Opeth
Blackwater Park


5.0
classic

Review

by Kevin Kurber USER (54 Reviews)
April 20th, 2011 | 68 replies | 4,112 views


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


6 of 9 thought this review was well written

The setting could best be associated with a dark, weathered forest, with Opeth’s fifth studio album, Blackwater Park, being a perplexing shadow. It’s not the first album like this, but the distinction here is what Opeth casts their shadow on. Rather than dimming the lights on religion and violence, Blackwater Park takes lost love, mourning and even bits of nature to their uniquely dark place. “Bleak” leers like a thick fog, verses creeping alongside the eerie mist that makes up the album’s surroundings. “Patterns in the Ivy” is more vaguely sinister, blending pianos and acoustic guitar to bring a more subtle atmosphere to the album.

The sound here is layered and heavy, balancing gentle acoustic passages and clean vocals (“Harvest”) with progressive metal sections and fierce growls (“Blackwater Park”) in a brilliantly deep abyss that beckons (and almost requires) several focused listens. Generally the growls go excellently alongside the heavier parts, but in the case of “The Drapery Falls” it fits clean vocals into the package yet still inherits the strength of the songs before it. Likewise, “Dirge for November” sandwiches a heavier core between an acoustic intro and outro, and “Blackwater Park” executes a stellar progressive blend between the two.

Opeth fuse atmosphere with excellent instrumentation to create something thick, something that draws you in to submerge yourself and rewards you the entire way in. Blackwater Park feels like wandering through foliage at night, a sound that is organic but puts your mind into dark, pensive thought. The album is grim but it’s neither threatening nor a predator, almost elusive to attention but so very deserving of it.



Recent reviews by this author
Sundrugs Hidden ScenesJulianna Barwick The Magic Place
Utada Hikaru DEEP RIVERFlying Lotus Los Angeles
Midori ShinsekaiSmoke Room Vol. 1
user ratings (4398)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of
related reviews

Orchid

Still Life

Morningrise

Deliverance
recommended by reviewer
Opeth Still Life

Comments:Add a Comment 
WashboardSuds
April 20th 2011



4889 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah I know, metaphor's retarded, too short, needs moar 5 reviews. rolling the dice a bit here, just unsure if this is an effective way to describe the album. comments/criticism appreciated

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins

bowlofsoup
April 20th 2011



1073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes, another one.

SowingSeason
Emeritus
April 20th 2011



14513 Comments


first sentence, is a little comma, happy. but other than that a stellar review, especially considering its length. pos'd.

bowlofsoup
April 20th 2011



1073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some sentences look like they would be better broken up, but it's pretty good.

bowlofsoup
April 20th 2011



1073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pos'd as well

WashboardSuds
April 20th 2011



4889 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks guys, I'll come back to fix this later. review is pretty experimental

dimsim3478
April 20th 2011



4014 Comments


Fantastic review, way too short. Not gonna pos', not gonna neg'.

[EDIT] Okay, the awesomeness of this review outweighs it's length. Pos'.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Drsmith4
April 20th 2011



1697 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh my fucking god

bowlofsoup
April 20th 2011



1073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ Given that the review is good, can we ignore that it's the 12th one? If that's what you're referring to.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2011



5619 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Now that's an underground band that I am not aware of...



just kidding, good review.

Digging: The 3rd and the Mortal - Painting On Glass

SowingSeason
Emeritus
April 20th 2011



14513 Comments


Opeth? How do you even pronounce that? You are into some crazy indie underground shit man

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2011



30316 Comments


I can't get behind this review

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
April 20th 2011



8590 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

who are opeth again? [:

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

WashboardSuds
April 20th 2011



4889 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't get behind this review


if it's because of the way I described their sound I understand entirely, probably doesn't make the most sense

bowlofsoup
April 20th 2011



1073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review's fine, just a bit weird

Slum
April 20th 2011



2579 Comments


inb4 shadows quote

SowingSeason
Emeritus
April 20th 2011



14513 Comments


I like the way you described it

WashboardSuds
April 20th 2011



4889 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

where the fuck is Irving

and thanks Sowing :]

SowingSeason
Emeritus
April 20th 2011



14513 Comments


Why do you care where Irving is? Does he like this album or something?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2011



30316 Comments



if it's because of the way I described their sound I understand entirely, probably doesn't make the most sense


No it's not that. What's written is nice enough there's just not much of it. I'm all for short reviews but there's barely anything here to truly justify your rating. That tormented wood nymph line is a little ott for my tastes though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy