Aerosmith
Get a Grip


4.0
excellent

Review

by Ibanez Slayer USER (2 Reviews)
November 17th, 2005 | 30 replies


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist


QUIK NOTE-!> I would like to thank my buddy Kit (Thor) for letting me steal the idea of his new layout. Overall views This album has the same Aerosmith signature attitude like every other album that they've put out. This album was my first album, i bought it when I was 2, so I've been stuck on it since then. This album was well produced. This and is one of the greatest bands of all time, this album isn't one of their smash hits. It didn't sell as much as their popular albums, but this album is still a rocking album.Pros to the album This album has great songs, such as "Livin on the Edge", "Walk on Down", "Shutup and Dance", "Cryin'". and "Crazy". All of these songs are great songs. They have catchy powerful riffs, and Joe Perry plays amazing lead. His solos could melt Super Man's face off. The production on this album was great. The recording was very smooth, and it sounded like they had a great time recording it. Steven Tyler is an amazing frontman who can sing like any one he wants to, as long as it has that scratchy sound to it. He has amazing presence and his ballads are great. The lyrics he wrote are great. Joe Perry played on this album......He is amazing and is a main influential guitarist to most anyone who picks up a guitar. His solos and songwriting is amazing. It's kinda strange how he sings on walk on down though Cons to the Album The electric drumset on some songs makes rock gods sound like fake 80's metal bands. It still has the attitude and rythem, but IMO they sound bad, and make it sound cheesie. Some songs don't sound like the classic Aerosmith we all know and love. After this album and before the 1995 switch back, aerosmith had a new poppy sound, which I don't think any of us liked that much. Tracks to Chiggidy-check out Shutup and Dance, this song has a powerful riff and a funny message. Livin' on the Edge, Even though it's acoustic this song is awesome. It has a great lead played by Joe on electric. Cryin', This song is an AMAZING ballad that is great to play for girls, and makes you wanna listen more and more. Crazy, This song is another great ballad that is softer and Steven does a PHENOMENAL job singing in this song. I could suggest more, but those are my top four favorties.FINAL RATING - 4/5 


user ratings (434)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ibanez Slayer
November 17th 2005


11 Comments


Sorry for all of the underlining, i just don't wanna take the time to redoing all of the numbering and everything

vicy77
November 18th 2005


164 Comments


Good band, good review, but abum just doesnt have too great songs. Cryin' is the best one there. emotionally great

Thor
November 18th 2005


10243 Comments


Pretty good review, but yeah, it could have used some more detail in it.

Zebra
Moderator
November 18th 2005


2647 Comments


Average review. You didn't tell us about how the albums sounds, and that's the biggest part of a review.

I am a casual Aerosmith fan. I can't comment further on this album though.

Storm In A Teacup
November 18th 2005


22079 Comments


Hey Zebra does always post thoughts on review, skips a line, thoughts on album.

He's right though, this isn't even an average review I would say, plus you have a few grammar problems and some sentences I don't understand.

"This and is one of the greatest bands of all time, this album isn't one of their smash hits."

Storm In A Teacup
November 18th 2005


22079 Comments


I was confused about him talking about stealing Thor's way of reviewing. Since he changed it he should take that sentence out.

vicy77
November 18th 2005


164 Comments


how old is aerosmith now?

vicy77
November 18th 2005


164 Comments


good to know that they are discussed i bet

smiffsta
February 19th 2006


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think i might write my own aerosmith reviews, something to do, i'll do it chronologically too

smiffsta
February 19th 2006


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

steven tyler is 57 now i fink, but he still looks 40 and rocks like a 20!!! lol he's a legend, as is aerosmith of course

love joe perry he's a guitar god!!!

Cantar
August 22nd 2006


149 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album ranks up their with Toys in the Attic.

EIB633
February 26th 2007


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

3.5, this is an uncomfortable album to listen to but has some great moments, just too commercial.

eleventhsun
June 21st 2010


1475 Comments


At least considering what is commercial, this had some nice tunes. Good guitar solos, and here and there some nice classic sounding Aerosmith.

Minus some corny lyrics, its actually a fun listen.

tiesthatbind
June 21st 2010


7419 Comments


His solos could melt Super Man's face off.


Old reviews on the site are hilarious.

Digging: Lunatic Soul - Fractured

rodrigo90
July 31st 2010


3099 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

aerosmith is a great band but this album makes me hate so much that i can't considering download the discography because half of the compilations have either crazy and amazing, which are my most hated tracks by aerosmith

rodrigo90
July 31st 2010


3099 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

oh i forget that i really hate cryin' too

Jarvig
August 22nd 2011


168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Too many fillers and a bit too mainstream to be a really good. But the best tracks on this album is second to none and a classics.



I dont know how many times I've listen to Livin' On The Edge, Cryin', Crazy and Amazing.

Two or tree more like those tracks and we would have a classic album.

RawkOClock
January 10th 2012


84 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I remember when this came out, all of the metal mags like RIP, Hit Parader, Metal Edge, and Circus were going nuts over it. Its alright.

dannyboy89
March 1st 2012


13339 Comments


This review blows IMO. I've written bad reviews, but this is easily worse.
Please, please, please, break up those paragraphs. Otherwise, it's too awkward to read. And please, do a grammar check.

peaks40
April 25th 2012


2829 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

could of been a better review dude, aerosmith is great, some corny lyrics but still great, steven tyler has to be up there with some of the best vocalists, joe perry=awesome



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy