Emmure
Speaker of the Dead


2.5
average

Review

by Devin Earl USER (10 Reviews)
May 14th, 2011 | 88 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Miles ahead of Felony and light years away from being liked by real metalheads

The Queens, New York based quintet Emmure have recently released their new full length record Speaker of the Dead.

The lack of song differential and simplistic songwriting make this one nothing special. Many of the tracks featured on the release are so formulaic that even the choruses are barely enough to differentiate them. Breakdowns piled up over more breakdowns while monotonous vocals, noisy guitar histrionics, and detuned chug riffs all repeat at predictable intervals.

A good or bad aspect of the album (depending on how you view it) is that many of the songs may remind you of songs from previous records. “Cries of Credo” bring back the unrelenting brutality of Goodbye to the Gallows to mind, while “Last Words to Rose” could easily be considered a sequel to The Respect Issue’s “Chicago’s Finest”. Likewise tracks like “A Voice from Below” and “Drug Dealer Friend” will most likely bring back memories of Felony. Probably the most memorable track on the entire record is “Solar Flare Homicide” (Which is Emmure’s latest music video). The addition of dubstep in the song makes it a diverse song from the other tracks featured here.

The band has taken small steps to make things more catchy. While it’s definitely not for everyone’s musical tastes and it wears out after a couple listens, most warriors and fans of heavy music will have a lot to like here.

Recommended Tracks

“Solar Flare Homicide”
“Children of Cybertron”
“Demons with Ryu”



Recent reviews by this author
Unearth The MarchUnearth Darkness in the Light
Upon a Burning Body The World Is OursDecrepit Birth Polarity
I, the Breather These Are My SinsSevendust Cold Day Memory
user ratings (599)
Chart.
2.4
average
other reviews of this album
TechieCore (1.5)
Emmure, how are you so damn good at being this bad?...

mcchub (2)
Another unoriginal addition to the Emmure discography...

Lambda (2)
Horrible lyrics, repetitive songwriting, and endless chugging represent a small step forward for Emm...


Comments:Add a Comment 
AfterTheBreakdown
May 14th 2011


7173 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I know its really short. Not really sure if I like the review or not but tell me what you think

bloc
May 14th 2011


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A few great songs on this

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
May 14th 2011


9067 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is like an entertainment weekly blur section feature. Flesh out some of your ideas more! Be confident in your writing.

AfterTheBreakdown
May 14th 2011


7173 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

My next review will be much better. But I typically like to do reviews that get to the point like this one.

Darkvoid67
May 14th 2011


383 Comments


I like heavy music. I did not enjoy one thing on this

Psychopathologist
May 14th 2011


1922 Comments


i posd












































nah jk neg

AfterTheBreakdown
May 14th 2011


7173 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not really

tkxxx7
May 14th 2011


6159 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

dubstep in that one song

AfterTheBreakdown
May 14th 2011


7173 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Beats felony for sure though

Psychopathologist
May 14th 2011


1922 Comments


wow what an accomplishment

AfterTheBreakdown
May 14th 2011


7173 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I guess. Theres no way it could be worse than felony. Theres not much more to go wrong with

AfterTheBreakdown
May 14th 2011


7173 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah Thats a solid point

AfterTheBreakdown
May 14th 2011


7173 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I eat bacon every Sunday

AfterTheBreakdown
May 14th 2011


7173 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Fuck on

zaruyache
May 14th 2011


7419 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Party on Wayne.

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

Essence
May 14th 2011


3595 Comments


no.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 14th 2011


7127 Comments


This the one you tried typing up on your phone? Mate i was expecting something a little longer ( about 500 words). This is pretty sloppy, and sorry to be blunt but i guess everybody has a sloppy review once in a while.

'The Queens, New York based quintet Emmure have recently released their new full length record Speaker of the Dead.'

'The addition of dubstep in the song makes it a diverse song from the other tracks featured here.'

Example and depth please.



'The lack of song differential and simplistic songwriting make this one nothing special. Many of the tracks featured on the release are so formulaic that even the choruses are barely enough to differentiate them. Breakdowns piled up over more breakdowns while monotonous vocals, noisy guitar histrionics, and detuned chug riffs all repeat at predictable intervals.'

While there is not too much wrong with your ideas here, there are some huge amounts of depth needed to back up those ideas. Give some tracks that reinforce those points, maybe with a section mentioned showing the 'breakdown upon breakdowns'

you could have just stuck with 'New York based'. Funnily enough it sounds like your calling Emmure 'Queens' and while some readers may agree with you, it drops the overall flow of your review, even on the first sentence.

'A good or bad aspect of the album '----------time for a thesauras no?

taxidermist
May 14th 2011


7212 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Solar Flare Homicide has some good junz.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 14th 2011


7127 Comments


The band has taken small steps to make things more catchy. While it’s definitely not for everyone’s musical tastes and it wears out after a couple listens, most warriors and fans of heavy music will have a lot to like here.

Again some sort of depth is need even though it's your conclusion.

Also this is kinda review that i think would benefit from a positives and a negatives section at the end of your review. Reinforce your points within the review itself.

-----------------------
The ideas are there man, just need to back yourself up a lot more.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2011


31628 Comments


There is no dubstep on this album, stupid kids

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy