Wumpscut
Schrekk and Grauss


2.5
average

Review

by Blindsided USER (64 Reviews)
May 28th, 2011 | 49 replies | 6,727 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Rudy's lost his way.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

In these modern times we aren't left with many new industrial acts that are simply incredible. Ranging from EBM, to aggrotech, to pure industrial new bands, can’t seem to find their niche, capitalize and create that profoundly great album. For this reason alone we are left to hope and dream that our current juggernauts can pick up the slack and release a quality album when the time comes for them. Something tells me Rudy Ratzinger didn’t get that memo. His newest effort, Schrekk & Grauss is sadly 10 more tracks of uninspired, empty, electro-industrial songs that aside from the few seconds of sparse intelligence show nothing more than Rudy’s inevitable downslide.

Schrekk & Grauss is released a mere year after Siamese, which was released a year after Fuckit and so on all the way back to 2004. Before 2004, :wumpscut: releases were spaced out and therefore were more well thought out and better constructed than the current ones have been. The main problem with this album lies in the fact that it sounds like one giant song with a few interesting moments here and there. The album title and title track loosely translate to scary and horror, and if this is Rudy’s attempt at a move to the terror EBM or harsh EBM territory, consider it a failed attempt. While the title track is one of the best, if not the best song on the album. The rest of the songs just sound like normal :wumpscut: material.

As previously mentioned the title track “Schrekk Und Grauss” is the strongest song you’ll find in the first half. It has everything that Rudy is known for including the strong, heavy electro-industrial beats mixed with the distortion. The chorus of the song is what makes the song worth listening to. This is the closest thing on the album to harsh or terror vocals and when mixed with the high pitched sirens that squeal over the pounding, visceral beats, it makes for one of the best industrial songs of 2011. It’s almost as if he put all of his effort into creating the ultimate title track and lost any ambition he had for the rest of the album. The second half of the album is much more strong music wise also. Songs like “Wumpelstilz” and “Jiddish” have very good beats and samples built into them, but the vocal performance by Rudy leaves a lot of room for improvement. “Jiddish” for example, would have the propensity to become one of the albums strongest songs if it weren’t for the looped vocal track for six minutes. Instead it just becomes a mash of eerie samples mixed with dark electro beats and another wasted track.

It’s difficult to nail down what Rudy was aiming for with this release. With the peculiar album title it seemed like we might’ve been in for a more scary and exciting adventure, but nevertheless we weren’t, and here we stand with another lackluster :wumpscut: release for the books. It’s not such a disappointment that this album in particular wasn’t a success, the disappointment lies with the artist himself, and his decision to merely follow rather than to be the leader. Has Rudy just lost his concentration or has he lost it completely?



Recent reviews by this author
Love American / Harbours SplitEyes Set To Kill White Lotus
Prawn You Can Just Leave It AllOld Gray Demo
The Lonely Forest ArrowsSublime with Rome Yours Truly
user ratings (5)
Chart.
2.7
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Blindsided
May 28th 2011



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Okay here's the right one, thanks Dev.

Alternative summery: Rudy's got the klap.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2011



31097 Comments


There you go!

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Wizard
May 28th 2011



19343 Comments


One of the other downfalls of the album is the song titles. Now I’m not one to usually gripe about such things but in this case they are just irritating and Rudy should’ve taken someone’s advice before he named the ninth track “Zombibikini”. The first half of the album is fine but it almost seems as if when it got to naming, oh, the second half of the five songs he couldn’t think of anything remotely creative.

This really isn't legit criticism.

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

Blindsided
May 28th 2011



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I knew someone would say that, I don't know what else to cut it out and say instead.


Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2011



31097 Comments


Schrekk & Grauss is released a mere year after Siamese which was released a year after Fuckit and so on up until 2004.


All the way back to 2004

Before 2004 :wumpscut: releases were spaced out than a year and therefore were more well thought out and better constructed than the current ones have been


You could either say "were more spaced out" and drop the "a year" out of it, or go "were spaced out by more than a year"

lies in the fact that it sounds like one giant song with a few interesting minutes here and there.


Change minutes to moments

The second half of the album is much more strong music wise also.


Saying also implies a comparison (and in this case a good one) to what you were just talking about. But because you were just talking about terrible song names the sentence ends up not making any sense. Change it to "thankfully the musicianship of the second half makes up for...."

have very good beats and sample built


*samples

It’s not such a disappointment that this album in particular wasn’t a success rather that in the genre we suffer to see another one of the leaders stumble when they should be leading the way.


This whole sentence is a little iffy. I get what you're saying, but I think it should read more like: "It’s not such a disappointment that this album in particular wasn’t a success, the disappointment lies instead with the the artist himself, and his decision to merely follow rather than continue to be the leader" or some bollocks like that







Blindsided
May 28th 2011



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Fixed* and scraped the song titles part because it made me sound like an idiot.
Thanks Dev.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2011



31097 Comments


Much better, nice work

Blindsided
May 28th 2011



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm just going to be boring and review industrial from now on.

NapalmDe4th
May 28th 2011



54 Comments


Isn't the project's name technically :wumpscut:? I see that's the name you put in the actual review but not in the review title. Is that because of the way Sputnik files stuff?

Anyway, the points you raise are all very good but it's all marred by a lack of punctuation, most noticeably commas. Example: "Schrekk & Grauss is released a mere year after Siamese, which was released a year after Fuckit and so on all the way back to 2004." and a few typos and sentences that need to be fixed.

That and you talk about the second half of the album but it's never all too clear that at the beginning you were talking about the first half. It's a bit disconcerting. The end is also a bit messy. A good proofread and focusing your thoughts and this will be a very good review. Kinda sad that :wumpscut: is getting a neg. review since they've been a favorite act of mine, but hey, every good artist has a few bad tracks here or there, right?

pizzamachine
May 28th 2011



12571 Comments


Review could use better comma placement, but otherwise it's quite good. POS

Blindsided
May 28th 2011



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@pizza: I am terrible at adding commas, I'll have the wife go over it later and add those.

@Napalm: yeah I have to fix that part I just read that and I know I need to add those commas. Also
it's named Wumpscut on the site because when you put in the : on the beginning it gets all janky and
doesn't work, also they had to merge two separate pages for it.

pizzamachine
May 28th 2011



12571 Comments


I'll have the wife go over it later and add those.

Haha, I like how you say the wife.

Blindsided
May 28th 2011



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Lol technically she is my fiancee excuse me.

pizzamachine
May 28th 2011



12571 Comments


It's not me that you have to ask forgiveness for ;)

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2011



31097 Comments


Or is it?

Blindsided
May 28th 2011



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

She is home.
I will make her insert commas.
Brb.

bloc
May 29th 2011



34780 Comments


BOOOOOOOOOO

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Blindsided
May 29th 2011



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

BOOOOOOOOO



you

pos my fucking review bloc

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2011



31097 Comments


I haven't actually seen Bloc in awhile

bloc
May 29th 2011



34780 Comments


Just did without reading it, like I always do!



It has been a while my man



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy