Cult of Luna
Cult of Luna



Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


Cult of Luna have long settled their well-founded reputation over the years as one of the best sludge/post-rock hybrid of similar vein to Isis and Pelican. After a series of highly acclaimed releases, all while making tactful improvements and subtractions to their sound, their debut remained as their more rather neglected record. The sophomore effort, The Beyond, improved everything from the self-titled and left it unnecessary among discussion, yet still a solid reminder of the core Cult of Luna started with.

Taking heavy influence from Neurosis fellow country-mates Refused and Breach, Cult of Luna orchestrate around slight layerings romantically waving back and forth between earthmoving urgency and aromatic lulls, enshrouding the instrumentation with flourishes of cello, electronic textures, and synths behind gloomy sludge riffs and thunderous drumming. The debut consists of some of the band’s most colossal riffs yet (i.e. “The Sacrifice”, “Sleep”, and “The Revelation Embodied”). Vocalist Klas Rydberg barks ferociously and emotionally, yet evidently immature in execution here. The lyrics deal with themes such as the four horsemen of the apocalypse (“The Revelation Embodied”: A time when the curse is alive. The horsemen have arrived. Under the hoofs has the human race tread down into muddy pools of dirt) and of Faust of German legend (“Beyond Fate”).

Regardless if the album is wounded by some overstretched sections and flashes of immaturity, Cult of Luna composed a solid debut with equally solid and impressive songwriting and musicianship.


user ratings (289)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Relinquished
April 3rd 2011


33820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yo

Crysis
Emeritus
April 3rd 2011


17162 Comments


holy shit a relinquished review what is this i don't even

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011


33820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

probably will be the only one too. album deserves it though.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


8558 Comments


the debut consists of some of the band’s most colossal riffs yet
So true. Great review man, I haven't listened to this in a long time - a thing I need to fix.

Maniac!
April 3rd 2011


27515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album rules, pretty cool review too

Psychopathologist
April 3rd 2011


1922 Comments


this is probably cool since the band is only getting worse

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011


33820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I don't see how they're getting worse. EK is slightly underwhelming compared to Salvation or SAtH but they got better in experimenting.

Maniac!
April 3rd 2011


27515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

are CoL putting out an album this year? I heard Neurosis was, but I can't remember if someone said CoL were too.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


8558 Comments


I thought EK was excellent. Also, damn, I agree with your conclusion so much too. This review sounds like it was written in my head lol.

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011


33820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

are CoL putting out an album this year?


they started writing already, you can see what they're working on on their website.



and I tried, magnus, glad you liked it.

xenocide.
April 3rd 2011


1253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review. I agree that they aren't getting worse. They just change their sound slightly. It should be appreciated.

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011


33820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

You see Isis and Pelican and they weakened their sound, but Cult of Luna still kept it strong.

Maniac!
April 3rd 2011


27515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I never really liked pelican to begin with. But I'm a fag, what do I know?

SeaAnemone
April 3rd 2011


21401 Comments


ddaaaammnnnn just posted a critique/help with this review in the review proofreading thread, I didn't know you had already posted it... oh well, good review anyway, especially for a first!

Maniac!
April 3rd 2011


27515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

go away eric, this is too scary for you

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011


33820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thank you eric, I was waiting for help but got impatient.

SeaAnemone
April 3rd 2011


21401 Comments


Brandon Lewis: listener of Deftones, maker of innumerable shitty lists, Judo master, homeschool hero,
NO FUCKING FEARS

ok sorry relinquished done clogging up the thread now with such truthful things

Maniac!
April 3rd 2011


27515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol.

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011


33820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thanks for the kind words guys, and thanks eric I corrected most of the errors you pointed out. and at least I tried to stop maniac from fagging up the thread.

FearThyEvil
April 3rd 2011


14948 Comments


Good review Pos'd. Thanks for helping me find that band yesterday.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy