At The Soundawn
Shifting


4.0
excellent

Review

by Adrian Hertzberg CONTRIBUTOR (31 Reviews)
April 11th, 2011 | 41 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A complex but mesmerizing journey through the land of experimental metal.

Italian experimental metal band At The Soundawn are a pretty hard group to pigeonhole, and their sophomore release Shifting does little to clear the water. For the most part, their sound can be classified as metal: the guitars are distorted, the drums are bombastic, and the growls are….um…growly. What stands out on Shifting though, is the phenomenal level of variety. Make no bones about it, this is definitely a metal album, but the musical diversity found in nearly every crevasse and around every corner is nothing if not astonishing. At any given point, the listener could find themselves in the middle of a post-rock build up, or a jazzy interlude, or a winding polyrhythmic section with clear Latin influences.

Luckily for At The Soundawn (and their listeners), they have the chops to pull it off. The rhythm section is especially notable. No matter which genre At The Soundawn foray into, it never feels forced or awkward thanks to the skills of their absolutely amazing drummer and bassist. Whether it’s a punishing tirade of guitar riffs, or a slowly building crescendo, At The Soundawn always sound right at home thanks in large part to the ability of their rhythm section to change styles at a moment’s notice. Their drive keeps the album from ever sounding stale or generic. The penultimate track, “Hades” stands out in particular. The song begins with a soothing vocal line, clean delay guitar, and an unassuming drum beat. Before you get settled in though, the clean vocals turn to growls, the guitar line fades, and the drummer explodes into an earth-shaking, drum pattern. But don’t get too comfortable, here comes the trumpet solo with accompanying rim shots.

Every track on this album will take you on a journey, whether it’s the building ambience of “Drifting Lights,” the alternative rock stylings of “Hades,” or the epic voyage through the many dynamic changes of nine minute album closer “Prometheus Bring Us The Fire.” Casual fans of metal need not be deterred by the band’s “proper” genre; Shifting is not an album that can be easily described by picking a couple of your favourite musical buzzwords (dude, this is like, post-progressive-sludgecore). There is truly something for everyone on Shifting.



Recent reviews by this author
Manchester Orchestra CopeRegina Spektor Songs
Run the Jewels Run the JewelsThe Dillinger Escape Plan One of Us Is the Killer
The National Trouble Will Find MeLaura Stevenson Wheel
user ratings (32)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Trey Spencer STAFF (4)
The sprawling progressive nature of this post metal band’s second release makes for a steep learni...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011


23819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is just a re-working of my write up for the user year end lists. I figured I might as well post an extended version seeing as this didn't have a review yet.

Relinquished
April 11th 2011


25054 Comments


thank you for not calling this post-metal

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011


7041 Comments


This looks short, but doesn't read short.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011


23819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"thank you for not calling this post-metal"

hahaha I came so close a couple times, I had no idea what else to call it.

"This looks short, but doesn't read short."

...thank you?

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011


23819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh it does already have a review, nevermind. well, now it has a staff review and a user review. wooo.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011


7041 Comments


i mean you present your ideas in a way that does not take anything away from your points, and it's length i don't think matters too much as long as you do the above mentioned correctly. Pos

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011


23819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ahh thank you, I appreciate that.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011


7041 Comments


no problem.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
April 11th 2011


10594 Comments


Excellent review, Adrian. I sincerely mean it when I say that it's a joy to read your stuff, and I look forward to even more!

Pos'd

Xenophanes
Emeritus
April 11th 2011


10594 Comments


Also, this sounds awesome.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011


23819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks man, that means a lot coming from you.

North0House2
April 11th 2011


5856 Comments


Great review.
I have honestly never even heard of these guys. Will check them out.

Digging: This Will Destroy You - Another Language

balcaen
April 11th 2011


3183 Comments


review makes it sound awesome, i think i'll get this. going out on a limb though, since i haven't even heard of your rec for this one. pos'd, good job aids!

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2011


31161 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

*aida

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

Willie
Moderator
April 11th 2011


15976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent review. This band didn't get much attention when the album came out so it's nice to see another shot for people to listen.

Digging: Necropoli - I

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011


23819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks everyone.

hahahaha Deviant, brilliant post


Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2011


23819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@ balcean - I've only heard the first rec, the other two just came up as similar artists on last.fm

A Determinism of Morality by Rosetta is definitely better than this, that album slays. But this one is good too.

Jash
April 12th 2011


4244 Comments


god damn aids, you're getting better and better and i havent wrote a review since that one for Expo 86 when we were stoned that night... i think i need to give this album another listen after reading this. now stop being sick and come hangout at the house with everyone!!!











oh and pos'd

Tyrael
April 12th 2011


20876 Comments


Damn Aids, you keep surprising me (in a good way). Pos.

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

MutnikSpusic
April 12th 2011


560 Comments


this was fucking overlooked



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy