Yes
Talk


2.5
average

Review

by Matthijs van der Lee USER (219 Reviews)
April 4th, 2011 | 18 replies | 4,896 views


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: After what seemed fuel for a comeback, Yes simply fail to outlive the 80's and release yet another dissapointing album.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Following the union of 90125-era Yes and Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe in 1991, and the major tour that established newfound success for the group, the ever-unstable band was left by its newcomers (or rather, oldcomers) almost as swiftly as they had arrived, restoring, if the word is even appropriate, the same Yes that first created Owner of a Lonely Heart. This particular development certainly didn’t offer much direction in a possible reclaim to 70’s fame, and needless to say, Yes didn’t end up making one. Talk, released in 1994, did however end up being the last album featuring keyboardist Tony Kaye and guitarist Trevor Rabin, who defined much of its sound and direction.

With the exception of the three-part, 15-minute epic The Endless Dream that takes up Talk’s last quarter and features the greatest amount of well-constructed songwriting, the album chooses to dabble in the past, barely updating on the overlong 80’s pop songs. Rabin’s production creates a mechanic, constantly present drum sound and aims for typical dominance of the lead guitar, an instrument which he unfortunately he makes too little inventive use of. To add to this, Jon Anderson's vocals are at his most annoying.

Talk does actually know some inspired moments, although they are spread sparsely around its 54 minutes. Shamefully so, because since it is such an exercise to get through the record in the first place, nobody in his right mind will take on the challenge of finding the moments during which that real Yes comes forward.

Talk’s Yes was:

- John Roy Anderson ~ Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals
- Trevor Charles Rabin ~ Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals, Lead Vocals, Keyboards
- Christopher Russell Squire ~ Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals
- Anthony John Selvidge ~ Keyboards, Organ
- Alan White ~ Drums


TO BE CONTINUED...




Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (130)
Chart.
2.7
average
other reviews of this album
GrooveMonster (3.5)
Talk is a mixed-bag of goodies with songs that, while well-conceived and executed, have trouble dist...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
April 4th 2011



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I couldn't agree more, yet I promised a discography. Bear with me, 3 to go.

Kris.
April 4th 2011



12152 Comments


what the fuck kinda album art is that

Nagrarok
April 4th 2011



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think it means to spell Yes in semi-colourful letters.

Jethro42
April 4th 2011



12377 Comments


Ahhh the Nag' 195th review, finally. I've never heard a single note off that one. I'm curious enough to take a look, but really not hurry.

Kris.
April 4th 2011



12152 Comments


well duh but it looks like it was done by a 3 year old

Nagrarok
April 4th 2011



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ahhh the Nag' 195th review, finally. I've never heard a single note off that one. I'm curious enough to take a look, but really not hurry.


It really was about time, I actually haven't reviewed a thing in March. Also I wouldn't really bother.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2011



5921 Comments


well written, pos'd.

i should probably get into their 70's material some time.

Digging: Essence Beyond - Carnivalism

Nagrarok
April 4th 2011



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks Vov, and hell YES you should.

Jethro42
April 4th 2011



12377 Comments


''Jon Anderson's vocals are at his most annoying.''

That only statement pretty much convinced me to stay away from it.


MO
April 4th 2011



18256 Comments


pos'd, never got into this album, listened to it once, that was enough

Digging: Immolation - Dawn of Possession

random
April 4th 2011



2259 Comments


I should try this out.

Tyrael
April 4th 2011



20740 Comments


Thank God for another Nagrarok review.
edit: goddamn I can never get your name right.

Nagrarok
April 4th 2011



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thank God for another Nagnarok review.


I'll try to post more this month, hehe. Fast approaching that exclusive 200.

Thanks guys.

tiesthatbind
April 4th 2011



7371 Comments


I finally checked out Close to the Edge recently and it rules hard. I'll be using this
discography review as a guide for which other Yes albums to check out since you obviously know your
stuff.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

iFghtffyrdmns
April 4th 2011



7047 Comments


review the Tom Waits discography or I'm unimpressed.

jk nag congrats on being 5 away from that big two double zero.
i think my dad likes these guys...

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2011



7143 Comments


The Yes journey continues. Twas an interesting read. Pos.

And I miss you Nag =)

Nagrarok
April 5th 2011



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I finally checked out Close to the Edge recently and it rules hard. I'll be using this discography review as a guide for which other Yes albums to check out since you obviously know your stuff.


Great ties, and thanks. Next up would be Fragile, of course.

review the Tom Waits discography or I'm unimpressed.

jk nag congrats on being 5 away from that big two double zero.


Thanks man, actually I do need to listen to some more Waits though.

The Yes journey continues. Twas an interesting read. Pos.

And I miss you Nag =)


Cheers Irving, can't promise anything regarding my presence on sputnik in the coming time, but at least I plan on wrapping up this discog asap.

NightmareCinema16
August 9th 2013



2016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really only like the Endless Dream. The rest is either iffy or just bad.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy