As I Lay Dying
An Ocean Between Us


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (198 Reviews)
April 27th, 2011 | 46 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Whilst improving record to record, As I Lay Dying show fans an enjoyable album but do not completely show growth in a positive manner, this album is something listeners may have not completely heard, and maybe are still waiting for.

The album is faster and stronger, but still a record that is still missing some key characteristics. As I Lay Dying produce some new elements whilst not moving too far from the music they have already produced. The album is good, especially when compared to the bands past releases. As I Lay Dying are known to the metal community as one of the metalcore genres bigger names, however they are just one fish in a pool of many, and while having many similarities with other groups of the genre they do have something that sets them apart, thus being an already known name. Fame aside this band have released some steady efforts over the course of their career.

‘An Ocean Between Us’ positively shows listeners heightened, more noticeable levels of lead work compared to past releases, the solos especially, are better performed and favours the quality of the album and the band highly, this creates a more enjoyable, interesting listen throughout and reinforces the higher level of the musicianship shown throughout the album. The musicianship of the album may be of the highest quality As I Lay Dying have yet released onto the metal scene, and will be sure to please long-time fans. The drum work (if a little typical of the genre) lift the intensity and the albums aggression with its use of blast beating and double kick work, that do not sound out of place and suit the bands new musical style. They are faster than the previous albums but do not set the bar to high in the metalcore genre. The bass guitar work is virtually non-existent but that is consistent when compared to other releases, but that’s roughly how it has always been. The vocals are most noticeable on the album are also the strongest element in the As I Lay Dying line-up. Straight forward and to the point there is nothing too technical added to the As I Lay Ding mix and this suits the group quite well, it adds to the level of music rather than over powers it, a fine example can be found on the track ‘Nothing Left’ where the vocals are balanced well with the instrumental side of the track. There is melody, aggression, clean, and dirty and is balanced in a way to heighten the track and by connection the entire album. This track shows excellently the greater musicianship and creative talents of the band. On a positive note, the clean vocals (sometimes chant-like, see ‘Nothing Left’) are an excellent display of musical diversity and creates more interest for the listener.

An Ocean Between Us makes for a quality listen, but does not have a higher play-back level for the casual listener. This album displays many of the characteristics that flaw the metalcore genre as a whole (i.e. the screamed verse/clean chorus vocal patterns) and the near constant break-down like riff work that appears throughout the album. As I Lay Dying release an album that lifts their overall quality leave a lot on the table for listeners. There may be some quality tracks that outweigh the bad, leaving only the fans to be greatly satisfied with this album.



Recent reviews by this author
Eden Circus MarulaIn Flames Siren Charms
Mastodon Once More 'Round the SunMayhem Esoteric Warfare
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherKauan Pirut
user ratings (1941)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2011


7127 Comments


One of the shortest reviews i have put up, tried something different again with my writing style, hope it doesn't end badly for me, in saying that however, feed back is always appreciated.
And i am aware that my review is #8. One more couldn't hurt right?

TheSpirit
April 27th 2011


18003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Uh what is up with your first two sentences

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2011


7127 Comments


Um.... hang on Spirit, that definitely needs fixing.
manner should be album**

MarkedFortune
April 27th 2011


100 Comments


Fix those couple of mistakes and this will be definitely pos worthy.

sifFlammable
April 27th 2011


2741 Comments


To elaborate on what spirit is saying (i think)

"Faster and stronger, but a record that is still missing some key characteristics while not moving too far from the music they have already produced"

You're trying to say too much in one sentence imo!

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2011


7127 Comments


@markedf, um... i don't quite think so but thanks anyway.

@ Flamm, thanks i'll give this a further proof read in the morning, my head will be a little clearer i think.

sifFlammable
April 27th 2011


2741 Comments


also theres quite a lot of punctuation mistakes/clumsiness as well. it would be cool if you could check them out in the morn too =)

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2011


7127 Comments


I'll edit what i can see now, otherwise i can see some negs slapping me in the face tonight.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2011


7321 Comments


Kay. Not to sound harsh, but these are the first things I saw:

i.) one of the metalcore genres bigger names

ii.) ‘An Ocean Between Us’ shows listeners hightened

iii.) suit the bands

(So there is more than one band present now?)

iv.) There are some massive sentences in this review; for example: As I Lay Dying are
known to the metal community as one of the metalcore genres bigger names, however they are just one
fish in a pool of many, and while having many similarities with other groups of the genre they do
have something that sets them apart, thus being an already known name.


Whoa, slow down buddy.

-

I've barely gotten started, yet I have found this review to be ridiculously sloppy.I love to be of
help to other writers on this site, and I really like the effort you are putting into trying to
improve your style, but I really don't like to have to point out obvious 9th grade
grammatical mistakes. No offense. This review is seriously worthy of a neg, but I think there's a
lesson that you can glean from this comment alone. My sole criticism for you today is this: edit,
edit, edit
(moreover, I think I've told you this before).

Keep at it man.

sifFlammable
April 27th 2011


2741 Comments


"why should I be giving you my best when you can't be bothered to do the same?"

Harsh brew

alachlahol
April 27th 2011


7515 Comments


cant believe you didnt neg this guy

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2011


7321 Comments


Harsh brew

Yeah, I know it is. And I apologize to IpodMastery for being so brash. But if you're publishing on a music website, and you want to earn recognition as one of the best writers on this site, then these mistakes simply shouldn't be happening. There's no way you can not edit your work and expect it to be received with full accolades. I like IpodMastery, I really do - I think he's one of the more enthusiastic and sincere people on here. And if I have to be a bit harsh on him to get my point across and help him improve, I'll do it. The man has potential.

alachlahol
April 27th 2011


7515 Comments


man id hate to be on the receiving end of your harshness

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2011


7321 Comments


Fair enough. This site is really turning me into a dick lol. And I used to be such a nice boy.

TheSpirit
April 27th 2011


18003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah but if people want to get better they should understand your criticisms are only there to help them, not to be a dick.

BigHans
April 27th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I Never Wanted is the best song on here

DinoX
April 27th 2011


3582 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

shittty entry level album must be an Ipod Mastery review

TheSpirit
April 27th 2011


18003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

5 classic
Brand New Deja Entendu
A very personal album entwined with the spirit of youth. Being a teenager myself, I see so much of myself in this album itself. Jesse pours his heart and soul out into musical form to deliver an amazing album with endless re playability and affect.
Brand New The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me
Breaking Benjamin We Are Not Alone
Converge Jane Doe
Defeater Travels
Frank Sinatra In The Wee Small Hours
In Flames Come Clarity
Linkin Park Meteora
mewithoutYou A to B: Life
Red Innocence and Instinct
Rise Against The Sufferer and the Witness
Rise Against Revolutions Per Minute
The National High Violet
Thrice The Artist in the Ambulance
Weezer Pinkerton

ConsiderPhlebas
April 27th 2011


6157 Comments


Ratings don't lie

TheSpirit
April 27th 2011


18003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't personally have a problem with people rating albums what they want, my point was moreso that he/she (shim?) has more than enough albums rated classic most people would scoff at. People should address the quality and content of the review first before the rating.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy