AFI
Sing the Sorrow


3.5
great

Review

by Paul Moniuszko USER (7 Reviews)
November 20th, 2005 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


AFI Is..
Davey Havok- Lead Vocals
Jade Puget- Guitar
Hunter Burgan- Bass
Adam Carson- Drums

Note- I am in no way an expert on punk. Therefore, if I incorrectly reference any punk things, I apologize in advance.

AFI, a band that defines the word metamorphsis in many ways. Before this album, the had released many "hardcore" punk albums, so this must've been a large shock to old AFI fans. As a relativly new AFI fan, I really can't compare or contrast the new to the old, but thats for another time in place.

What was good about the Album:

The energy that AFI shows on most tracks is easily the highlight of this album. The energy changes forms as well, like the raw emotion on Death Of Seasons, to the somewhat epic buildup in ..But Home Is Nowhere. Also, Jade's guitar leads are usually catchy, and fit the music style that AFI wants to play now very well.

Tracks such as Death of Seasons, really display that energy that I mentioned above. Right from the short bass intro, Davey Havoc comes in screaming with great intensity and skill, which really makes the song what it is. He also harmonizes very well later, espically in the chorus. The other strong aspect of Sing The Sorrow is the guitar work, in places. On such tracks as Paper Airplanes (Makeshift Wings), the guitar really suits the song quite well, and contributes to the upbeat, but serious tone of the music. Also, AFI makes good use of acoustic instruments, or clean guitars. One great examples of this is "The Leaving Song", which is quitely one of the better songs on the album with its gentle, but very pretty outro and verse.

Also, AFI are very good at creating an epic-esque atmosphere. This is the most noticable in the opener and closer of the album. The spoken, and then soaring vocals on Miseria Cantare (The Beginning) really make a create a great mood, and set the tone for the album. Also, the two closing tracks, The Leaving Song and ..But Home Is Nowhere flow together very well, and close the album quite well. The Leaving Song is a very nice acoustic ballad, and The Leaving Song is a beast of a track. It starts of slow, then explodes into a multi-instrumental chorus. Then, it takes a suprising turn, into a spoken poem about two young "lovers" I suppose. Now I don't want to ruin the song, but once again, AFI closes the album very well, with another impressive display of talent and emotion.

What was bad about the album:

Considering AFI was once a punk band, it suprises me a bit that the bass isn't at least more prevelent. There aren't any moments that truly stand out in my mind as notable bass work, unlike other contempory punk bands such as Rise Against. Maybe it's my lack of knowledge about the genre, but if the bass was better utilized, the album could've been much, much better. Another downside is Davey's vocals. At times, they can sound childish and whiney. While sometimes, they are appropriate, they can get old very quickly. Also, the singles are the poorest songs on the album. "Girls Not Grey" is easily my least favorite song, just because of its lack of depth and complexity. Maybe thats the reason it was choosen as a single, but, a song like Paper Airplanes would've been more sucessful amonst more musically intelligent people.

Overall:

Sing The Sorrow is a very solid album, but does lose some its inital affect after a few listens. Still, it is a fun listen occassionally, and still pops on on my iTunes playlist every once in a while. However, I'm somewhat dissapointed that AFI didn't build on Sing The Sorrow, and put out a somewaht lackluster new album DECEMBERUNDERGROUND.

Recommended Tracks:
Death Of Seasons
The Leaving Song
..But Home Is Nowhere

-rusty



Recent reviews by this author
A Day to Remember And Their Name Was TreasonKillswitch Engage Killswitch Engage
Killswitch Engage Alive or Just BreathingSystem of a Down Toxicity
Lostprophets Start SomethingKillswitch Engage The End of Heartache
user ratings (1771)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dwayne_Pearce
November 20th 2005


17 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm sorry, but there were several things wrong with this review, the mish mash of the paragraphs made it very difficult to read, and some of the views taken on songs were very vague. You made errors on the lyrics for some of the songs you quoted. The line in Miseria Cantare is "love your hate, your faith lost, you are now, one of us." that is the correct line. Another mistake was the fact you listed This Celluloid Dream as acoustic, when in reality, it is before an acoustic track, and the song itself is a rock/punky sort of song. ...But Home Is Nowhere is the first song on the last track (if that makes any sense) then there is the poem, then there is This Time Imperfect, that song ends this album.This Message Edited On 11.20.05

Shattered_Future
November 20th 2005


1541 Comments


Urgh, big paragraphs!

Edit this, and then I'll read it.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2005


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Holy big block of white of black, Batman!

And dude.... This is your 4th review....This Message Edited On 11.20.05

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

rustysurf84
November 20th 2005


327 Comments


ok i re edite the paragraphs.. damn compy
ill re update those lyrics tommrow

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2005


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oh sweet paragraphs!

CushMG15
November 20th 2005


1802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really enjoyed this cd. A little less than The Art of Drowning. But Home is Nowhere (the actual track) is the highlight for me.

See 1st comment for thoughts on review.



Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2005


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

[quote=Dead]How could this possibly warrant 3 negative votes from four? Some people here need to grow up or get the fuck out.[/quote]

Dude, you missed the giant paragraph from hell.

Shadows
Moderator
November 20th 2005


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good work. I'm looking back at your reviews and there's definite improvement, so keep it up.

For some reason, I like this stuff. It's catchy and appeals to me, which is odd because I don't generally like much non-metal stuff.This Message Edited On 11.20.05

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2005


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

W/e I didnt neg it, but I imagine thats why it got negged.

All better now.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2005


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ehh the guys voice annoys me.

Storm In A Teacup
November 20th 2005


13153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'll vote for this mainly because this simply doesn't deserve the # of neg votes it got. :mad: People are really being idiots.

lawrencedogness
November 20th 2005


1 Comments


i negged cuz he had this celluloid dream completely wrong and he didn't get lyrics right

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2005


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Lawrence, u neg for the crappiest reasons.

goblue1098
November 20th 2005


61 Comments


HAVE YOU HEARD THIS CELLUILOUD DREAM? it is not an acoustic track at all, you completly messed it up there. not enough detail throughout the entire review. you also might want to include song ratings or at least telling us what you would overall give the album

rustysurf84
November 20th 2005


327 Comments


read the note fools, theres a reason i may have messed up the last couple o songs

vicy77
November 20th 2005


164 Comments


leaving song part 2 rules. its spactacular. i hope im not the only one

Chilly-Bean-Bop
November 20th 2005


344 Comments


This is a good review. Though, I'm surprised that it's the first one for this cd. 5/10 votes? And this just got added!

EDIT: I just realized that this is not the first review for Sing the SorrowThis Message Edited On 11.20.05

Aneurysm
November 21st 2005


2 Comments


This review was deadly. I think you should read over it a couple of times before you actually "release" this beast on the net.

LivingZen
November 21st 2005


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First things first... 'Miseria Cantare' has no foreign languages involved, the only time that they are is the Spanish that is sung in 'Leaving Song Pt.2'.

You have obviously missed something in here, as "the beast that is The Leaving Song" as you put it, is actually '...But Home Is Nowhere' with the acoustic track prior to it being 'The Leaving Song'.

The outro section between '...But Home Is Nowhere' and the secret track (and my personal favorite) 'This Time Imperfect', i believe is also titled Rabbits Are Roadkill. Not entirely sure on that last one.

maco
December 26th 2005


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow, this is innacurate.

How is "Love your hate. Your faith lost. You are now one of us. Nothing from nowhere, I'm no one at all. Radiate, recognize one silent call as we all form one dark flame" in Latin? It's definitely English.

What you called the Leaving Song is ...But Home is Nowhere. What you called ...But Home is Nowhere is This Time Imperfect. I don't know where you put the Spoken Word. You called the Leaving Song This Celluloid Dream.

To end up with only 12 tracks when you counted This Time Imperfect as it's own separate track means you missed one. Or two. You definitely left out the Spoken Word. Something else is missing. It's either This Celluloid Dream or Paper Airplanes. Figure out which one. Paper Airplanes starts out with "raise high monolithic" and This Celluloid Dream starts out with "Calling tears from deep inside. Oh, you're so exquisite."



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy