Disturbed
The Sickness


3.0
good

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (196 Reviews)
April 14th, 2011 | 160 replies | 11,259 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: From a musical standpoint ‘The Sickness’ is in no way a remarkable album, but at times it can be as catchy as hell.

Disturbed many will know can be used as a stepping stone into the metal or heavy metal genres, it’s a band you can introduce to your ‘metal-less’ friends in order to introduce them to something a little darker and a little heavier. Appropriately Disturbed can be called ‘beginners metal’ and whilst not pushing the genres limits (being safely snuggled against them) of metal there is something in ‘The Sickness’s’ makings that makes it an easy listen. Disturbed’s debut album displays a lot about the band. It shows their creative and musical ability, as well as their overall musical style. For most hard rock/metal groups a debut can be make or break for the band, but when the music is this catchy listeners will flock to purchase the next release.

Released in the middle of the 2000s a lot of the metal community did not know what they could expect from a new group that show a fair amount of nu-metal tendencies. Amidst the yelled, smooth, and harsh mix of vocals, not to mention the use of “Ooh Wa Ah Ah’s” listeners will sense that there is something going on here that is sparking the interest of many worldwide. Disturbed show an excellent example of ‘Simple usually works’ on their débuting album and combine smooth (if not overly melodic) vocal linings with a few of the now trade mark “Ooh Wa Ah Ah’s” with the not so technical elements of the bass work, guitar riff patterns (which at most times is void of any melodic patterns or leads) and a typical metal drum kit that includes the usual double kick work found in many other groups today. The drum linings do however show some change or diversity in the music sometimes stepping out of the typical 4/4 timing patterns and displaying some ability in creating the album. Disturbed also throw in a well known cover track just for good measure ensuring a slighter increase of the bands worldwide notice. The originally recorded Tears For Fears-Shout track was modernised and adapted to suit Disturbed’s personal playing style and create a track that can be justified as a highlight for the album. It seems Disturbed really want to be able to ‘Shout’ their way to the top.

‘The Sickness’ at times however can become steadily droll as most of the tracks do have roughly the same creative makings; this is especially noticeable over repeated listens and despite its now rather typical and predictable soundings there are some tracks that stand above the others waving a victory flag over the other bloodied tracks, and overall lift the albums quality. This debut from Disturbed shows many of the makings of a successful metal band, but raises the question of its continued quality, whether it would be over many listens to the complete album or the next studio effort? Regardless this album shows a sense of catchiness that creates a steady fan base and can be used as a passage into heavier metal.

Highlights Include: Down With The Sickness, Shout 2000(cover track), and Stupify.



Recent reviews by this author
Mastodon Once More 'Round the SunMayhem Esoteric Warfare
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherKauan Pirut
Miserable Failure HopeBong Stoner Rock
user ratings (1848)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
LepreCon
April 14th 2011



3882 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fuckin piece of shit...


LOL JK I actually like Disturbed, unlike most of this site...

Digging: Overkill - White Devil Armory

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2011



6992 Comments


yeah but i can understand where the hate is coming from but they are a fun listen

FilthyBorgir
April 14th 2011



1334 Comments


this album is average and overrated imo.... but there are some good songs.

WashboardSuds
April 14th 2011



4992 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

but when the music is these catchy listeners will flock to purchase the next release.


don't understand this

released in the middle of the 2000s


released in the middle of 2000 if you mean this album

otherwise this is a solid review, I basically agree with this. nice work. pos'd

Digging: Gas - Nah und Fern

Acanthus
April 14th 2011



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Somehow I've not rated their first three albums, have to fix that.

This was (one of) my "intro" albums, I can't see people rating this without thinking of the first time they heard "The Sickness"

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2011



6992 Comments


shit, um, grammar issues. give us a minute. and yes the middle of 2000. What would i do without you guys looking out for me?

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2011



6992 Comments


@acanthus, like the "stepping stone" stuff i was going on about?

WashboardSuds
April 14th 2011



4992 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

btw that stepping stone thing is a good point

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2011



6992 Comments


Well my 'steppng stone/s' was this and some of SOAD's stuff. Not long after that i was deep into metalcore before eventually leading into dm stuff.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2011



6992 Comments


lol andcas, does that section back up your rating?

Acanthus
April 14th 2011



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes, you nailed it on the head with that phrase. I didn't get into these guys until late 2008 I wanna say, and I never listened to the radio so it just kind've took me by storm.

@andcas - the full version is so wonderful, I hate how they (sometimes) edit that out.


NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2011



6992 Comments


They show you a bigger picture and open your eyes to a world much better than the one you was originally in. Thankfuck for metal.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2011



50043 Comments


Worst singer ever.

Digging: Tiny Moving Parts - Pleasant Living

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2011



6992 Comments


As long as you know why andcas. I do understand why these guys get so much hate though. But you can blast this music at some of the most innapropriate places for example: sitting outside of a school waiting to pick up your younger brother, having grannies and other dissaproving parents look back at you. All i can do is smile and wave.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2011



6992 Comments


Seriously Andcas, i would love to see your own review on this, Flip the Disturbed lovers on their ears. i like seeing differing opinions on controversial bands. Also makes for a good read in the comments section.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2011



50043 Comments


Reminds me of when I saw A Day To Remember.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2011



6992 Comments


To each their own i guess, i don't love these guys aimlessly and they usually get pushed far down my musical playlist. They do however make an appearance from time to time.

Zo0lz
April 14th 2011



107 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

While I think this is an alright album for this paticular decade, it would later become quite dated, but otherwise it's a good effort.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2011



6992 Comments


New user?^^

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2011



50043 Comments


That sentence reminds me of Brick from Anchorman.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy