Primus
Frizzle Fry


4.5
superb

Review

by Kit Brown USER (73 Reviews)
November 20th, 2005 | 253 replies | 42,738 views


Release Date: 1990 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This shit is quirky.

7 of 10 thought this review was well written

[u][Primus - Frizzle Fry/U]

Primus: the quirkiest band to ever grace the metal scene. Some people may not even think they belong in the genre. No matter what they really are, they still make amazing music, and this album is no exception. If you've heard anything about the band at all, it's probably about Les Claypool's incredible skill on the bass. This is the reason that everyone listens to the band, but that doesn't mean that the rest of the band still doesn't have plenty of time to impress the listener.

The band is:
Les Claypool: Bass and Vocals
Larry LaLonde: Guitar
Tim "Herb" Alexander: Drums

What was good about the album:
� I guess it�s best to just start this off with coming out and saying it once again. The bass playing is unbelievably awesome. Les Claypool has often been thought as one of the best bassists to ever live, and you�ll probably be thinking that too after hearing some of the songs off of this album. He plays some really catchy and memorable lines, and they�re really technical in some parts too. He�ll play every type of technique too. He�ll play slap bass (To Defy the Laws of Tradition), do some tapping (Mr. Knowitall), strum chords (Groundhog�s Day), and everything in between. And on top of that, Les sings!

� The guitar. It�s often overlooked because you�ll probably be paying attention to the bass lines, but the guitar parts are still great. Larry is a good at adding some amusing guitar parts (like in Groundhog�s Day). Guitarists, don�t be disappointed by this album. Larry is still a great musician.

� The drumming. Once again, Herb is put out of the spotlight because of Les, but he still plays some very cool drum beats and technical fills. He�ll still get some time to show off (like in John the Fisherman), but most of the time he�s just bringing the band all together. Herb does a very good job on this album.

What was bad about the album:
� I know several people that have listened to Primus before, and they all seem to complain about the same thing: the vocals. I�ll actually agree with them, they aren�t very good. They�re certainly amusing, but not amazing in any sense. It adds to the band�s quirky image, but some people won�t like them. The vocals are only there to be icing on the cake though. The main focus of the band is the music.

� The second half of the album can�t compare to the first half. They�re still good songs, but the first six songs are completely flawless. After hearing the first six tracks, the remaining ones just don�t seem to compare.

� This is the band�s first album, and also their best. So once you hear this, it can only go downhill from here. How sad.

Recommended Songs:
To Defy the Laws of Tradition � Has an amazing intro and a great backing groove during the verse.
Groundhog�s Day � Very funny lyrics and a catchy verse riff
Too Many Puppies � Another very catchy bass line and a funky breakdown.
Mr. Knowitall � The album�s high point. This song is flawless.
Frizzle Fry � The longest song on the album. The lyrics are very funny and more great bass parts.
John the Fisherman � There�s great drumming in this song, and this is also a very famous Primus track.

This album is certainly a high point for music in the 90�s. It contains many different styles of music and combines them into one awesome sound that is Primus. Bassists should already own this album, but if you don�t then you should really get to a record store as soon as you possibly can. Guitarists and drummers would also be impressed by this album. It�s certainly an awesome experience.

Final Rating � 4.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Periphery PeripheryThe Red Chord Fed Through the Teeth Machine
Iwrestledabearonce It's All HappeningConverge Caring and Killing
Born of Osiris The New ReignThe Faceless Planetary Duality
user ratings (803)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zebra
Moderator
November 20th 2005



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review, short and detailed.

This is a great album, but it's very overated. The last three tracks are just awful.

vicy77
November 20th 2005



164 Comments


only time i heard primus was on the south park CD: chef aid

Dwayne_Pearce
November 20th 2005



17 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

although the guys in primus are great musicians (especially les claypool) i find it lame that they just seem to write about garbage, and try and disguise it as either a) funny or b) groundbreaking and different. I think they are just a lame band, and people should realise that they are nothing special and realise they are just one big joke, im sorry to say that. Im not one of those people who diss other music all the time, i like primus, i just dont like it when people say they are new and excitingThis Message Edited On 11.20.05

Dwayne_Pearce
November 20th 2005



17 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

les can write some great lyrics and songs. Les stop kidding yourself and realise your potential and become serious about Primus and lyric writing

Aakon_Keetreh
November 21st 2005



448 Comments


i could never really get into primus for some reason

rossini
November 24th 2005



6 Comments


primus serious would be shite though

how could he play such weird basslines with anything other than funky weird music?

vicy77
November 24th 2005



164 Comments


they sound like a romping good time, perhaps i will check em out

MrSigma
December 27th 2005



34 Comments


I just got this cd... it's awesome

Psychopsilocybin
January 21st 2006



9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My favorite song this cd is "Pudding Time", mainly for the tight rhythm. Good review though

mudvayne22
January 21st 2006



3 Comments


primus is hella bomb les claypool is the best

Pechorin
January 22nd 2006



160 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Primus Sucks!

This is probably my favorite album of theirs. I find Seas of Cheese and Punchbowl good, though inconsistent. Wheras, I find this album consistently good throughout. As for the review, I feel it could have been longer, but you did a decent jod nonetheless.This Message Edited On 01.21.06

kiosk2081
February 6th 2006



13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

very good review...


ahhh... good old primus, this CD is frekin sweet

nobodyblossomsforever
February 6th 2006



63 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm sorry but I disagree with many points in this review.

-The second half of the album cant compare to the first half. Theyre still good songs, but the first six songs are completely flawless. After hearing the first six tracks, the remaining ones just dont seem to compare.

There is nothing wrong with the second half. Pudding Time, Spegetti Western, Harold of the Rocks, and Skinny/Constantinople are all great songs. IMO of course

This is the bands first album, and also their best. So once you hear this, it can only go downhill from here. How sad.

Suck on This was their first album, and not necessarily their best. I love this album, but they don't go downhill. They as a matter of fact got better as they went along.




claypoolman
March 7th 2006



10 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

So I am a very diehard Primus fan, and IMO I think Frizzle Fry is the greatest record ever created. I think it has sheer perfection. But I'm not here to argue about that or try to defend the vocals. The real surprise to me in your review is about the second half of the album. How can you enjoy the first half and not find the sheer briliance of Harold of the Rocks? The way they so perfectly jammed out the middle of the track is what makes Frizzle Fry such a joy to listen to all the way through. Primus has made many amazing albums, but they never have and never will match the greatness of Frizzle Fry in its entirety.

Blokus
April 16th 2006



155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ya...Les is THE man on bass, but when it comes to lyrics...hire someone else or get smarter. Nevertheless, I love Primus. Great review as well.

dasanchez
April 27th 2006



4 Comments


I like this Primus album the best. Groundhogs Day, Pudding Time, and Harold of the Rocks are the best songs, but Spegetti Western has the coolest lyrics...wasn't Tommy the Cat on that first live cd they made? That would REALLY make this album stand above the rest.

MyRamona
June 13th 2006



1074 Comments


Fantastic album. Just recently started litening to Primus, this is the only album of theirs I've heard all the way through though.

f_u_c_t
June 13th 2006



1406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is Primus at their best IMO. Too Many Puppies, with simple bass lines but is the catchiest song on here.

b00mer
August 1st 2006



1 Comments


Primus sucks!
I'm a die hard Primus fan (I know only one person who likes them like me :D), and they are DEFINITELY an aquired taste, but for me they are my favourite band. I love the funkiness, the quirkiness, and the bass sex that is Primus :D

MrKite
October 18th 2006



5020 Comments


les claypool is an amazing bass player, he also has a voice that i really love.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy