Horrid Cross
Demo II


3.5
great

Review

by Pine Cone Massacre USER (203 Reviews)
April 17th, 2011 | 15 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: RAW.GRIM.UNCOUTH. ENTER THY WOODS OV THE GRIM SOUTHERN ORANGE STATE.....

Would you like to have your face melted off? Would you like to enter the grim, desolate world of all that is necro and unholy? If so, listen to Horrid Cross. Horrid Cross is a raw black metal band from Florida who *** *** up in a keyboard free environment . By ***ing *** up I mean that Horrid Cross play misanthropic black metal free of pan flutes, synthesizers, Cascadian post rock imbued sequences and polished production values. This isn’t your mother’s Alanis Morissette record so *** off if your put off by the raw primal nature of Horrid Cross. 2 troo 4 u.

The material that I will be unearthing from the blasphemous crypts today is their second demo entitled Demo II. Their musical direction is pretty clear after hearing the blasting three minute opener IV. Gnarled screams? Check. Blitzkrieg riffing? Check. A deafening amount of distortion and reverb? Check. Punishing snare? Check. Horrid Cross embrace all that is ugly about black metal and wrap it up into one nice little package. Yet, through all the chaos and violence that erupts from this demo tape, Horrid Cross display a knack for constructing simple, cohesive tunes that are relatively easy to digest.

The guitars provide the bulk of the EP’s raw aggression with fast paced riffing patterns that invoke moments of Viking inflicted brutality. “V” opens up with a slower, more head bobbing approach, offering some variety and melody to the vicious uproar. Discordant notes and melodic tremolo picking are heard throughout the dense layers of distortion which helps keep things interesting. The Rhythm section is equally as sadistic as the guitar assault. At times buried under reverb, the drums still play a pivotal role in administering the audio bloodshed. Doublebass is quick and merciless, snare hits are hardhitting and cymbal crashes are equally as aggressive. It sounds to me that the drummer was hypnotically induced during this recording. Why? Because he gives a blistering, inhuman performance. As for the bass I don’t hear it. I don’t really give a daisy *** though. When the music is this good you don’t really need to be nitpicking for flaws.

Ten minutes of sloppy, simplistic and unsophisticated black metal is what you‘ll find on this EP. Horrid Cross will appeal to all the black metal purists out there who think bands are going to far out of their way to incorporate post-rock dynamics in their fifteen minute prog epics. This young Florida band represents modern black metal in the best of ways without sacrificing depth for aggression or aggression for depth.



Recent reviews by this author
Destroyer 666 Of Wolves, Women & WarSo Hideous Last Poem/First Light
13th Moon The Pale Spectre over the WormTheophany Time's End: Majora's Mask Remixed
At Dawn They Sleep Red SunBlack Magick SS Panzerwitch
user ratings (9)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
April 17th 2011


17882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great demo, never thought i'd see it reviewed here tbh

Digging: Wreodan Heahl - Laecig

BallsToTheWall
April 17th 2011


44472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm doing my best to un-sputnik the sputnik problem.

Digging: Tove Lo - Queen of the Clouds

Wizard
April 17th 2011


19437 Comments


Would you like to have your face melted off? Would you like to enter the grim, desolate world of all that is necro and unholy? If so, listen to Horrid Cross. Horrid Cross is a raw black metal band from Florida who *** *** up in a keyboard free environment . By ***ing *** up I mean that Horrid Cross play misanthropic black metal free of pan flutes, synthesizers, Cascadian post rock imbued sequences and polished production values. This isn’t your mother’s Alanis Morissette record so *** off if your put off by the raw primal nature of Horrid Cross. 2 troo 4 u.

Are you having withdrawls from your steroids or something? hahahaha I'm guessing I need to check this out?

Digging: Nightbringer - Ego Dominus Tuus

BallsToTheWall
April 17th 2011


44472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Welcome back Karl. Haven't seen your ugly mug in ages. Band needs moar representation.

TheSpirit
April 17th 2011


17882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Balls, have you listened to Divisions? They were a hardcore band that has some members that are now in Horrid Cross. They play lo-fi ugly hardcore, you'd probably dig it.

BallsToTheWall
April 17th 2011


44472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This has the drummer of Volcanic Slut I know that. I know of Divisions but haven't listened to them yet along with Nazi Dust.

Hawks
April 17th 2011


35824 Comments


Review kicks so much ass. I need this shit.

BallsToTheWall
April 17th 2011


44472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Feeling more motivated than usual to wear a bullet belt from bullets I deposited, get a upside down cross tatted below my neck/upper chest, and wear a denim band patched vest.

Tyrael
April 18th 2011


20883 Comments


I don't think I have ever read a more manly review. Nice work Balls.

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

TheSpirit
April 19th 2011


17882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck this album is great and needs more attention



bump

BallsToTheWall
April 19th 2011


44472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

APPRECIATE IT Sir. Havent checked Divions yet but Nazi Dust is slaying my ears.

TheSpirit
April 19th 2011


17882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nazi Dust is good although I have only listened to them once or twice and I really wasn't giving them much attention. I'll fix that soon. You'll love Divisions though. It's essentially this with a prevalent hardcore vibe.

Wizard
April 19th 2011


19437 Comments


This is good so far. And I've always been around here Balls.

BallsToTheWall
April 19th 2011


44472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Discovering a scene like this motivates me to be more proactive. Now I need to find the rest of the horde(I think Tampa), join their pack and engage in blasphemous audio acts against all that is holy, popular and sweet.

Already motivated to get a broken inflamed cross tattooed across my chest.

ApplicationToHeaven
July 31st 2012


1561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this band owns



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy