Sioum
I Am Mortal, But Was Fiend


4.0
excellent

Review

by pizzamachine USER (213 Reviews)
May 27th, 2011 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: imagine if Tool went post-rock.

Can you recall the last time you listened to an album all the way through, without stopping? This is an interesting question considering the state of mind that the world is in. Everything is based on speed and convenience, possibly to suit our ADHD. No one is willing to set aside time in the day for only listening to music, for instance, because there are so many other things that can be done at the same time! Unfortunately, this disjointed listening experience can result in a lack of absorption, a shallow experience, a short musical fix that quickly leaves the person. The best albums are the ones that you can keep coming back to, because the more you dig into them, the more treasure you find. Apparently Sioum got the message.

In I Am Mortal, But Was Fiend, Sioum took their influences from dreams, video-games, movies, and emotion itself, and made an album with depth. The ironic part lies in the music itself, which seems rather simple, but is a bit fuller than originally thought. You will hear anything from beautiful piano sections, to ambient music, to dashes of electronics. However, generally speaking, the album answers the question of what Tool would sound like if they went post-rock. If this sounds interesting, that would be because it is interesting. With its purposefully extensive use of tom-toms, progressive edge, and time signature bending, the elements are definitely there to be a Tool clone, however, they are quite the opposite. You see, Sioum does not have a vocalist, and they don’t always rock out, so when they eventually build up to the entire band playing, it intensifies the experience. It’s worth the wait.

With their progressive tendencies and minimalism, they successfully create a brooding atmosphere. Once again, the soundscapes never suffocate, but rather, it is the empty space that seems to fill itself without much trouble. It is similar in fashion to the mind’s cleverness, where the brain automatically fills in sentences that are missing words. Why make things complicated when you can produce the same effect with less cluster? Sioum seem to be quite good at keeping the listener interested, and this is the strong point of the album. Unfortunately, with its minimalism, I Am Mortal, But Was Fiend never reaches its full, mind-blowing potential, but it is still an excellent instrumental album.



Recent reviews by this author
Shokran ExodusSevendust Kill the Flaw
Jeremy Soule Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion SoundtrackRa Critical Mass
Gemini Syndrome LuxSirenia Perils of the Deep Blue
user ratings (26)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
recommended by reviewer
Tool 10,000 Days

Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
May 27th 2011


13476 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is free:

http://sioum.bandcamp.com/album/i-am-mortal-but-was-fiend

MO
May 27th 2011


21871 Comments


pizza Friday!! nice review dood, gonna check this out, pos'd

pizzamachine
May 27th 2011


13476 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool, report back when you've listened : )

pedroia55
May 27th 2011


1461 Comments


What does the album title mean pizza?

Tyrael
May 27th 2011


21026 Comments


Imagine if Pizza wrote a bad review. Impossible!
Pos.

Digging: Brand New - Science Fiction

pizzamachine
May 27th 2011


13476 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know what the title means, but it has me pretty confused.



Haha Ty ;)

pedroia55
May 27th 2011


1461 Comments


I can't help but feel guilty when it says name your price and I put 0$ : (

pizzamachine
May 27th 2011


13476 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, it's an irritating trick they do so we'll want to pay more money. *shakes fist*

FelixCulpa
May 27th 2011


1241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome this got a review. Absolutely love this album. Pillars and Fields are amazing. And if you didn't know the album is actually three songs split up to twelve. "Ascension" is the first 5 tracks, the next three is "Intervals" and the last four is "Rebirth". From where did you hear of this pizza? Excellent review btw, albeit a little short, I'd love the hear more of what you think of the different songs.

pizzamachine
May 27th 2011


13476 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was one of the albums you requested a review for : )

FelixCulpa
May 27th 2011


1241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ohh yeah that was your list. Haha, forgot about that. Well thanks for listening and reviewing it!

MO
May 27th 2011


21871 Comments


Just finished pizza...this is really good. Lots of atmosphere and droning parts, and some good energetic sections. Awesome.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 27th 2011


7503 Comments


Irving miss Pizza. Irving see Pizza review. Irving like. Irving pos. Irving miss Pizza.

pizzamachine
May 27th 2011


13476 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

- I'm glad you like it Metallico!



- Irving! :D Where the heck have you been hiding? Good to see you again, if briefly haha.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 27th 2011


7503 Comments


I've been traveling! The only internet that I can get is during my stops at backpackers' hostels! It's been a pretty long ride - I started out in Calgary, then went on to Vancouver, Victoria, Jasper, Calgary, Edmonton, and Saskatoon. I am now in Winnipeg, and if all goes well should be in Ottawa by the beginning of next month - so expect me a bit more then =)

I really miss hanging out on this site wuwu. Traveling's great, but sometimes one does long for the Sputbuds =)

pizzamachine
May 27th 2011


13476 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Man, that sounds like a lot of fun. I hope for the best in your epic quest!

MO
May 27th 2011


21871 Comments


You're gonna be on Ottawa Irving? If you're in Ottawa June 2nd come to Mavericks and see my band play with Macabre. :D

eggsvonsatan
May 27th 2011


1087 Comments


I don't really see the need for a Tool comparison. Either way, album sounds good.

eternium
May 28th 2011


16354 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Saw the cover and thought black metal for a second. I need more post-rock so I guess I'll get this.

Blindsided
May 28th 2011


1871 Comments


Well this sounds awesome.
Good review too man.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy