Dark New Day
Twelve Year Silence


2.5
average

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (198 Reviews)
May 5th, 2011 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A debut album that shows many signs of experience, however in-consistent at times. However there are some disappointing flaws over the length of the album.

With ‘Dark New Day’s’ debut album, many will instantly see that they are not testing any new ground, but they have managed to release a radio rock album that at times is heavy, soft, melodic, slightly progressive, and full of harmony. All these elements sit below the flaws that plague some of the albums tracks. It took twelve years for the members of this band to come together and release this debut album (hence the album title) and as all members were at some time working on other projects listeners can expect a some-what already polished sound when listening to tracks off the record. For the most part this is true, however there is some creativity lacking in the song writing process and it shows in the form of ‘filler’ tracks.

When describing Dark New Day’s debut album it could be said that the band presents the listener with a radio friendly, hard rock album with harmonised vocal linings, tasteful (if un-impressive) drum work, and some at times interesting guitar work that shows promise but does not break any new ground. Consistency it seems is an issue when listening to ‘Twelve Year Silence’ as many tracks are flawed, and lacks memorable features to captivate and keep the listeners attention. The album at those moments becomes a tedious and boring listen. The music however is not all bad, there are even some progressive elements thrown in, and found in track “Free”. ‘Free’ can be considered a highlight of the album and over four and a half minutes the listener should become immersed in a melodic, harmonised and well created track.

Giving the album some merit and attention from the listener includes the main single ‘Brother’. The off-beat rhythms found on the main riff lines allow for a steady head banging section (well as far as the radio rock genre goes) combined with a catchy middle section lifts the quality of the album overall. Smooth vocals mixed with the occasional scream add a sense of creative diversity which shows positively the potential Dark New Day may at times present, but the track may have seen better heights if it included some higher levels of lead work i.e. a guitar solo. A great track for new listeners starting out with Dark New Day.

Dark New Day’s album is everything you could expect from a radio rock group. They have developed a debut that is both appealing in some senses but is also a huge let down when considering the potential they have shown in past works. There is nothing suggesting a push of boundaries and the in consistency of those ‘filler’ tracks (‘Fill Me Again’, ‘Heal in Time’ and ‘Follow the Sun Down’) drop the quality of the album greatly. The production is clean and well done, suiting the style of music perfectly. Overall for rock enthusiasts there is no need to get excited about Dark New Day’s music, but there are some tracks that deserve a listen, that reinforce the potential for improvement on the next record.



Recent reviews by this author
Eden Circus MarulaIn Flames Siren Charms
Mastodon Once More 'Round the SunMayhem Esoteric Warfare
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherKauan Pirut
user ratings (93)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
blackwater (3)
Catchy and heavy rock with some metal twists....

Acey (5)
Dark New Day's "Twelve Year Silence" is a recommended listen for anybody. If you like Sevendust, Ch...


Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2011


7122 Comments


I really don't get what people see in this. It has only the occasional that lifted this to average, and if it wasn't for the harmonies, i would be rating it lower. Any who's..... tell me what you think.

typeoneletter
May 5th 2011


6 Comments


I like this...

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2011


7122 Comments


Good for you, that's your choice to make. But, Why?

pizzamachine
May 6th 2011


12571 Comments


Solid review Ipod! Some of your sentences could use commas, but otherwise the review is perfectly good. Pos.

SatelliteYears
May 6th 2011


190 Comments


Good review. I always liked this disc, and thought it was solid for being a "radio rock" album. The song "Brother" is a standout.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2011


7122 Comments


Point them out and i shall fix. Thanks for the look over. Appreciate the advice.
Thanks Sat.

Emim
May 6th 2011


26666 Comments


Some good stuff to be had here. Their song "Resistance" blows everything else out of the water though.

Vooligan
May 6th 2011


3541 Comments


Jeeze man, you're pumping out the reviews. Wish i had the time to write as much as you do.

Is a good review, too. Although i personally like my reviews a bit longer but that's just down to taste. For the record, I can't stand this band.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2011


7122 Comments


Its not so much as time, more like a sense of willingness to write.

pizzamachine
May 6th 2011


12571 Comments


Fix these sentences:
"It took twelve years"
"The off-beat rhythms"

AfterTheBreakdown
May 6th 2011


7166 Comments


Nice review pos.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2011


7122 Comments


Thanks pizza. Thanks afterbreak.

Kris.
May 6th 2011


12427 Comments


woah i remember listening to one of their songs nonstop on the radio when i was like 14 man good times

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2011


7122 Comments


So this has some kind of sentimental value?

Kris.
May 6th 2011


12427 Comments


fuck no it probably sucks lol

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2011


7122 Comments


Rest assured there is worse.

WashboardSuds
May 6th 2011


5035 Comments


ask someone for help with apostrophes. I'm not an expert and maybe it's just me but I'm not sure you used them correctly in some places.

in consistency


inconsistency

some-what


somewhat

let me give you some advice: this is something I found myself doing too. hard to explain, but you seem to be fishing for the proper words when describing their sound. I've been there, and I can see it in your less-than understandable descriptions ("Giving the album some merit and attention from the listener includes the main single ‘Brother’.") and your recycling of the words like "harmonized" (which you misspelled). In general your reviews are wearing down in terms of effective and interesting descriptions.

now this is a fine line for newer writers but at the rate you're going with pumping out all these reviews, at almost 30, its time to spice things up a bit. I speak from experience and I'm not sure how to remedy this except to just recommend you take a break or maybe play around with several different writing styles

Digging: Sachiko M, Toshimaru Nakamura & Otomo... - Good Morning Good Night

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2011


7122 Comments


Thanks Suds i try to work in slight differences in each review, part of my own personal learning experience. Maybe i need to take a writing class or two.

kangaroopoo
May 6th 2011


3175 Comments


Review is succinct and great assessment of the album. I'm not really good at critiquing the finer details of a review. About 4 lame tracks, the rest good/great and Free bumps it up to 3.5 for me. Will get around to checking out the Eye Empire album.

Scrambled
May 6th 2011


391 Comments


Continue the jerk-off fest here, great review, posd. only thing that tripped me up was the summary with 2 "however"s, i
would get rid of the second sentence, the first sentence is a perfect summary, short and to the point. the second sentence
seems redundant.

definitely wont be checking this out, sounds irritating.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy