Nokturnel
Nothing But Hatred


5.0
classic

Review

by Brandon Scott USER (101 Reviews)
March 24th, 2011 | 32 replies | 6,302 views


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist

Review Summary: AllMusic Review take #1

3 of 4 thought this review was well written

Simply put, Nothing But Hatred should have easily been hailed as a classic within early 90's death metal; Nokturnel was a band well ahead of their time, crafting a frightening complex and diverse debut album that is impressively still relevant 18 years later. Harnessing black metal's blindingly fast tempos, Nokturnel played an ugly, tormented version of technical death metal with black and thrash influences. Really always maintaining a blast-beat lead pace, Nothing But Hatred displays top-notch musicianship, with guitars that seamlessly jump from everything to awe-inspiring shred runs, cold tremolo picked lines and crushingly heavy death metal riffs. While the guitars definitely steal the show, every other aspect of the music is more than solid as well; the bass is audible and carries a great tone, not only backing the guitars but also showing off some great licks of its own as well. The drums are as tight as the Virgin Mary, going from furious blast-beats to thrashy double bass work with ease, always performing creative fills and patterns to make for the perfect transition. Vocally Tom Stevens is great when it comes to performing perfect black metal vocals as well as powerful, dirty gutturals. Like in a lot of modern black/death, the contrasting vocal styles are layered quite a bit, a time tested technique that may have seen its beginnings around this time. Mind-bogglingly complex, Nothing But Hatred may have been Nokturnel's first album but its quality is equal to that of a band three times their age. With material like this, they seemingly would've ruled the extreme metal scene. Maybe too ahead of its time or perhaps just due to poor circumstance, Nothing But Hatred is another diamond in rough from the glorious 90's death metal era.



Recent reviews by this author
Black Beasts IIAzarath Blasphemers' Maledictions
Doth Datura WrightiiCara Neir Sublimation Therapy
Asphyx The RackOf Mice and Men The Flood
user ratings (10)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
March 24th 2011



17184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well initially I was going to post this as a sound off but sputnik said "hey fuck you man, it's too long for that shit, why don't you just write a review?" but y'know guys, I don't feel like it, so REVIEW THIS, 8----D !



Also, this album really is a classic.

Digging: vhmnt / blsphm - vhmnt / blsphm

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2011



16134 Comments


Yeah, dl'ed this from PtC. Gonna listen later tonight. Nice write-up.

recommended by reviewer
my dick your mouth


Lol. Choice.

YetAnotherBrick
March 24th 2011



4396 Comments


Good review. "Tight as the Virgin Mary" hahaha

I've never heard of this band/album, I guess I should check it out.

Mewcopa0
March 24th 2011



1799 Comments


Just got this. Will listen.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2011



18058 Comments


Just started listening to this a second ago.

Digging: Huerco S - Colonial Patterns

TheSpirit
March 24th 2011



17184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hope you guys all enjoy it!

Hawks
March 24th 2011



34582 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn never heard of this, but it must be pretty awesome if you gave it a 5. Gonna check this out for sure.

Digging: Equilibrium - Erdentempel

TheSpirit
March 24th 2011



17184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

do it bro

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2011



16263 Comments


Nice soundoff ;). Have this downloaded but have yet to listen

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

Wizard
March 25th 2011



19239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

AllMusic Review take #1

I just got it. To be fair, this is perfect example of how to do a short review and justify your 5 rating. I'm already downloading this.

Digging: Cloak of Altering - Plague Beasts

TheSpirit
March 25th 2011



17184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Karl, much appreciated

Wizard
March 28th 2011



19239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, this pretty much rules my face. 'Final Punishment' has moments of "holy fucking shit" and is the centerpiece of the album. I would say this album sways more towards thrash than anything else.

TheSpirit
March 28th 2011



17184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad you enjoyed it! I was kinda nervous slapping the classic rating on it but I'm glad others are (mostly) sharing my opinion on it.

MunsuLight
April 4th 2011



551 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Is it normal that the production is so bad ! The riff are magnificent but it would be good to hear them more. And fuck the drums for 1993 stuff is sure hell fast

ShadowRemains
April 4th 2011



20249 Comments


this will be heard by my aural receptors

MunsuLight
April 4th 2011



551 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

More I listen to all the songs, I think this sounds like Slayer on steroids with more variation in their riffs and more technicality too and a different vocal delivery. I still prefer Nocturnus's The Key over this (just saying it because Nocturnus was fucking ahead of their time like this band is).

TheSpirit
April 5th 2011



17184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't really think it sounds very much like Slayer pretty much for the exact reasons you listed it sounded like them...

Also, I don't really think the production is bad really, there is much worse production jobs for the time.

MunsuLight
April 7th 2011



551 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I was just trying to find some type of comparison, but no one came. If I say some deathtrash band will it be better? I don't think so.

For the production, I have 320 kps and it sounds shit so low compared to almost everything in my library. Amazing stuff nonetheless

TheSpirit
April 7th 2011



17184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed

MunsuLight
April 7th 2011



551 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Do you know some albums of kinda the "same type"?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy