Veliotis / Sugimoto / Kinoshita / Unami
Quartet


5.0
classic

Review

by For Meatplow USER (61 Reviews)
May 14th, 2011 | 111 replies | 9,214 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Such natural minimalist obsessions should never be so expansive, they should never be so alive with us all; however, Quartet is, and for that I am grateful.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

I sat and I sat trying to tell you all these things about Quartet, about how each moment is vital to the album's importance, about how in "Aceghd," Nikos Veliotis' cello resonates with a sonorous sense of melancholy, about how in the same track, the rest of the instruments run free and somehow reassure you, about how Quartet is an emotion all to itself. But I couldn't for that very last reason: Quartet is something entirely removed from what we can really conjure up in our minds. I acknowledge the stupidity of my next statement here, but it is true: there really are no words to describe this in a just way. Nothing sounds so beautiful but so dissonant, so minimal but so alive. Quartet throbs with a lively passion that so few musicians have ever experienced, let alone recorded. It is silent but it is loud. It reminds me of departures on train stations and it reminds me of coffee with friends. It reminds me of walks in the city with a group with as much realism as it does when it reminds me of those times that I've traveled on the railroad tracks by myself. I was suspended two or three stories over the water below, looking out at a sunset that illuminated both sides of the trees. Such naturalistic simplicity is nigh impossible to replicate, but this abstract form has it down pact. It is everything you could ever want in music because it's so alive with human feeling. Quartet pulsates with the kind of natural minimalism that opens up your soul to the world arround you; it heightens the senses and soothes the soul. It is a tear-jerker; it is a portrait of all things humane (whether they be sad, happy, cold or warm); and it is an impressionist film with soft contours and blurred, black and white faces. It is the texture of the soul - nothing less but so much more.

Let Nikos Veliotis, Taku Sugimoto, Kazushige Kino***a and Taku Unami stretch your heart open wide.



Recent reviews by this author
Mattin Proletarian of NoiseGuernica (Japan) Shinseiki e no Unga
Kesha CannibalMathos Franz Joseph
Sachiko M, Toshimaru Nakamura & Otomo... Good Morning Good NightHong Chulki Amplified WC
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Bitchfork
May 14th 2011



7584 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lol at them bleeping out Kazushige Kinoshita's name.

qwe3
May 14th 2011



21154 Comments


hahahaha yeah that's funny as fuck

liledman
May 14th 2011



3817 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

intrigued, will listen.

Bitchfork
May 14th 2011



7584 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i think you'd like this ryan

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2011



5619 Comments


good review, pos.

I will check this out.



It is possible that whoever likes this, will like an Hellenic group called Your Hand In Mine.

Digging: The 3rd and the Mortal - Painting On Glass

sifFlammable
May 14th 2011



2741 Comments


Excellent review, although it would be nice of you to mention what this album is about in the most rudimentary sense...Is this a minimalistic cello quartet?

scissorlocked
May 14th 2011



3483 Comments


seems interesting, sweet review man

Digging: Fantastic Mr Fox - Sketches

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2011



10018 Comments


nice, a review that tells me nothing

Digging: Woods - With Light And With Love

Realm
May 14th 2011



2074 Comments


lol

AggravatedYeti
May 14th 2011



7684 Comments


awwww shit Austin sighting.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 14th 2011



23667 Comments


I really like this review. I want to check this out now.

"lol at them bleeping out Kazushige Kinoshita's name."

hahahaha racists

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Bitchfork
May 14th 2011



7584 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Excellent review, although it would be nice of you to mention what this album is about in the most rudimentary sense...Is this a minimalistic cello quartet?"
The whole point of this was to be a giant teaser I guess. I was being serious about this being impossible to describe; it really is a celebration of life through 4 string players (Veliotis on cello, Sugimoto on guitar & E-bow, Kazushige Kinoshita on violin and Taku Unami on contra guitar) walking a fine line between chamber music, free improv and drone-ish shit. Soudn-wise it is everything and nothing I described above.

Gyromania
May 14th 2011



14653 Comments


Would I like this?

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2011



10018 Comments


bitchfork I don't think your response could be more pretentious than the review but again I've underestimated you

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2011



14886 Comments


this review is super pretentious and u probly listend to thirty second samples of this on last.fm
radio or somethign

Bitchfork
May 14th 2011



7584 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah gyro.

Alex, I downloaded slsk just to find this. I don't even think this is on last.fm.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
October 16th 2011



14886 Comments


oh my god have you guys actually listened to this

it's the stupid bullshit EVER HAHAHAHA, seriously, it makes this already embarrassing review 10x more so

liledman
October 16th 2011



3817 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

too many fucking notes

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2013



14886 Comments


review is the gOAT

GiaNXGX
March 25th 2013



4867 Comments



oh my god have you guys actually listened to this

it's the stupid bullshit EVER HAHAHAHA, seriously, it makes this already embarrassing review 10x more so




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy