Iselia
Adaptations


4.0
excellent

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
May 16th, 2011 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sailing across a sea of atmosphere.

Ever since the rise of Envy and City of Caterpillar into the scene's collective consciousness, screamo has been drifting further and further into post-rock's dream-like territory. While most of the progression in this side of the screamo universe has taken place in France and Japan, the United States has slowly been venturing further and further into the deep end of the reverb tank with Pianos Become the Teeth and The Saddest Landscape, but even then we still have a lot of catching up to do. Iselia are part of this new crop of atmospheric screamo bands that are helping to push the sound of the genre in a more ethereal direction with the release of their debut EP Adaptations.

Adaptations is a sonically engaging collection, revolving around a comforting medium of swelling guitars and shifting drums that prefers to build into cascading walls of cymbals, screamed vocals and slightly distorted yet elegantly clear guitars. When given the prevalence of post-rock bands that have sprouted up after hearing Explosion in the Sky's The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place in the last few years that use the same soft to loud dynamics on display here, it would be an out and lie to say that the way the songs on Adaptations slowly bloom rather than burst open isn't familiar but in the end the style seems just as beautiful now as it always has. The way that the EP plays out over its just over sixteen minute run time helps exaggerate the quiet/loud juxtaposition with “At Day's Close” slowing meandering around it's rooted mid-tempo structure, shifting ever so slightly as it builds. Right when one would expect the song to explode into a triumphant crescendo it ends, but the want is only temporary as soon it explodes into “These Roots, These Branches”, the EP's most powerful track, proving that patience truly is a virtue. Now the only thing left to do is to take the lesson to heart and patiently wait for Iselia's upcoming full length, since if it's anything like what is on display on Adaptations we're in for one hell of a treat.



Recent reviews by this author
At the Gates At War with RealityWeezer Everything Will Be Alright in the End
YOB Clearing The Path To AscendUnited Nations The Next Four Years
Matter TeraphimThe Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is There
user ratings (43)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2011


17225 Comments


another review for a semi-recent and greatly overlooked screamo album.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2011


31493 Comments


Nice as always Red, even though I was a little confused by this:

While most of the progression in this side of the screamo universe has taken place in France and Japan


As I was reading it I assumed that "in this side" was referring to/was going to refer to America/your side of the world, but then you go on to say France and Japan. Am I missing something?

Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4

Spare
May 16th 2011


5360 Comments


more like sailing across a sea of shitty metaphors amirite

auberginedreams
May 16th 2011


6066 Comments


Deviant, I think he meant post-rocky screamo when he said "this side of the screamo universe." Anyway, great review and great band/album, I love how you're giving these awesome screamo bands some exposure!

Digging: Heaven In Her Arms - Duplex-Coated Obstruction

FelixCulpa
May 16th 2011


1240 Comments


I remember seeing that artwork somewhere, some blog probably. Anyway, will take a closer look at it later.

Elwood
May 16th 2011


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This was a great wee find.
I have to agree that this stylings of screamo are more properly eminent in French, Japanese and not to forget the Italians.

Good stuff.

sniper
May 16th 2011


19080 Comments


hell yeah, this band messaged me on facebook a while back i think. lots of potential, i'll have to check this out.

cvlts
May 16th 2011


8977 Comments


nice format, bro

Xenophanes
Emeritus
May 16th 2011


10621 Comments


I think he's referring to "this side of the screamo universe" as the side with post-rock elements, Dev.



Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2011


17225 Comments


that is indeed what i am referring to

jgrayman222
May 16th 2011


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I remember when the vocalist played bass for this band

Rev
May 16th 2011


9439 Comments


Woah, sounds like I need this

whywontyoudie
May 16th 2011


3063 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i was about to review this, so glad that someone is finally noticing it. this band is pretty damn great, especially if you love Pianos Become The Teeth.

lifefromdeadlimbs
May 16th 2011


4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

www.facebook.com/iselianc
they re-recorded a track from their EP and put up on their bandpage on their facebook

HaloDude442
May 16th 2011


693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

staff review exposure for this band is cool. they were really awesome live when i saw em. their main vocalist told me he loved my balance and composure shirt lol. they did a cover of deadramones by mliw and it was incredible

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 17th 2011


23973 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice write up Adam. I loved that one song you showed me, I think it was the last one. I'll check dis outttttttt

Digging: Taylor Swift - 1989

AbyssalCreation
May 17th 2011


2042 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review. These guys definitely deserve the exposure.I've been jammin this EP for awhile.

Loads of potential.

jgrayman222
May 17th 2011


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's cool to see a band from my hometown get exposure

HenchmanOfSanta
May 17th 2011


1902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Downloaded this because of the review. It's pretty solid.

witchxrapist
May 20th 2011


11055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I forgot about this. So good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy