Cult of Luna
Cult of Luna


4.0
excellent

Review

by WOLFE USER (1 Reviews)
April 3rd, 2011 | 157 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


Hailing from Umea, Sweden, Cult of Luna made their reputation in the metal world as one of the best and well-known acts that play the same style of sludge/post-rock hybrid as Isis and Pelican, all in the while evolving their sound to greater heights with each consecutive release. What sets apart the band from their contemporaries were their distinctive brand of darkness and dramatic atmosphere.

Halfway through the opener, “The Revelation Embodied”, those very same qualities become clear; Cult of Luna orchestrate around little changes and layers in almost every measure to avoid sounding tiresome repetitions. The guitar riffs consistently remain earthmoving and dramatic throughout the track as the drumming creates dynamic levels of intensity; the debut consists of some of the band’s most colossal riffs yet (i.e. “The Sacrifice”, “Sleep”, and “The Revelation Embodied”). Klas Rydberg debuts as feral and vicious as he is on the other records with his hardcore growling, never sounding weak or lacking emotion. The atmosphere has always been a key factor of their music; in every song, it is either dark and oppressive or somber and serious, but each one is reflective and thoughtful in their own right. The experimentation with electronic samplings bring more layers to the oppressive nature of the album. The lyrics are mostly dark and brooding, adding to the compelling atmosphere - dealing with themes such as the four horsemen of the apocalypse (“The Revelation Embodied”: A time when the curse is alive. The horsemen have arrived. Under the hoofs has the human race tread down into muddy pools of dirt) and of Faust of German legend (“Beyond Fate”). The experimentation should be noted as they add cello parts in “Sleep”, samples within passages like Neurosis did, and the acoustic guitar at the end of “The Sacrifice”. Cult of Luna seemed to have masterfully composed a solid debut with exploding crescendos, overwhelmingly dark atmospheres, and impressive songwriting and musicianship.

Naturally, this album isn't flawless. The self-titled is wounded by its length, lasting nearly as long as an hour. The length is long because of stretched sections (the middle of “Sleep”) or extended measures in the songs (for example, the ending in “The Sacrifice”). Compared to their other albums, this is possibly their weakest effort. The debut’s sound would later be explored in the following album, The Beyond, where all aspects in this are improved.

That is not to say that this should be avoided and cast aside as an unnecessary listen in the band’s discography. No, this is recommended to be given a listen for all fans of atmospherically crushing dark metal.


user ratings (231)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Relinquished
April 3rd 2011


25964 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yo

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


16478 Comments


holy shit a relinquished review what is this i don't even

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011


25964 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

probably will be the only one too. album deserves it though.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


8391 Comments


the debut consists of some of the band’s most colossal riffs yet
So true. Great review man, I haven't listened to this in a long time - a thing I need to fix.

Maniac!
April 3rd 2011


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album rules, pretty cool review too

Psychopathologist
April 3rd 2011


1922 Comments


this is probably cool since the band is only getting worse

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011


25964 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I don't see how they're getting worse. EK is slightly underwhelming compared to Salvation or SAtH but they got better in experimenting.

Maniac!
April 3rd 2011


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

are CoL putting out an album this year? I heard Neurosis was, but I can't remember if someone said CoL were too.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


8391 Comments


I thought EK was excellent. Also, damn, I agree with your conclusion so much too. This review sounds like it was written in my head lol.

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011


25964 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

are CoL putting out an album this year?

they started writing already, you can see what they're working on on their website.

and I tried, magnus, glad you liked it.

xenocide.
April 3rd 2011


1208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review. I agree that they aren't getting worse. They just change their sound slightly. It should be appreciated.

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011


25964 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

You see Isis and Pelican and they weakened their sound, but Cult of Luna still kept it strong.

Maniac!
April 3rd 2011


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I never really liked pelican to begin with. But I'm a fag, what do I know?

SeaAnemone
April 3rd 2011


20953 Comments


ddaaaammnnnn just posted a critique/help with this review in the review proofreading thread, I didn't know you had already posted it... oh well, good review anyway, especially for a first!

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong

Maniac!
April 3rd 2011


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

go away eric, this is too scary for you

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011


25964 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thank you eric, I was waiting for help but got impatient.

SeaAnemone
April 3rd 2011


20953 Comments


Brandon Lewis: listener of Deftones, maker of innumerable shitty lists, Judo master, homeschool hero,
NO FUCKING FEARS

ok sorry relinquished done clogging up the thread now with such truthful things

Maniac!
April 3rd 2011


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol.

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011


25964 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thanks for the kind words guys, and thanks eric I corrected most of the errors you pointed out. and at least I tried to stop maniac from fagging up the thread.

FearThyEvil
April 3rd 2011


12758 Comments


Good review Pos'd. Thanks for helping me find that band yesterday.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy