Sevendust
Cold Day Memory


3.5
great

Review

by Devin Earl USER (10 Reviews)
May 17th, 2011 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A strong recovery from Hope and Sorrow

Atlanta Georgia’s hard rockers Sevendust are back with their highly anticipated 8th studio album Cold Day Memory. Highly anticipated may be due to the fact that it’s the return of original guitarist Clint Lowery. Right before Seasons was released in 2005 Lowery left the band to join his brother’s band Dark New Day. Having the same lineup after 13 years is an incredible feat in a generation where band members come and go like new generations of I Phones. Upon the return of Lowery the band wasted no time getting back into the studio.

After so many years of playing, Sevendust has developed a signature combination of crushing riffs, infectious hooks, and commanding vocal work, as well as their memorable stage presence and huge following. With the help of Grammy award winning producer Johnny K. Sevendust returns to many of their staple sounds that you’ve listened to on previous albums.

Cold Day Memory contains a nice balance of soft and heavy songs. The opening track “Splinter” is a great example of the heavier side of the band. The harsh drum work and clean/scream vocal combination make it one of the strongest and well defined tracks on
the record. On the 5th track “Karma” lead vocalist Lajon Witherspoon shows once again his powerful combination of melodic and aggressive vocals. The band has definitely gone to a more melodic approach while still containing their heaviness in the process. But songs like “Here and Now”, “Nowhere”, and “Better Place” were a little boring and offered nothing new. I felt as if I was listening to songs I’ve already listened too.

It’s fairly generic and predictable but that didn’t stop me from enjoying the solid harmonies and vocal hooks. Although it won’t break any new ground or redefine genres, Cold Day Memory is still a deeply residing album.



Recent reviews by this author
Unearth The MarchUnearth Darkness in the Light
Upon a Burning Body The World Is OursDecrepit Birth Polarity
I, the Breather These Are My SinsEmmure Speaker of the Dead
user ratings (220)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (3)
Sevendust have come a long way from their self titled release in 1997, and somehow have managed to s...

jitteryzeitgeist (2)
If you're looking for Grade A musicianship, excellent songwriting, and a template on which all moder...

Pessimist (3)
Bro metal with a hint of chocolate. Yummy....


Comments:Add a Comment 
AfterTheBreakdown
May 17th 2011


7168 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Let me know what you think

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 17th 2011


7122 Comments


I felt as if I was listening to songs I’ve already listened too.

The listener* may feel as though they are listening to songs.... (maybe?)

Go over it man. Definite improvement from your Emmure review.

pizzamachine
May 17th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Decent review.

AfterTheBreakdown
May 17th 2011


7168 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks ipod and pizza. I will edit when im not on my phone again.

tiesthatbind
May 17th 2011


7380 Comments


Could use a little more detail, but what's there is pretty well-written.

I personally think Chapter VII was their best, this kinda bores me apart from Splinter and Strong Arm
Broken.

Digging: Poets of the Fall - Twilight Theater

AfterTheBreakdown
May 17th 2011


7168 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked confessions even though it was a lighter song

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 17th 2011


7122 Comments


A few of these were fair good live.

AfterTheBreakdown
May 17th 2011


7168 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I haven't seen them since hope and sorrow came out. But im seeing them in august.

Apollo
May 17th 2011


10365 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is the only Sevendust I cant stand

Hope and Sorrow is easily the best album they have put out

AfterTheBreakdown
May 17th 2011


7168 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It was ok. I think I enjoy Next the most

sspedding
May 17th 2011


4782 Comments


good start to the review but seems a little short and abrupt at the end. Still decent overall, have a pos.

Digging: Devil Sold His Soul - Belong ? Betray

PayneTiger777
May 17th 2011


4409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review. I enjoyed the first 5 songs on this album a lot, but after that it got a little repetitive. I expected a little bit more from them after they made Chapter VII, which is my second favorite 7D album.

AfterTheBreakdown
May 17th 2011


7168 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks spedding. Good to know. I will work on these things in future reviews

ButcheredChildren
May 17th 2011


5591 Comments


Karma is a fucking golden track.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 17th 2011


7122 Comments


AfterBreak meet BC.

PostModernJellyfish
May 17th 2011


459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The only other album I like by these guys is Alpha.

But this album is doing okay for me, I suppose.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2011


31495 Comments


Hope and Sorrow is easily the best album they have put out


In what universe sir, in what universe?


Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4

PostModernJellyfish
May 17th 2011


459 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"In what universe sir, in what universe?"

The one that isn't this one, perhaps?


inspectorK
May 17th 2011


111 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this has some great tracks, forever dead, unraveling, confessions and splinter all rock

AfterTheBreakdown
May 17th 2011


7168 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Meet bc?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy