Born of Osiris
The Discovery


4.5
superb

Review

by demonhunterlive USER (1 Reviews)
March 24th, 2011 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A recommendation to every metal head out there, you simply can’t miss this one. A unique gem in this overdone/ generic genre.

I remember Born of Osiris, when they first caught my attention with abstract art and i liked it that very moment, since that day Born of Osiris has really come a long way, growing as a band with a mature sound.

I was very curious about this record, and by all means this is the discovery of Born of Osiris. It’s really amazing to hear the difference in a band in just one record.
Now coming straight to the album, The biggest difference that comes to mind, even before giving this album a listen is the length. It is 15 tracks long album which usually a scary sign for me, however for this album it really becomes a strong point. Every song has a distinct sound and stands for itself .
When it comes to the overall sound and feel of the album the answer would be “Fresh”. Born of Osiris has really worked hard on song structures making this album more progressive, melodic and versatile at the same time.

Cameron Losch has been the back bone of this band and once again he delivers the expected “mind blowing” performance on the drums, throughout the album he unleashes impeccable brutality.
Joe Buras with his keys is one guy that stands out on this record, he was good earlier and now he is amazing. Delivering versatile and yet memorable solos that literally drill down your brain.
One can clearly hear the hard work that Ronnie Canizaro has put into his vocals, he has a better vocal range now and there is clarity in his growls.
And Joe Buras’s backing vocal create magic when mixed with Ronnie Canizaro’s, giving us a total insane vocal dosage.
The biggest difference comes from Lee McKinney and Jason R. Richardson, in my opinion they alone have affected the sound of Born of Osiris more than any one else. There is more shredding and catchy solos with a lot of depth, unlike before. And it’s a big step for them in the right direction.

And yes! there are Breakdowns here and there, so feel free to bring down the house. The real good thing about these breakdowns is that they are never overdone and every one of them has a unique sound.

The drawbacks in this album, or you can say the things that stops it from being flawless are :-
1) The unnecessary addition of ambient/melodious tracks, which wasn’t required, as they clearly don’t fit in with the flow of the album.
2) The album loses some of its Grip towards the end( just my opinion).

Tracks:-
"Follow the Signs" - 10/10
"Sigularity" - 8/10
"Ascension" - 10/10
"Devastate" - 9/10
"Recreate" - 9/10
"Two Worlds of Design" - 10/10
"A Solution" - 7/10
"Shaping the Masterpiece" - 8/10
"Dissimulation" - 9/10
"Automatic Motion" - 9/10
"The Omniscient" - 9/10
"Last Straw" - 7/10
"Regenerate" - 8/10
"XIV" - 6/10
“Behold’ - 8/10

A recommendation to every metal head out there, you simply can’t miss this one.


user ratings (1381)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
MetalTrashMad (4)
A well crafted album full of technical instruments and good production,its a true sign that the band...

Funeral (2)
Quite an ascension alright....

04rumbola (3)
An unexpected surprise, Born of Osiris have finally come into their own with a strong focus on atmos...

climactic (4)
Quite an ascension indeed...


Comments:Add a Comment 
pillowswantyoursoul
March 24th 2011


923 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Review needs work. It sounds fanboyish too often and the descriptions you use for the instrumental
sides are both cringe worthy and not really in depth enough.

"A classic unique gem in this overdone and generic genre."

lol

demonhunterlive
March 24th 2011


11 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

thanx 4 the feedback, will be less fanbboyish next time. it was my first review so i guess ill improve next time, however i really enjoyed this album and cause except a few bands like the faceless and few more to name all this genre gives you is rubbish, so i might have got carried away a bit.

Thanx once again for pointing out the flaws will definitely improvise, after all a review should reach out to everyone and no matter how much one loves a band the review should never sound biased.
I guess i learnt my lesson.



promiseswept
March 24th 2011


846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

don't use "thanx" or "4," actually type shit out on here

promiseswept
March 24th 2011


846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and behold is epic wtf

promiseswept
March 24th 2011


846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

try to stay away from using the word brutality either, and merge paragraphs a little more in the future. decent review, won't neg or pos though

MO
March 24th 2011


19078 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Some awkward wording, ex: "The biggest difference that comes to ones notice", just say the biggest difference that comes to mind.



North0House2
March 24th 2011


5889 Comments


So, judging by the summary, it would be uncomfortable to sleep on a CD? I mean, I guess it would be hard and rather uncomfortable, CD's are certainly not as nice to sleep on as pillows.

Digging: BRNS - Patine

demonhunterlive
March 24th 2011


11 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"you cant sleep on this one" is way to say " you should't miss it "
i guess iam using some awkward wordings , ill keep it simple next time

MrButterfingers
March 24th 2011


80 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

XIV/behold is so goddamn epicccccccccccccccc

MrButterfingers
March 24th 2011


80 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The guitar work has improved dramatically.

demonhunterlive
March 24th 2011


11 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks everyone for your feedback, done some changes. i guess its o.k now

actually i didn't knew i could edit my reviews LOL!!!

North0House2
March 24th 2011


5889 Comments


""you cant sleep on this one" is way to say " you should't miss it "
i guess iam using some awkward wordings , ill keep it simple next time"

Lol, I know, I was being sarcastic.

demonhunterlive
March 24th 2011


11 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

My bad bro! it seems this improvising thing has got to my head.

God! where is my sense of humor!!!!!!!!!!!! AWHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!

CHILZZZZZZZZZZ

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 24th 2011


7127 Comments


Wow [2]

Scoot
March 24th 2011


17914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"Now coming straight to the album, The biggest difference that comes to mind even before giving this album a listen is the length , it is 15 tracks long album which usually a scary sign for me, however for this album it really becomes a strong point, every song has a distinct sound and stands for itself ."

not one sentence

Digging: Renounced - The Melancholy We Ache

ButcheredChildren
March 24th 2011


5590 Comments


ahahahaha, I got a good kick out of this

Scoot
March 24th 2011


17914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

unleashing impeccable brutality

North0House2
March 24th 2011


5889 Comments


Br00tal.

Apollo
March 24th 2011


10373 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

album has really grown off me

ButcheredChildren
March 24th 2011


5590 Comments


album is boring, except for Behold which they should release as a single



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy