Laura Stevenson
Sit Resist


4.5
superb

Review

by Maniac USER (21 Reviews)
April 26th, 2011 | 143 replies | 7,307 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: #1 contender for most charming album of 2011

8 of 9 thought this review was well written

Put down your death metal and pick up a banjo, because Laura Stevenson and the Cans are going to turn your insides to mush, commandeer your heart, and keep you coming back for more. Sure that may be a hyperbolic statement, but ya know what? It can't be that far from the truth. Laura and the Cans have created an album that incorporates pop, polka, indie rock, and folk, yet it
comes off as charming rather than cheesy. Yeah okay, Laura sings about relationships and the problems that come with them, but not once do they seem cliché.

In fact, her voice, which can honestly be described as “cute,” seems to be able make anything sound sincere. Fortunately enough, her lyricism far surpasses the normal drab about broken hearts and moving on and instead shows wit and some humor. The songwriting is equally impressive. Songs such as the single, “Master of Art,” show an upbeat and fun side of the band instrumentally, while other songs like “The Wait” display a tamer and somewhat intimate side of them.

Instrumentally, Laura Stevenson and the Cans show some cleverness as well. For example, the bass, while subtle, does much more than dropping background noise. Many times it feels like it comes out of nowhere and starts leading along the song. I also adore the fact that they are also able to incorporate unorthodox instrumentation, such as the aforementioned banjo, the horns, accordion, and violins without sounding obnoxious or like they are trying too hard.

With bigger acts such as Neurosis, Beastie Boys, Cave In, and Bon Iver preparing to release albums within the year, a lot of decent artists have a high risk of getting lost in the shuffle. Laura Stevenson and the Cans are one band in particular that should not be overlooked, as Sit Resist, while maybe not the best album of the year, and definitely not the most technical album of the year, is undoubtedly at the top of the list of most lovely and (once again) charming
albums of the year.



Recent reviews by this author
Black Swan Black Swan (In 8 Movements)Rishloo Feathergun
Atrium Carceri PhrenitisUnexpect Fables of the Sleepless Empire
Julie Christmas Coextinction Release 5Deathprod Morals and Dogma
user ratings (545)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of
related reviews

Wheel

Holy Ghost!

A Record

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2011



5613 Comments


format your text man.

Your review is difficult to read.




edit: sorry for posting and judging in such a short notice, it is much much better now. :-)

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

Maniac!
April 26th 2011



26187 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks to Satellite for helping me with the review, though I didn't listen to all of what he said ;)


I spent more time on this review than any other review I've written.

Lemme know what you guys think and point out any errors I should fix. Thanks.

Maniac!
April 26th 2011



26187 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

voivod, I was editing while you posted that.

theacademy
April 26th 2011



27700 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

not your best review but im not going to neg

Douglas
April 26th 2011



8984 Comments


that's a nice looking chair


Maniac!
April 26th 2011



26187 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That bad? Or are you jus' trollin'?

theacademy
April 26th 2011



27700 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

not that bad (said i wasn't going to neg)

it just seems rushed + this album deserves better from you



theacademy
April 26th 2011



27700 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

(from all of us)

wabbit
April 26th 2011



6747 Comments


I needa get on this shit.

Maniac!
April 26th 2011



26187 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The irony is that I spent more time on this one than any of my others. I like how it's short and to the point, but I don't feel it's rushed.


Thanks though.

theacademy
April 26th 2011



27700 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It just doesn't have a point, is basically what i mean.

DoubtGin
April 26th 2011



6686 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"technicalalbum"

two words

review is fine overall; the album sounds pretty interesting, so I might check it out

Chrisjon89
April 26th 2011



2964 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I gotta check this out. Sounds like something I'd like.

Digging: Elizabeth Rose - Elizabeth Rose

Maniac!
April 26th 2011



26187 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ooopsies, thanks doubt

badhouses
April 26th 2011



64 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It just doesn't have a point, is basically what i mean.


I can see where you're coming from, but sometimes on this site you see people trying to tie in a larger overall point and it just comes off as really forced. Just a brief synopsis of the album is fine sometimes

Maniac!
April 26th 2011



26187 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I prefer the short and sweet method because it doesn't take much effort to read and gives you a
general idea of the album. Also, like badhouses said, lengthy reviews can become redundant and forced.


Anyway, just my opinions. Thanks for the criticism. Now everyone go get this album.

theacademy
April 26th 2011



27700 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just a brief synopsis of the album is fine sometimes


for a soundoff. idk i just thought maniac would be excited for a laura album. it doesn't sound like you listened to it more than once

Maniac!
April 26th 2011



26187 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've listened to it at least 10 times :P

theacademy
April 26th 2011



27700 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lol i stand corrected i guess

look it's not a bad review, it's fine... idk why i even said anything

Maniac!
April 26th 2011



26187 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nah, thanks for letting me know what you thought. Next time I will work on a more thorough and lengthy review and see how it turns out.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy