Emmure
Felony


3.0
good

Review

by Willem Hattingh USER (6 Reviews)
April 14th, 2011 | 42 replies | 5,696 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It sucks, but it actually doesn't suck enough...

0 of 12 thought this review was well written

Believe me, The Respect Issue is more worse than this record; That album had the (stereo)typical Emmure sound that some of this album won't have. On Felony, It creates the illusion of a very poor and typical metalcore album: Nearly every track on the album is 2 to 3-and-a-half minutes long; The albums songs have terrible lyrics ("And now you're looking down the barrel of a gun / Sun of a Gun / Looks like you're not having any fun"); and if you know about Emmure from their previous releases, you think you know what to expect. There is a new guitarist and drummer (who also can't blast). The things that you are very unlikely to expect (unless you are told, obviously) include things like the rap/nu metal influence. Like I had stated on my review on "Goodbye to the Gallows" (a decent Emmure album):

"I'm not saying that having a Nu Metal kind of sound on Felony was a good idea."

What I meant by that was that most of the time, on this album, they do not pull off the Nu Metal sound well. Additionally, It's the Nu Metals AND -cores that trolling metalheads are more likely to target, so it was a pretty stupid idea.

Now let's review some of the tracks (Remember, no talent).
"Sunday bacon" starts off with a drum beat which a typical deathcore drummer is certain to perform that very easily. The rest of the song is pretty terrible, along with the following track, "I thought you met tv and turned me into casper", which is also pretty terrible. If you hear what the girl, who remains anomynous in the track, is saying, even in connection to the rest of the song's lyrics, you are likely to be disturbed. "You suck my battleship" is a perfect example to show that Frankie can't rap, but that's only the intro to the song. "R2DEEPTHROAT" is an attack on The Acacia Strain for attacking them with "Skynet", which was pretty immature for a deathcore band to be honest, and I don't mean that the Acacia Strain are. What you don't expect in the song is that there is a nu metal type of "breakdown" instead of the typical deathcore breakdown that Emmure are certain to pull off.

On the other hand, The decent songs are simply tracks 9 to 11. This includes "Bars In Astoria", which adds to the Felony Nu Metal sound, but in a good way. This is because the song does sound a bit like KoRn because of a few vocals and some guitar riffs, but it is easily the most enjoyable track by Emmure on this album, until the final breakdown, however, which ruins it. It is also the longest track on the album, but hits the 3:28 minute mark. "Lessons from Nichole" is also an enjoyable track on the album. Even though it's an Emmure deathcore song, it still has pretty interesting riffs through most of the song. Still pretty short like the rest of the album's tracks. Finally, "Don't be one" is not as enjoyable, but it is probably the most unpredictable song on the album. I believed that the clean vocals belonged to a guest vocalist, until Frankie wrote this on twitter: "I wrote a song with singing on our last record called "Don't Be One". Most people don't even think/realize its me. Whatever. Glad I did it.". The last track, "Immaculate misconception", is best to ignore. It is only 1-and-a-half minutes long and is a very weak album closer.

In conclusion, what kind of album is this? I'm obviously not saying that this is their worst, but without the decent tracks, I would have rated this a 2.5/5 to even 1/5. In fact, here are all of Emmure's LPs rated out of 5 (based on my opinion):

Goodbye To The Gallows: 4/5
The Respect Issue: 2.5/5
Felony: 3/5
Speaker of the dead: 3.5/5

If you don't care, don't like Emmure, don't like this album or this review, than don't make remarks about it. The review is probably better than the album.

Best songs:
Bars In Astoria
Lessons from Nichole
Don't be one

Worst songs:
Sunday bacon
I thought you met telly and turned me into casper
You sunk my battleship



Recent reviews by this author
Between the Buried and Me AlaskaEmmure Goodbye to the Gallows
Avenged Sevenfold City of EvilThe Dillinger Escape Plan Ire Works
Bring Me the Horizon Suicide Season
user ratings (866)
Chart.
1.6
very poor
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyrael
April 14th 2011



20727 Comments


Wait, first you say the album is 'a very poor and typical metalcore album', you admit that the band members have no talent at all, and you say that most of the songs are terrible but you're still giving this a 3?

lancebramsay
April 14th 2011



1585 Comments


Dude this review is all over the place. Very awkwardly worded too.

Might I recommend not referring to a previous review of yours. In fact, I would recommend going
through and revising this. Avoid certain things such as:

using the same word several times in the same sentence
excessive use of semi-colons
run on sentences

I'm not trying to be an ass but I would actually recommend taking some english courses. You seem to
have a very loose grip on basic sentence structure - at best. The review really lacks any sort of
purposeful direction and is incredibly difficult to read. Plus the fact that you completely
contradict yourself throughout doesn't help your case.

Sorry man but I have to neg this. Ultimately you have to earn your approval; improve this review and
I will gladly give you a pos.

SharkEthic
April 14th 2011



576 Comments


Should have stopped reading after "more worse", terrible review.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2011



6932 Comments


actually did stop reading after 'more worse' and that summary doesn't make sense of a 3 rating, sorry but neg.

Ire
April 14th 2011



41747 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

amazing review

bowlofsoup
April 14th 2011



1073 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"Sunday bacon" starts off with a drum beat which a typical deathcore drummer is certain to perform that very easily

Fix this and most of the other sentences. Oh, and the rating makes no sense given what you say in the review.

MopHeadOvMetal
April 14th 2011



193 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

The 3 decent songs on there made the review worth 1 extra star.

bowlofsoup
April 14th 2011



1073 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Yes, the same reason I gave it a one. Oh, wait...

promiseswept
April 14th 2011



846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol don't tell people to not make remarks about something. horrible review

WashboardSuds
April 14th 2011



4983 Comments


is the summary some kind of riddle we have to figure out?

sorry, neg

Digging: Acid Bath - When the Kite String Pops

Tyrael
April 14th 2011



20727 Comments


Maybe he means that most metalcore sucks, but this one doesn't suck as much as the average run-to-the-mill metalcore album.

bowlofsoup
April 14th 2011



1073 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I believe he's trying to say that this sucks just the right amount. I may be wrong though

Tyrael
April 14th 2011



20727 Comments


It sucks just the right amount? Lol

bowlofsoup
April 14th 2011



1073 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Eh, it was only a bad joke.

WashboardSuds
April 14th 2011



4983 Comments


On Felony, It creates the illusion of a very poor and typical metalcore album

this sentence is questionable, maybe it's just me but I'm not sure what this means

There is a new guitarist and drummer (who also can't blast).

not sure what you mean by "blast"

"R2DEEPTHROAT" is an attack on The Acacia Strain for attacking them with "Skynet", which was pretty immature for a deathcore band to be honest, and I don't mean that the Acacia Strain are.

run-on sentence. plus I'm not sure what that last part is trying to say

On the other hand, The decent songs are simply tracks 9 to 11.

don't need caps after a comma, and if only 3 songs can be considered decent, this shouldn't be a 3 out of 5 imo

I would have rated this a 2.5/5 to even 1/5.

then why didn't you? please back up your points

In fact, here are all of Emmure's LPs rated out of 5 (based on my opinion):

Goodbye To The Gallows: 4/5
The Respect Issue: 2.5/5
Felony: 3/5
Speaker of the dead: 3.5/5



not needed or significant to the review, just make an actual list out of that instead

If you don't care, don't like Emmure, don't like this album or this review, than don't make remarks about it. The review is probably better than the album.



people are going to make remarks about this review because they don't like it


just some critiques, hope they help. make some changes to your usage and grammar and give this another try

promiseswept
April 14th 2011



846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

can't be too hard on him though, it's a daunting task to justify that high of a rating for felony in a review. which is why i
never tried haha. oh yeah, proper grammar would help too

promiseswept
April 14th 2011



846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

and also willem, if mike kaabe wanted to blast and if emmure wanted to be a band that used blast beats (not even sure
if you know what that is) then they would

Tyrael
April 14th 2011



20727 Comments


not sure what you mean by "blast"

Blast beats I presume.

WashboardSuds
April 14th 2011



4983 Comments


makes sense, but even still he says "who also can't blast" as if he mentioned someone who couldn't blast prior.

there are several awkwrad and random bits across the review like this

promiseswept
April 14th 2011



846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah Joe (old drummer) never blasted on their old cd's, who cares? that wasn't what emmure was going for



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy