The Evpatoria Report
Golevka


5.0
classic

Review

by Grayson Hale USER (33 Reviews)
May 20th, 2011 | 73 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Don’t wait for the future of post-rock – it’s already here.

Mogwai, God is an Astronaut, Tristeza, Mono, Explosions in the Sky - you name it, if you’re a fan of post-rock chances are you’ve heard of at least one of these bands. There’s an even bigger chance you actually like a few of them. But if you look past the beauty, sophistication and small intricacies that define them, you will soon realise that almost all are clones of each other, each taking notes from the distinctiveness of another and combining it with ideas of their own. This vicious cycle of give and take has resulted in a genre that lacks individuality and has grown stale to the ears of even the most committed and supportive post-rock fans.

But somewhere out in the Swiss mountains, a small 5-piece ensemble known as The Evpatoria Report were making music that had yet to be touched. Sure, they are not without their influences but they sure as hell gave critics of the genre something to think about. Their first demo was released in 2003 but only hinted at what was to come. With their first full-length album Golevka, the Evpatoria Report took post-rock to new levels yet to be reached by many of the above-mentioned maestros of the genre.

Yet at times it can appear uncertain as to how they have managed to achieve such a feat – on the surface it sounds as though they have simply pulled the exact same ploy as the others, and borrowed heavily from their contemporaries. But there is just that ‘something’ about it that has you hooked from the very beginning. Just listen to the opening few minutes of Prognoz – you are immediately captivated with a desperate desire to find out what comes next, how the track is going to reach its inevitable climax. And it does, just three and a half minutes in, only to fade out and reveal one of the most breathtaking, yet uncomplicated pieces of guitar-work, with an atmosphere that pulls you deep into a white cloud of beauty. Or how about the album’s masterstroke in Taijin Kyofusho with its dense guitars and ambient keyboards providing a stunning contrast between heavy and minimalist harmonies. The song is not only the best on the album but one of the best post-rock songs ever recorded. And while that may seem like a bold statement to some, there is undeniable originality here and atmosphere far beyond what has been achieved by many of their habitually pretentious peers.

Even though the album does admittedly lose a little focus from that point onwards there are no weak tracks here. You will not be bored or able to predict what comes next – Cosmic Call will work majestic splendour around its basic guitar riff, Optimal Region Selector will daze with its keys and Dipole Experiment will sum the whole album up in just eleven and a half minutes. In short, while it is clear that there is not complete innovation or technicality here, The Evpatoria Report do things their way and ultimately come out sounding like an entirely different being from the rest. Don’t wait for the future of post-rock – it’s already here.



Recent reviews by this author
Unfathomed of Abyss Arisen Upon OblivionThe Society Islands The Big Sleep
The Oxford Coma MorphineThe Lost Poets Insubordia
Godhead The Shadow RealignedGumshen Progtronica
user ratings (135)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Psychopathologist
May 20th 2011


1922 Comments


some of the climaxes and build ups are pretty good, but this one wore off too quickly for me

prognoz is badass though

SeaAnemone
May 20th 2011


20970 Comments


"But if you look past the beauty, sophistication and small intricacies that define them, you will soon realise that almost all are clones of each other, each taking notes from the distinctiveness of another and combining it with ideas of their own."

How is that a 'clone' at all? Isn't that what music in general does? Wouldn't a clone be something extremely if not exactly similar?

good review... a touch too hyperbolic though... if you're going to make the claims you're making, I'd add a little more backup and evidence. I also have no idea how you label them the 'future of post-rock' as there's nothing really here that tells us why they're the future. Still, nice of you to set your sights high, and this needed a review. I probably won't listen to this, Maar was very underwhelming.

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2011


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

amazing album. the first song blew me away the first time I heard it.

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

SAPoodle
May 20th 2011


510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@SeaAnemone: I was trying to say that in post-rock despite the beauty and depth a lot of the songs have, many of them run on the same formula and borrow lots of elements from each other. Don't get me wrong, I love my post-rock but I'm not sure if you played me a Mogwai song and asked me who it is I'd be able to tell you - it could be any one of Mogwai, Explosions... or Mono or whatever. I dunno, it's just my opinion.

As for the future of post-rock thing, I know it's a massive statement and I tried my best to explain why - they have that X-factor which I find lacking in many other groups. I just happen to be a particularly big fan of this album.

Oh and Maar was very disappointing compared to this. This is a much, much better album. I found Maar rather dreary.

SAPoodle
May 20th 2011


510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And thanks for the criticism

SeaAnemone
May 20th 2011


20970 Comments


OK that makes more sense, I think it's important though to separate the whole "Mono, EITS" sound and all the copycats
of said sound from better modern post-rock like GY!BE, Thee Silver Mt. Zion whatever it's called these days, DMST,
Ghastly City Sleep, etc. etc. other good post-rock that differentiates itself from the tired EITS sound.

aka it's not really fair to lump them all together i.e. a 'post-rock sound' which too often happens in post-rock reviews.

regardless, like I said, nice review especially for a fifth, and I like that you took a bold stance on the album

SAPoodle
May 20th 2011


510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I guess I was also kinda lumping Godspeed! and Yndi in the same box but it didn't turn out looking like that. I'll edit that beginning bit so it makes more sense. Plus its kinda unfair on those two seeing as they are both much better than EITS, Mogwai etc.

Oblivioncry
May 20th 2011


601 Comments


it seems about every review of a post rock album starts with how stale the genre has gotten BUT the reviewed album is something totally diffrent and original and totally not unlike anything put out in the genre before and the following is the game changer.....post rock reviews have become stale.....



Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 21st 2011


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ pretty true actually

Crimson Death
May 21st 2011


533 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It's pretty damn good, but I have to 2nd psychopatholigist. Except that I think Taijin Kyofusho is badass.

Pachelbel
May 21st 2011


192 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's "C.C.S. Logbook" not "Dogbook".


Pachelbel
May 21st 2011


192 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Plus its kinda unfair on those two seeing as they are both much better than EITS, Mogwai etc"
You're an idiot, nice review though.

MusicIsMyFavorite
May 21st 2011


405 Comments


Good review, been meaning to check this out for a while

sniper
May 21st 2011


19079 Comments


if you think godspeed aren't better than eits you're.

Psychopathologist
May 21st 2011


1922 Comments


wow

loosethefiend
May 22nd 2011


4 Comments


Great review man! totally agree with what you said. Really liked that description of "an atmosphere that pulls you deep into a white cloud of beauty"

Look forward to reading more of your stuff!

TheJizzMaster
May 23rd 2011


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

violin in taijin udibdsdb is damn good

natey
May 28th 2011


4170 Comments


I'm not sure if you played me a Mogwai song and asked me who it is I'd be able to tell you - it
could be any one of Mogwai, Explosions... or Mono or whatever. I dunno, it's just my opinion.


is the fucking point of music to kinda know some songs by mogwai and explosions and then play a
guessing game and shuffle their songs and see how many times your right

i think you were at your strongest when writing "I'm not sure"... "I dunno"

SAPoodle
May 28th 2011


510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's only because you're taking what I said too literally. I'm not trying to slag off Mogwai and
Explosions but felt it necessary to include them in my review because I needed to compare the
evolution of their sound - the point I was trying to make is that TER are the 'future of post-rock' by
taking the sound started by those bands and expanding on it. I like "Your Hand in Mine" just as much
as the next person but I still feel that its a tired sound and neither band really has anything new to
offer it. Hence TER coming in and revolutionising it.

natey
May 28th 2011


4170 Comments


ok, I don't see expansion as much as different choices



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy