perfect. He uses his sticks very well and is not afraid to do special tricks with it, like an acrobat (you know, throwing sticks or circling them in his hands). His riffs are insane fast and very technical like in Purity.

- Corey's voice is very good, he has great energy and really needs that, because he's screaming and singing like crazy. The crowd is sometimes reacting on his shouts and the best of his voice is that it seems that his mask doesn't bother him while singing his rhymes.

- The DVD contains some extra's like videoclips.


What was not good about the DVD

- The shouts and screams from the two percussionists are too soft and it seems that their mask affect their voices. A bit disappointing, but not very bad as they don't scream much.

- No songs of Volume 3., that album wasn't out yet at that time but I'd love to hear some songs of that album. (this won't affect the grade obviously)

- Songs like People Equal Sh*t or (sic) don't sounds very good live (except one time with People Equal Sh*t, but that wasn't on this DVD).

Best top 3:

1. Spit It Out
2. Gently
3. Purity (because of the awesome ending sentence of Corey: "Have you ever seen god")

Worst top 3:

1. People Equal Sh*t
2. Sid's solo
3. (sic)

Conclusion:

This DVD is awesome in every word, it has a few negative points, but that doesn't take away how much I love it. Besides the concert there is also videoclips to listen to/watch, and the whole presentation (cover, menu) of the DVD gives you the real Slipknot feeling. Between the concert there are some other scenes, like one where they practised, or just before they came on stage.
Disasterpieces is of course meant for the Slipknot fans who wanted to see those 9 creeps live, but anyone who likes the heavier part of metal (or even the softer part) might enjoy this very much.

Grade: 4/5



Recent reviews by this author
Linkin Park ReanimationLimp Bizkit Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog...
Soilwork Stabbing the DramaIn Flames Clayman
Rush GoldIn Flames Whoracle
user ratings (327)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Giovanni Del Pi (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
wikuk
November 22nd 2005


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

please, please vote!!!

this is my first not t-b-t review so i don't know whether it was good or not.

so please vote and comment on what could be done better!!

innerdark
November 22nd 2005


749 Comments


hmmm... i'll pos this but u need to change a bit IMO


instead of:

This DVD is awesome in every word, it has a few to no negative points

consider:

This DVD is a great purchase , it has one or two negative points, but it doesn't take away much from the dvd.


then go on to the features

but a great review, especally from someone who doesn't come from an english speaking country


the only other little thing is the bit at the start, "you lent it to a friend"

but thats just english so you'll get that with practise but otherwise

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 22nd 2005


15737 Comments


LoL Hoppus giving out english tips.... lol.

Pretty good for not an overall, but keep working on them and they will get better..This Message Edited On 11.22.05

Digging: Ricky Eat Acid - Three Love Songs

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 22nd 2005


15737 Comments


Most first overalls are like that.

I know when I did my first, I didnt know what to talk about and reverted to what I knew: T by T's. I just sorta made it look pretty.

Thor
November 22nd 2005


10193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can see that people like my format.

Good review, but I thought that People = Shit was one of the high points of the show.

Jawaharal
November 22nd 2005


1832 Comments


decent review.

Storm In A Teacup
November 22nd 2005


12781 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

About damn time I can get on Sputnik. :angry:

My cp is slow as hell today, 10 minutes to go from home page to sputnik.

The review is alright, but I wish you went into more detail. Such as telling how both versions of the video for Wait and Bleed are on here and that all their videos before Vol.3 are also on here. Also, you shouldn't complain about how there are no songs from Vol.3 on here. Obviously they aren't since this was before they released the album and it seems to me that you wrote that part just to extend your review. Also there are plenty of grammar issues as well.

"Songs like People Equal Sh*t or (sic) don't sounds very good live (except one time with People Equal Sh*t, but that wasn't on this DVD)."

^That makes no sense to me whatsoever. Still, alright try.This Message Edited On 11.22.05

reneklown
November 22nd 2005


32 Comments


I think he meant "I don't like the song "People Equal Sh*t" live, it's only been done good once, and it was not the performance from this DVD".

The review's kind of mediocre, but I guess it's good for a first try. I disagreed with a few things, such as that the DJ (Sid) and the percussionists (Chris and Shawn) "don't do anything musically for most of the performance". They do a lot more than you think, not just jump around. You're missing descriptions for all the other things besides the actual live performance, like the multiple angles and things like that, which rule. Like the guy above me said, it was an alright try.

Storm In A Teacup
November 22nd 2005


12781 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, I really like those alt. angles, one of the few things I like about this dvd. Overall all for me this just doesn't grab my attention, I like the live cd better.

ocelot-05
November 22nd 2005


807 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You foreign bastard. I was soooo about to review this, d-bag! Only jokingm, man. Decent review.

wikuk
November 23rd 2005


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also, you shouldn't complain about how there are no songs from Vol.3 on here


I just wanted to mention, i've said that this won't affect the grade.This Message Edited On 11.23.05

Dwayne_Pearce
November 23rd 2005


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is great dvd, i had the pleasure of seeing them live, and the full experience is preproduced on this dvd. A must purchase for any slipknot fan.

wikuk
November 23rd 2005


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I disagreed with a few things, such as that the DJ (Sid) and the percussionists (Chris and Shawn) "don't do anything musically for most of the performance". They do a lot more than you think, not just jump around.


actually it is a fact that they don't use their instruments all the time, and i'm happy with it. I have lots of respect to all of them because they really give the energy to the concert. The thing they do are very good though. but never say they do more than I think. I know they do

Cravinov13
November 23rd 2005


3854 Comments


Not bad at all. I was kinda hoing someone would do a review for this DVD. Good job.

Thor
November 25th 2005


10193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Disasterpieces > 9.0:Live

reneklown
November 25th 2005


32 Comments


"The percussionists and DJ, who aren't bizzy the whole time, just go jumping on their toms, crowdsurfing or other things who don't relate to making music."

You're contradicting yourself. When you said that they aren't busy the WHOLE time, you're absolutely wrong. Which made me respond with "they do more than you think". See the logic there?

I've seen them live twice (not including watching this DVD performance), so I can pretty much back up my statement.


wikuk
November 25th 2005


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"The percussionists and DJ, who aren't bizzy the whole time
i of course meant that they don't make music all the time. I've seen them live on this DVD so i can pretty much back up my statement.

paintballpunk96
November 25th 2005


3 Comments


I'd say all the songs would fall under the "top worst" catergory.

wikuk
December 9th 2005


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

could be

wikuk
December 12th 2005


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like all the songs of their S/T.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy