Fight Like Apes
...And The Mystery Of The Golden Medallion


4.5
superb

Review

by Adam Knott EMERITUS
May 24th, 2011 | 22 replies | 5,608 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: GIVE ME MY HOOK!

'Something Global' is the best song ever written.

It doesn't even mean anything and, granted, it's probably not, but I dare you to find it within you while the opening track of Golden Medallion is screaming and stomping from your stereo that it isn't the best song in the fucking world. Such is the power of Irish electro-punk maniacs Fight Like Apes to immerse their captive audience underneath the waves of reckless abandon and smirk-inducing quips; so much music is called energetic but I fucking dare you to use that term with such liberal disrespect after just one listen of Medallion.

Because of the very few bands who could even get away with an 8-second burst of chaos like 'Megameanie' two-thirds of the way through their debut LP, even fewer would find it possible to argue that it didn't even disrupt the album. That's why 'Something Global's blistering chorus screams, 'give me my hook!' - it's the album's way of just, you know, warning you for what's about to come. Because even when the volume of the synths hits a lowly 9 out of 11, even then, Fight Like Apes are a thousand times more dynamic than most of their peers, and when it strikes maximum, it's a positively orgasmic experience.

The great thing about Medallion is that while it essentially is devoid of meaning - very few lines even make a whole lot of sense, and of those only a handful appear to carry 'importance' - that doesn't stop the aggressive sections of a song like 'Jake Summers' from being angry as hell, or 'Do You Karate?' sounding overwrought with desparation. Medallion is never truly mindless, which is to say that even when it entirely loses itself, itself alone is enough to steer the ship into cardiac arrest territory; these impulsive harmonies might have their fists clenched, but they know what they're aimed at.

Plenty of bands make claims to being instinctive but Medallion, turned up loud, drowns them out at a canter. At points it's hilariously crude (there is no foreshadowing within the first 3 tracks of 'Digi***er's 'and did you stick things up her?!) but these things are ultimately the most endearing thing about Fight Like Apes; in the midst of their cyclone, they appear wholly unedited, unrestricted, and seriously unpredictable. Which makes it weird that what's contained on Medallion is essentially a set of really loud and obnoxious pop songs, hyperactive to the very bone. It's the way they play those chords with such joyous revelry that makes Fight Like Apes' debut record a must-have.



Recent reviews by this author
Mumford and Sons BabelAbel (NY) Make It Right
The Gaslight Anthem HandwrittenMotion City Soundtrack Go
Sigur Ros ValtariSilversun Pickups Neck of the Woods
user ratings (31)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Lewis P. STAFF (4)
A brand new scent for modern man invented by cartoons....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Knott-
Emeritus
May 24th 2011



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

because 20 ratings is atrocious because this album rules

DoubtGin
May 24th 2011



6748 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like this

Drsmith4
May 24th 2011



1712 Comments


Sold!

STOP SHOUTING!
May 24th 2011



631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great intro. guess i'll give this a listen then.

plane
Staff Reviewer
May 24th 2011



6085 Comments


Haven't listened to this in ages. Sup Knott.

Knott-
Emeritus
May 24th 2011



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yay lewis. your review made me get this in the first place. PASSING IT ON

Knott-
Emeritus
May 24th 2011



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers. Yeah I remember reading your comment about how you hated the re-recordings. I can't imagine any of these tracks with more adrenaline to be honest. Especially 'Something Global', there is no time when that song has not been able to cheer me up.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
May 24th 2011



3762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

something global, something real, something music kids might steal, something different, something whoa, something trendy at the mo', something retro, something cool, a look for all the boys to drool, give me my hook, GIVE ME MY HOOK! *SYNTH*.




Song is now stuck in your head.

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

Knott-
Emeritus
May 24th 2011



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you're about a year late ALEX

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
May 24th 2011



3762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bisch I was dancing to this when you were still strikey

Knott-
Emeritus
May 24th 2011



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so was i! : (

lancebramsay
May 24th 2011



1585 Comments


Not sure if you needed to use fuck so much... Otherwise great review. Will check this out in due time.

Knott-
Emeritus
May 24th 2011



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I only used it twice in the opening paragraph, and I only swear in reviews where it makes sense to, given the tone of the record. Here is one.

wabbit
May 24th 2011



6978 Comments


my sister loves this album

Knott-
Emeritus
May 24th 2011



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you have a cool sister then grats

Minus The Flair
Emeritus
May 25th 2011



862 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"8-minute burst"

imagine that!

sweet review otherwise, haven't played this in forever. will do so now.

Knott-
Emeritus
May 25th 2011



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh fuck what the fuck am i playing at

Knott-
Emeritus
May 25th 2011



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

makes FLA sound like a fucking prog band

iisblackstar
May 25th 2011



431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

picked this up after reading the review and didnt think i would like the 8-'minute' burst but i see youve fixed this and was pleasantly surprised with these guys.
Is any of their other stuff worth checking out?

Knott-
Emeritus
May 25th 2011



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can't actually believe that slip of the brain, how many people read this and thought "an 8-minute burst? fuck that." : (

Their new one is pretty good, The Body Of Christ And The Legs Of Tina Turner, but not as memorable or impulsive as this. Still worth checking out though, it's a bit more restrained but still some great songs.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy