Born of Osiris
The Discovery


3.0
good

Review

by 04rumbola USER (1 Reviews)
March 22nd, 2011 | 157 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An unexpected surprise, Born of Osiris have finally come into their own with a strong focus on atmospheric ambience and complex lead work.

I didn’t expect to be writing this review today. I’ve got two important exams tomorrow, and a hell of a lot of college work to be getting on with. Add to that the fact that I torrented this album last night more as a last resort than anything else, expecting it to be a quick disappoint-and-delete job.

Born of Osiris started out playing their own brand of technical deathcore notable for melodic keyboard interludes - a breath of fresh air but nothing spectacular, especially in terms of musicmanship. Fan or not, there’s no denying that the chugging breakdowns which probably constitute half of their 20-minute debut album The New Reign require very little talent. The production was below par, and despite occasional flairs of originality, it quickly grew old for me.

They made the transition on their second album, A Higher Place, to full-on harmonic minor metal, but seemed to lose themselves along the way. Gone were the breakdowns, but gone also were the innovative flairs that attracted me to them in the first place, that kept me listening through all that drop C chug. It seemed to be a sterile, playing-it-safe release, and it came as a huge disappointment to most of their fans.

Listening to The Discovery, it’s as if there’s been a complete line-up change. All of a sudden, the guitars sound rich and full of depth, not tinny and thin like on their previous releases. That’s NOT just due to their transition to 7-strings, either - the lead tone’s just as great. The vocals have probably changed the least - they’re similar to those on A Higher Place, but again better produced, with far fewer whiney shrieks and more powerful gutterals. The drumming has all the flair of their first album, but again is more tasteful (not constant, excessively loud, blind double bass kicking) – think George Kollias with fewer blast beats.
The guitar work shows the most improvement, however. I was blown away. From a guitarist who struggled to play their own (not incredibly difficult) songs live, solos reminiscent of Jeff Loomis (or Malmsteen in his heyday) are now inspersed throughout the album, complimenting the frequent ambient keyboard and techno sections (reminiscent of those in Periphery’s self-titled debut album) rather than detracting from the final piece. They effortlessly weave a complex web of uplifting melodic melodies, mysterious-sounding interludes and balls-to-the-walls brutal metal, incorporating the experimentation of their first album with a new focus on ambient sections.


user ratings (1372)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
MetalTrashMad (4)
A well crafted album full of technical instruments and good production,its a true sign that the band...

Funeral (2)
Quite an ascension alright....

demonhunterlive (4.5)
A recommendation to every metal head out there, you simply can’t miss this one. A unique gem in th...

climactic (4)
Quite an ascension indeed...


Comments:Add a Comment 
04rumbola
March 22nd 2011


19 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"An unexpected surprise, Born of Osiris have finally come into their own with this astonishing release. With a strong focus on atmospheric ambience and complex lead work, this album should appeal to any musician, transcending the normal limits of a genre plagued by genericism and strong, clichéd stereotypes."

asdemonsburn
March 22nd 2011


793 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Another Sumerian album overrated by the 18 year old Spuntnikmusic fanbase? NO.

This is nothing close to a masterpiece. This band still can't write riffs, the back-up vocalist (keyboardist) needs to SHUT THE HELL UP for a second, and the pro tools electronic parts are trendy filler.

The main reason this sounds a lot better is the new lead guitarist. He is definitely one of the better lead guitarists in commercial metal today but he just improved what BOO did well before him - write good leads.



cjgone
March 22nd 2011


767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Better or worse than Planetary Duality by the Faceless?

Rev
March 22nd 2011


9437 Comments


So this is good?

asdemonsburn
March 22nd 2011


793 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol, definitely worse. The Faceless are better in pretty much every way except maybe flashy soloing.

Apollo
March 22nd 2011


10336 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Review is too personal and contains too much filler but it's pretty good for a second. Surprised how much I like this. Definitely going to drop my rating though. It's more like a 3-3.5. Bloc is gonna eat this shit up.

Rev
March 22nd 2011


9437 Comments


Well if Apollo likes it then it's at least worth a listen

Apollo
March 22nd 2011


10336 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Rev, I'm surprised you said that!

jarheadchad
March 22nd 2011


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm in the process of writing my own review of this album. I agree with the above review, but it
simply lacks insight into specifics. Also the production is total shit on this album. The New Reign
has nigh perfect production thanks to Michael Keene of The Faceless, as well as a VERY bassy tone
(providing ~85% of the bass on the album), so I'm really confused as to what this "tinny and thin"
tone is you're referring to. They have a very trebly, "tinny" djent tone on this album, but it
sounds like utter crap compared to Misha's 3-song EP he produced for them a few months ago (all 3
songs appear on "The Discovery", just with shittier production).
NOTE THAT IS SUPPOSED TO BE A 4, BUT SINCE I'M A FUCKTARD I PUT A 5 (???). I seriously didn't mean
to, I gave it much thought and deemed it a 4 because of production, otherwise it would have been a
4.5. Certainly not a 5, though, they sorta screwed themselves with the electronic breaks that go
literally nowhere. One of them doesn't even build up, it just IS. For about 1:30 too long.

cvlts
March 22nd 2011


8967 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it was surprisingly good. definitely not a 4.5

a 4 might be stretchin it, but it might be if it continues to rock.

Apollo
March 22nd 2011


10336 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

lmfao ^

a 5 dude? really?

cvlts
March 22nd 2011


8967 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

man, FUCK Opeth

BOO BABY!

climactic
March 22nd 2011


19403 Comments


production is absolute fucking shit on this album

5 FUCKING STARS MOTHERFUCKER

Rev
March 22nd 2011


9437 Comments


FUCK YEAH CLASSIC STATUS

Apollo
March 22nd 2011


10336 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

NOT A 5 LOL

also dante that wasn't at you obvs. Dropped my rating.

climactic
March 22nd 2011


19403 Comments


solid 4 imo. guitar is blowing me away. starting my review

Illusionsx
March 22nd 2011


95 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Love this

cvlts
March 22nd 2011


8967 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

3.5

jarheadchad
March 22nd 2011


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Ooops... I meant to put a 4! WTF? And it would be a 4.5 without the hindrance of shit production. Can you change that? Fuck.

Illusionsx
March 22nd 2011


95 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

there is a change button



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy