White Moth
White Moth


4.5
superb

Review

by PostModernJellyfish USER (2 Reviews)
March 23rd, 2011 | 9 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Like a Pollock abstract taking musical form.

October 2010 was marked by the unveiling of White Moth's new self titled album. R. Loren, the master- mind behind other projects like Pyramids and Sailors With Wax Wings, is also at the head of this project, as well.

Like Pyramids, White Moth utilize the same complexities and ambience in their music. However, mixes of hardcore, electronica, black metal, grindcore, and even some traces hip-hop can be found throughout the course of this album. Much of the musical variation in White Moth has to do mostly with R. Loren's choices in line-up. Colin Marston from black metal outfit Krallice, Alec Empire from Atari Teenage Riot, and Frodus' own Shelby Cinca are just some of the guest stars in the ever-expansive line-up.

Electro-hardcore opener, "There was a Man with Tongue of Wood" segues from a minute-long ambient drone to a series of catchy hardcore riffs couples with crazy synth samples. The vocals for this song and much of the whole album are hard to digest. In its defense, though, their indiscernible series of shrieks and moans makes the atmosphere seem, as a whole, more exciting and more accessible.

"The Sea was Blue Meadow" combines guitar riffs that could slay mythical beasts, chaotic C.O.C-esque vocalisation, and crazy ass samples to create a daring, yet strangely appealing, orchestra of creativity. However, the thing that sort of takes away from the album is that damn near every track ends with the ambient drone. It was pretty neat the first few songs, but it felt like something more could've been added at the last minute and a half of the song; something other than that drone.

But in the end, the album is fantastic. Bottom Line. There are so many different musical and technological elements that come together perfectly in this album; like a Pollock abstract taking musical form.


user ratings (9)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
AlexTM510
March 23rd 2011


1403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

geez how many projects does this guy have

i will check this out, he does very interesting things with his projects-primarily how the reverb and ambience are more intense than the actual songs themselves (if that makes sense).

clips sounded interesting i will be checking this out

nice short review

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

PostModernJellyfish
March 23rd 2011


459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thank ya kindly, my friend. This one of my first reviews, but glad you enjoyed it.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 24th 2011


7097 Comments


nice sounding review and not at all bad for a first couple, but more depth please, please? But because the context so far is good ill give a pos.

PostModernJellyfish
March 24th 2011


459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'm working on my review-writing skills. With *a bit of time and some witty comparisons I think could excel....maybe.

*bit of time=hell of a lot of time.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 24th 2011


7097 Comments


would you like a few topics that you might like to use in your reviews?

The Production- Is the production of a quality value or poor value?, how is it good/bad? Can you hear each instrument/sound clearly?

Instrumentally- Does each musician/composer know what hes/shes doing? Does it contribute to your opinions of the effort?





PostModernJellyfish
March 24th 2011


459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks for the suggestions, dude. I'll be sure to write them down so I have an idea of what to write next time.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 24th 2011


7097 Comments


You just got to sure you back up the point of your opinions. Have the opinion and explain why.

hesperus
March 29th 2011


185 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad someone reviewed this. It's a bit short, and I agree with IpodMastery about backing up your opinions, but overall it's a good review. Enjoy your pos.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2011


7097 Comments


what ever you put up on this site you must back it up, even if someone does not like your opinion as long as you back it up fairly and strongly you will have less of a problem.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy