Every Time I Die
Hot Damn!


5.0
classic

Review

by Statrick Pickles USER (63 Reviews)
April 19th, 2011 | 90 replies | 14,049 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: No chasers allowed.

8 of 8 thought this review was well written

The words that you are presently reading could be part of a passage spelling out what exactly it takes for a piece of music to establish itself as a "classic". Or rather, a few sentences could be provided delving into the band-at-hand's genre, segueing into a lengthy discourse on how recent offerings from said genre are nothing more than trite, batshit-quality regurgitation. Furthermore, it could most certainly be included how the respective group goes above and beyond these guano-esque submissions, effectively leaving their contemporaries in the dirt. However, Hot Damn doesn't waste a lone instant of its time on flowery, fudge-packing bullshit, so why the hell would I?

Every Time I Die's second full-length is one-thousand, six-hundred and nine seconds of unadulterated catharsis. It isn't just angry, it's purple-in-the-face indignant. From the hair-raising shriek at the inception of "Romeo A Go-Go" to the unnerving but conclusive static of "Pornogratherapy", Keith Buckley doesn't squander a single breath on anything but perfectly-articulated lividity. His brother Jordan, accompanied by Andy Williams and then-bandmates Mike "ratboy" Novak and Steve Micciche keep up impeccably with pulverizing instrumentation that defecates on the very idea of "precision". The pace of the triturating ordeal varies from the blistering "I Been Gone A Long Time" to a less-rushed track like "Floater", which takes its sweet time in unleashing its fury. "Ebolarama", arguably the record's finest moment, features a music video that showcases ETID and friends rocking the shit out of a Buffalo, NY roller-rink, apparently having a damn good time whilst spewing a musical performance of frenzied and epic proportions. If the disdain that's dribbling from Buckley's voice as he bellows "We don't think in terms of the morning-afters, and we don't utter a single word of the night-befores" doesn't make you either want to wrench out your own spleen or emasculate a priest, well then maybe this record just isn't your cup of tea. I, on the other hand, drink my tea with whiskey and piss. It's last call, k-k-kill it.



Recent reviews by this author
Binary Heart SplitsvilleApe Up! Kemosabe
Joyce Manor Of All Things I Will Soon Grow TiredAnti-Flag The General Strike
Good Old War Come Back As RainSnowing Pump Fake / Scherbatsky 7"
user ratings (844)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
transient (4.5)
This is a rock and roll takeover....

PeteyThePistol (5)
Don't expect Every Time I Die to slow down any time soon....

Understanding In a Crash (4)
Get ready to punch everyone who you hate in the face and to steal their girlfriend....


Comments:Add a Comment 
iFghtffyrdmns
April 19th 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I don't give a damn that this already had three halfway-decent reviews, I think it needed a review like this. Yeah I'm a little frustrated about that differential equations final I just took but who gives two shits, I listened to this and felt instantly less like a bitch. I'm a bit of an ETID fanboy, sure, but this album without a doubt deserves at least as much praise as it gets. I'm gonna make myself a stiff one now boys, cheers.

Oh also, I felt obligated to drop the whole Buffalo, NY thing, so forgive me. Or just, I don't know, hit me in the face with a battering ram.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 19th 2011



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

oh wow, so so so not a 5. good review though, even though I disagree with pretty much all of it.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

iFghtffyrdmns
April 19th 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@Aids - eh I guess it just doesn't hit you in the same way. I love this record, I could spin it over and over and over and still be stoked on it.

and thanks, andcas.

whywontyoudie
April 19th 2011



3063 Comments


possss

iFghtffyrdmns
April 19th 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

100% agreed cas

haha thanks whywontyoueverytimeidie

twlichty
April 19th 2011



3394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Keith Buckley's vocals and lyrics are a lot better on the The Big Dirty

Digging: Lusine - A Certain Distance

iFghtffyrdmns
April 19th 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeah I kind of agree with both of you here.
I think his cleans and transitions on the big dirty are fantastic but it just doesn't pack the same OOMPH as Hot Damn or even NJA.

his raw and relatively weaker screams here make this so awesome, in my opinion.



newjunkaesthetic93
April 19th 2011



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album and New Junk Aesthetic are the best Every Time I Die has made. I agree with andcas TBD is probably their 2nd weakest, but it is better than Gutter Phenomenon

iFghtffyrdmns
April 19th 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

haha agreed. In my opinion this is a standout 5, NJA is as close to a 5 as a non-five can get, TBD is at a solid 4.5 and Gutter is at a 4

twlichty
April 19th 2011



3394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I have The Big Dirty at 4.5 and I think the whole band was the strongest they've been at that point in their career, New Junk Aesthetic felt like a small step in the wrong direction but it was still solid. This however is an awesome album in its own respects too

Xenophanes
Emeritus
April 19th 2011



10553 Comments


Great write up eric.

I loooooved new junk aesthetic, but oddly enough haven't listened to tbis yet.

Digging: Saintseneca - Dark Arc

iFghtffyrdmns
April 19th 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

thanks a lot Xeno. NJA is a return to form (of sorts) to this... NJA is basically the more polished version of Hot Damn, but HD's rawness is what makes it so awesome, in my eyes at least.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
April 19th 2011



10553 Comments


Also, my roomate just had a differential equations midterm lol

iFghtffyrdmns
April 19th 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

haha right on! Hopefully I can still manage an A in that class, part 2 of the final is on Thursday...we'll see how it goes. It's kind of a fun class in a math-nerd sort of way, at least compared to a lot of the other classes I take.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
April 20th 2011



10553 Comments


Oh boy I really despise math lol. I've been pushing back Calc I & II ever since I started. Now I'm heading into my senior year and I'm forced to take it haha

iFghtffyrdmns
April 20th 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

hah what a bummer dude, calculus in general is one of my favorite subjects. Then again, I wouldn't be a math major if I didn't at least halfway-enjoy doing the shit.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
April 20th 2011



10553 Comments


I'm a zoology major so it's just something I have to take lol

tkxxx7
April 20th 2011



6146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

for me, my enjoyment of math is heavily dependent on the person teaching it

iFghtffyrdmns
April 20th 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

^^^I agree, math professors can make or break the course for their students, no doubt.

BrownPark
April 20th 2011



158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

awesome album is fuckin' awesome, what more is there to say?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy