Sole
Selling Live Water


4.0
excellent

Review

by C.F. USER (19 Reviews)
April 10th, 2011 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sole says what he has to say and has a lot of fun doing it.

For many years, the anticon record label has been straddling the fence between quality absurdist hip-hop and complete bull***. I mean, when listening to their major releases such as cLOUDDEAD’s self-titled or Deep Puddle DynamicsThe Taste of Rain... Why Kneel they either come across as transcendental, eye-opening experiences or a bunch of mouth breather, white dudes blathering about nothing. However, that in and of itself is something to revel in; the pure subjectivity of it and how it can be interpreted in innumerable ways. Beauty truly is in the eyes of the beholder. On Sole’s album Selling Live Water, he finds that happy medium that is intellectual enough to appreciate, but down to Earth enough to get a grasp on.

Sole has a lot to say. Every song is a wordy, personal manifesto written in a stream of consciousness fashion. Despite this, he rarely beats around the bush with silly, nonsensical tangents that the aniticon collective are so notorious for. However, that’s not to say that he’s not adventurous with this lyrics, but the beauty of it is that he doesn’t sacrifice a focused theme to achieve this. Each song has something to say but Sole has such a way with metaphors and absurdist word-smithing that each message takes its own unique journey to tell it. Sole may appear to use smoke and mirrors but as long as a message is portrayed and something is instilled, the smoke and mirrors only make it that much more enjoyable.

The production of the album is almost as adventurous as the lyrics. Throughout the album there are hairpin turns such as random the break beat sections in “Da Baddest Poet” or a mishmash of off the wall beats in “Pawn in the Game, Pt. 1”. Using a variety of instruments and styles (compare the piano balled of “Teepee on a Highway Blues” to the Boards of Canada style ambiance of “Shoot the Messenger”), the production more than adequately does its job: keeps our head into the album. And that is really how this album shines. It takes many detours and back roads to show off some complexity, but it knows where to stop and not get caught up in its own ridiculousness. It’s smart enough to make the listener think, but laidback enough to be friendly to all crowds and situations.



Recent reviews by this author
The Leather Nun Slow DeathMerchandise After The End
Merchandise / Destruction Unit / Milk Music USA 13 SplitScreaming Females What If Someone Is Watching Their TV?
Milk Music Cruise Your IllusionDicks Hate the Police
user ratings (39)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
WeepingBanana
April 10th 2011


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is for my review a random album game. thanks to MCGF for submitting this. really good album

DoubtGin
April 10th 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what game

review is good, so is the album

captaincrunch11
April 10th 2011


1232 Comments


He's better when he has a Skyrider band accompanying him.

WeepingBanana
April 10th 2011


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@doubt

go to my profile and look at the "review a random album game" list

also thanks

kingsoby1
Emeritus
April 10th 2011


4950 Comments


i have a hard time getting into sole's solo stuff. love him with skyrider though

MCGF
April 10th 2011


361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ya this album is the best out of his solo stuff by far... salt on everything and the priziest horse are so good, as is most of the album. nice review! I need to write mine tonight.

WeepingBanana
April 10th 2011


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks dude

Urinetrouble
April 10th 2011


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i like deep puddle dynamics, clouddead and doseones hemispheres but anticon is mostly pretentious bullshit for artsy poetry fags...this was pr good though

WeepingBanana
April 10th 2011


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that seems to be the general consensus

Urinetrouble
April 10th 2011


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^probably. Alias is one of the worst fucking rappers alive, he makes good beats though

MCGF
April 10th 2011


361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

most anticon isn't that good, I agree. but they did do some amazing stuff and the amount of hate they get is pretty ridiculous.

iFghtffyrdmns
April 10th 2011


7047 Comments


i believe this is number 4 of fifteen of the reviews to be posted so far for the "review something random"

slow and steady wins the race I guess haha

ButcheredChildren
April 10th 2011


5591 Comments


Who else other than

Me
You
Willie

actually followed through with the review a random album from that list?

WeepingBanana
April 10th 2011


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no one yet

iFghtffyrdmns
April 10th 2011


7047 Comments


josh, idk if that "you" was directed at me or banana, but banana and I both followed through on reviews.
4/15. been at least two weeks. kinda lame haha

ButcheredChildren
April 10th 2011


5591 Comments


that's dumb, either most people forgot or no one sticks to their guns anymore.

WeepingBanana
April 10th 2011


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm gonna remind people in their shoutboxes

iFghtffyrdmns
April 10th 2011


7047 Comments


not a bad idea, it's a cool idea and it really helps the database out ya know?

none of these goddamn kids understand the value of a good word anymore....arghh.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 10th 2011


31401 Comments


that's dumb, either most people forgot or no one sticks to their guns anymore.


Or, you know, was just busy


Digging: Objekt - Flatland

iFghtffyrdmns
April 11th 2011


7047 Comments


Wait....you're meaning to say that Sputnik isn't the first and foremost priority in every user's life? You're telling me that people have more important things to do than write reviews for random records that they didn't even necessarily like!? THOSE ARE ELEVEN HOLES IN THE DATABASE THAT NEED TO BE FILLED, DEV. I DON'T THINK YOU'RE GRASPING THE GRAVITY OF THE SITUATION HERE.

selfish twat.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy