Typhoon (USA-OR)
Hunger and Thirst


4.0
excellent

Review

by Ryan Fitz USER (32 Reviews)
March 23rd, 2011 | 27 replies | 10,778 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Summaries are difficult to write, listening to this is not.

7 of 8 thought this review was well written

The smallest town in America is Buford, Wyoming. It sits on top of a hill and consists of a quaint little house and a surprisingly well cared for gas station. It has a vibrant population of 1 person. The man apparently packed all his belongings and moved to Buford to discover that everyone had left…Talk about awkward. Typhoon, on the other hand consists of 11 people, making it 11 times larger than Buford. On certain dates (large concerts, mass orgies, Christmas) they can be up to 21 times larger than Buford. They do not own a gas station. They do however have three guitarists, two violinist, two trumpeters, a keyboardist, a couple of trombonists, two fiddlers, two drummers, a suspicious guy who stands in the corner and shakes maracas’, and a variety of other musicians who have nothing better to do with their lives than join an ostensibly large indie folk band.

Of course, unlike 1-person towns, large indie bands are no longer the anomaly they used to be. Ranging anywhere from the pop band I’m From Barcelona, to the vast assembly of musicians used by Sufjan Stevens, if 11 member bands have ever been a gimmick, the gimmick has run stale. Typhoon, initially, doesn’t sound anything different from the formulaic indie orchestra either: With female back up singers; mass sing alongs, emotionally drenched strings, and celebratory horns splattered all over. The album even has the traditional intermission, and the short 1-minute gang-vocal medley just for masturbatory kicks

Although Typhoon does practice all the “used-to-be-awesome” cliché’s of the niche, this record is not a standard practice of popular conventions. Typhoon is a surprisingly mature band for its young age, and while it’s easy for records like this to feel bloated, Hunger And Thirst is everything but. Typhoon practices a great deal of restriction in these sets of songs, often trading in turgid joyful explosions for soul and discipline instead. There are many times in this album where all that is heard is the strumming of the acoustic guitar and restrained percussions. Don’t get me wrong, the climax’s are here, and every musician has apt opportunities to play, but the peaks are often short and to the point, wasting no time in delivering their purpose and fading away.

Let’s not be misunderstood here, when I say “restricted” I by no means am saying that Typhoon is just “***ing lame”. On the contrary, the song “White Liars” has enough Latino flavor to propel you to invade a small Spanish speaking country. And have you ever heard 21 people sing at once in a folk song? It’s legitimately the coolest thing since Sufjan Stevens decided he wasn’t ***ing around. “Body Of Love” might have as much Tiger Blood as Charlie Sheen does (whatever that means). And proclaiming “I want to live but I don’t want to live” with lead singer, Kyle Morton, will make you feel like that tortured hero you always wanted to feel like. Not to mention that when it comes down to it, Kyle Morton would be downright captivating if it was just him and a guitar. The fact that he has 20 musicians behind him, well not even a supersized McDonald's value meal beats that.

The album does have its weak spots. “Happy People” in particular, while pleasant, is just not a memorable song. And yes, despite the restrictive nature being a positive overall, there are times when you wish the album were just a touch more bombastic. But in the end, Hunger and Thirst is a promising record from a ridiculously promising band. Which is a lot more than I can say for that ***ty town of Buford.



Recent reviews by this author
The Antlers FamiliarsJohn Mark McMillan Borderland
Manchester Orchestra CopeSigur Ros Kveikur
Linkin Park Living ThingsLost In The Trees A Church That Fits Our Needs
user ratings (43)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Jacob Hampton (5)
If they so remember you, then something else will certainly get forgotten....


Comments:Add a Comment 
letsgofishing
March 23rd 2011



900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok, here's the rundown. Check out this EPIC performance
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQSKVHWz9w4

and then when you pick your jaw off the floor, stream the album
herehttp://tenderlovingempire.bandcamp.com/album/hunger-and-thirst

If you're really bored, learn more about Buford here
http://micah.typepad.com/dogears_wrinkles/2010/09/the-smallest-town-in-america.html



iFghtffyrdmns
March 23rd 2011



7047 Comments


haha nice read man, I was laughing most of the time. Why so much hate on Buford though? Hater.

other notable 11-piece indie bands (plus or minus three, given the occasion):
Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros
Emanuel & The Fear

when I'm done listening to this pop punk that Hep Kat apparently thinks is the coolest stuff ever, I'll check this out.

Blindsided
March 23rd 2011



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So this sounds pretty bombtastic.
Awesome review btw.
Also the video you posted is nuts.

letsgofishing
March 24th 2011



900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, isn't it? I've been watching that performance all day.

Thank you both for the compliments...

PS. Why so much hate on Buford? Absolutely No entertainment. What the hell am I suppose to do in a gas station?

lancebramsay
March 24th 2011



1585 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review - pos'd

I'm listening now, sounds pretty awesome.

Although Typhoon does practice all the “used-to-be-awesome” cliché’s of the niche, a standard practice of the conventional for the non-conventional this record is not.


This sentence is really awkward though. Not sure if I understand it at all...

letsgofishing
March 24th 2011



900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, that was me trying to be too clever. Sorry about that. Should work a lot better now. Thanks man.


lancebramsay
March 24th 2011



1585 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a standard practice of the conventional this record is not.
Unless you are Bill Shakespeare I wouldn't recommend phrasing a sentence like this. It's still confusing and awkward. Just say something like:

they still aren't restrained by these conventional ideals.
or something along those lines.

letsgofishing
March 25th 2011



900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Honestly, that's a sentence structure I've used quite a lot, obviously doesn't mean it's right. It might just be an
unchecked flaw run rampant. I'm flooded with college shit right now, but I'll play with that paragraph when I'm done...



FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
March 31st 2011



9033 Comments


I'll neg this review- too much irrelevant detail and too little is said about the music itself. Your
first two paragraphs could honestly be one sentence.

letsgofishing
March 31st 2011



900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ha Ha, but your's was written for no reason, said absolutely nothing about the album, and this actually made
people laugh. Also, I believe this review clearly describes the bands sound.

So, listen, if you want to go on a hissy fit because no one liked your "joke" review, go ahead. But personally,
I think this review is kick ass. Not perfect any means, but kick ass.

PS. BTW- I never neg'd that review :P


lancebramsay
April 1st 2011



1585 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll neg this review for the same reason you negged mine- too much irrelevant detail and too little is said about the music itself. Your first two paragraphs could honestly be one sentence.

The first 2 paragraphs can't be one sentence, that is why they are two whole paragraphs. The second paragraph does discuss the album. In fact, the entire review does an easily adequate job of reviewing the album in detail. You should be taking notes instead of throwing some immature tantrum.

JustTaylor
April 3rd 2011



41 Comments


Fun review and great album. The new E.P picks up where this album left off in a big way.

SloppyMilkshake
April 3rd 2011



981 Comments


lol @ Rage negs.


letsgofishing
April 3rd 2011



900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I thought the E.P sauntered off a bit at the end (hence, why I reviewed this instead)...but the first 2 songs on that
E.P are the band at it's best. I'm excited for where this band is headed.

thanks for the POS by the way

thatoneguy726
July 8th 2011



1632 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm extremely upset that this hasn't attracted more attention than this on here. I'll probably end up 5'ing it and reviewing.

thatoneguy726
August 2nd 2011



1632 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't know what else to do. Here's another desperate double comment. People need to check out this baaaaaaaaaaaand.

Scoot
August 2nd 2011



17713 Comments


jesus fine i'll check it out get up off your knees

thatoneguy726
August 2nd 2011



1632 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

good! haha, It's just a matter of keeping the comments alive. I hate when I find music I love and hope will spread around here, then everyone stops commenting and it drowns for at least a year till a random new user who loves the band comes along. 'Tis now or never

thatoneguy726
September 7th 2011



1632 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Flip! WHY does nobody check out this band ever?!

letsgofishing
September 7th 2011



900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They are pretty flipping awesome. I endorse what the obsessed guy says.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy