Eye Empire
Moment of Impact


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (198 Reviews)
May 1st, 2011 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An album that’s inconsistent in places but needs repeated listens before being fully appreciated.

Rock is a genre that that few listeners see higher levels of greatness, and with Eye Empire’s ‘Moment of Impact’ listeners will be some-what satisfied but not overly impressed with the debut record. The records positive attributes are of a high standard as far as the hard rock genre goes and while the music is melodic at times, there is a respectable amount of ‘heavy’ throughout the album, just enough to keep budding metal-heads appeased, while in comparison does become soft enough to engage the listeners sense of diversity. ‘Moment of Impact’ displays a solid, if uneven record using some very interesting lyrical content and adding to its quality levels includes the guest appearances of Sevendust’s Morgan Rose and Lajon Witherspoon of track titled ‘The Victim’. The debut comes in at just over thirty-nine minutes and presents the listener with three to four top-notch tracks. But with most of the other tracks there are repetition of phrases and a certain lacking of creative talent shown over the course of the record really taking from the albums overall quality level.

Musically ‘Moment of Impact’ is both melodic and heavy and some riff lines show diversity, the lyrical content is engaging, and the actual vocal lines show enough talent to maintain the listeners’ attention. The drum work is excellent and tasteful to the recording process, there is no unnecessary fill work to take from the albums quality and the fills presented are not overly technical for the genre. The bass guitar is nothing special when added to mix but should not be discarded, hugging the main riff lines and recorded clearly gives a steady backbone to the album. Moment of Impact has some great potential, especially when considering the bands past experiences. Names like B.C. Kochmit from Switched and Corey Lowery from Dark New Day gives this band’s debut some standard even before listeners hit the play button on the CD player. However the album has its share of ‘filler’ tracks that do not have the same ‘punch’ as others, this can be found in the form of ‘Idiot’ or ‘Reason’. These tracks, while written in the same way as every other lacks the quality and interest levels for the listener, and at times becomes a dull listen with some highly repetitive riff patterns that really takes down the album’s effort.

Eye Empire’s debut may not appear to be the best thing out and is no way a terrible record. They have however produced a quality, however uneven debut record. After repeated listens this record may either grow, or lose some of its appeal to the listener. It displays a great example of quality but in the end is let down by its inconsistency. For the casual listener they may need to listen to this album on a whole, repeatedly to fully grasp the quality of the record. There is promise shown but the album lacks a higher level of consistency needed to push this to the top of the ‘hard rock mountain’.



Recent reviews by this author
Eden Circus MarulaIn Flames Siren Charms
Mastodon Once More 'Round the SunMayhem Esoteric Warfare
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherKauan Pirut
user ratings (24)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Wunderbar007 (3.5)
"...prepare for a feeling of satisfaction with a touch of greatness, a side dish of hope, all smeare...

related reviews

Evolve

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2011


7122 Comments


#27, rip me a new one so i can do better next time.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2011


7318 Comments


Review shows some major improvement over your last, but it still has some issues - mainly with word choice and phrasing. Here:

i.) Rock is a genre that that few listeners see higher levels of greatness

Always avoid making such huge and sweeping claims. Especially if you have no arguments to back it up. And frankly, the idea in that sentence is kinda bull lol.

ii.) Beware of run-on sentences: The records positive attributes are of a high standard as far as the hard rock genre goes and while the music is melodic at times, there is a respectable amount of ‘heavy’ throughout the album, just enough to keep budding metal-heads appeased, while in comparison does become soft enough to engage the listeners sense of diversity.

If you're using a lot of commas, it's a sign that a period is probably in order instead.

iii.) Words like "melodic", "heavy", "engaging" mean absolutely nothing when they are used as a description. What is "melodic"? What is "heavy"? What is "engaging"? Two suggestions: a.) use better words, or b.) provide examples of this "melodic", "heavy", and "engaging" content.

iv.) Useless + flapping sentences: After repeated listens this record may either grow, or lose some of its appeal to the listener.

Well, obviously, right? That's ALWAYS going to happen. More importantly, it is your job as a reviewer to tell me which is more likely.

For the casual listener they may need to listen to this album on a whole

Ummm. You're reviewing an album so it's almost a given that the album will be listened to several times, and from front to back.

-

All that said, you're showing signs of improvement. Keep working at it.

Digging: Portishead - Dummy

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2011


7122 Comments


Thanks Irving, sorry about ripping your eyes out on the last effort. You frequently give me lots to think about. I have already edited this twice, and it sounds like a third is in order. Thanks Man.

typeoneletter
May 1st 2011


6 Comments


Good review. voting yes.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2011


7122 Comments


Thanks, as for request for rec's the other night. You might want to give this a go. See what you think.

DinoX
May 1st 2011


3582 Comments


Wow man you're just pumping out the reviews somebody wants to be a contributing reviewer. *Nudges arm*

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2011


7122 Comments


@Dino,No where good enough for that, i just ideas that i present here (not all of them good) but presented none-the-less. Maybe if i actually get good at this.
Still think this is entry level stuff lol?
Check this out there is a couple of good songs on there.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2011


7318 Comments


It was a pleasure to be of assistance, IpodMastery. I have to say I admire your work-rate and your work ethic. Do keep it up. We need more honest writers like you around here.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 2nd 2011


7122 Comments


Yeah i just got to up the quality levels.

AfterTheBreakdown
May 2nd 2011


7166 Comments


Godd review

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 2nd 2011


7122 Comments


Thanks mate.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 2nd 2011


7122 Comments


Is there anything other than what Irving pointed out that i missed?

Scrambled
May 6th 2011


391 Comments


Agree with Irving on all counts. Its obvious you know how to write, there are just a few issues present that are most likely the product of not having somoene proof read it before posting (which is ok because that is what we are doing now haha). I had a bunch of edits to suggest, but while reading the comments Irving touched on all of them! pos'd

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 7th 2011


7122 Comments


Thanks scrambled : ) means a lot. Appreciate the look over.

ebongo91
May 16th 2011


23 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pretty good review, I'll pos. The band is not quite as good as Submersed, but still very close. Hopefully they can improve and put out something great. Oh, and please check out my review for Better Think Again by Submersed

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
May 17th 2011


7122 Comments


Thanks for the pos man. Ill surely check yours out.

Cipieron
November 1st 2011


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

still looking for this album, thought it was getting a full release this year but i guess not. been a big fan of carpenter's since i first heard submersed

Wunderbar007
November 1st 2011


81 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's been released for a while now man, you can get the album here: http://www.eyeempire.com/store/

Cipieron
November 1st 2011


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh lol, never struck me to look at their actual merch page for some reason. i was just keeping an eye open anytime i was at best buy and places like that, ty

Wunderbar007
November 1st 2011


81 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sure thing



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy