Hypocrisy
Hypocrisy


5.0
classic

Review

by Dethtrasher USER (232 Reviews)
November 11th, 2005 | 101 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist


Hypocrisy – Hypocrisy

Album Information
This is the swedish death-metal trio’s self-titled album which is known to be one great album, and I have to agree. Tägtgren continues to deliver more and more improvements in his vocals and guitar playing. The songs is very different from one to another, some people think that some fragments of the songs sounds like Iron Maiden, one of the greatest heavy-metal bands of all time.

The Line Up
Peter Tägtgren – vocals/guitars
Mikael Hedlund – bass
Lars Szöke – drums

Track Information

Fractured Millenium
Starts with opera effects, similar to Nightwish and later the band kicks in. A yell scream from Tägtgren which uses screaming vocals. Simple drumming and moderate riffing plus the classic ¨Hypocrisy chanting ¨ in the background makes this song to a great opener to the album. Incredible soloing by the way. 4.5/5

Apocalyptic Hybrid
A very intensive song with mixed vocals such as growls and screams. Great drumming but the guitars may sound a bit odd compared to the bands previous work. From my part I don’t think this is a good song because of the high-speed drumming and high-pitched solos but there are sections that is really catchy. A weak 4/5

Fusion Programmed Minds
Slow distorted riffs which explodes into a heavy triplet riffing song. This is one of the songs which has been considered to be Iron Maidish and I have to agree. It sounds like I.M except the vocals which is furious screams. Great swedish death-metal! 5/5

Elastic Inverted Vision
Starts with melodic and beautiful acoustics that really touches your inner emotions. The vocals is somewhat a mix between screams and opera without harmonics. Superb riffing and solos plus that Tägtgren really sings in this song which is not so common in other songs. The fading chanting in the back is also included here. Another great song from the swedish death-trio. 5/5

Reversed Reflections
The vocals here is very similar as in the song before. The song turns up in pace a bit to quick, the galloping riffs does not fit perfect with the song structure at some times. Moderate tempo and the vocals is great even for those that haven’t heard this band. 4/5

Until The End
Starts with a fading riff and a semi-acoustics along with the drums, the guitars has not the catchy tune as in many other songs. The vocals sure is something different compared to their earlier materials. The song in general sounds kind of depressing and lonely but I’m affraid that the vocals is less than good in this song. 3.5/5

Paranormal Mysteria
Sad sounding riffs opens this track and later becomes a very power-metallic influenced song and/or gothic. Here is the screaming vocals dominating and the raw guitar sound. The slow fade riffs is reversed to intensive triplets but the song does not sound catchy. 3.5/5

Time Warp
A high-speed song, I think this is one of their fastest song yet. The vocals that is heard in the beginning oddly sounds like a NU-metal vocalist from another band which is bad but the classic screams is also included. Double bass and intensive, heavy guitars makes this song to a pretty good one. 4/5

Disconnected Magnetic Corridors
Sounds like a classic ballad a la Hypocrisy, the sad and hopeless tune in the song makes very good and harmonic and relaxing. The vocals is a good example of Tägtgrens finest vocal moments. ¨The end is closing in¨ is an example of the lyrics from this song and it is not a love song if I say so. Good song to end this great album. 4.5/5

Pros
-Great vocals
-Great guitars

Cons
-The bass is sadly faded away by the guitars
-To few songs

I am not a dedicated death-metal fan but this album really got stuck on my mind, this is a great album but I think it had that much I.M sound in it. I can recommend this album to any death-metal fan but for those that don’t like this genre to much I could recommend Fusion Programmed Minds and Elastic Inverted Vision. If you come across this album buy it, this is a good example of great swedish death-metal. Final album rating: 5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth DamnationFleshcrawl Made of Flesh
Sear Lamentations of DestructionTormented Rotten Death
War (swe) We Are...Total WarCrucified Barbara Til Death Do Us Party
user ratings (192)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Seth T. White (Cravinov13) (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ocelot-05
November 11th 2005


807 Comments


You're probably one of the most prolific reviewers on this site. Forgive me for saying this, but this review seemed a little bit rushed. I could be wrong. Tell me otherwise. It was still a good review, though, just kinda hasty.

Dethtrasher
November 11th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I hope that you are not pissed off Cravinov13 because that I reviewed this album that you where going to.

I found it on the internet and I listened through it and found out that the songs were really great.

You can of course review it too but I wasen't doing the review to get you mad or something, hope you like the review!

Dethtrasher
November 11th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

If you have a problem with my reviews, I don't care! This is my style of writing a review and anyone is welcome to send comments if there is someting that has to be fixed.

I always listen to the whole album and then review it, if I really like the band I may review in a short time but I usually listen to the album a few times before I review it.

ocelot-05
November 11th 2005


807 Comments


Dethraser, don't be so defensive. I didn't say anything like "This review sucks." I didn't even say it was bad. On the contrary, it is quite informative. I just said it seemed a little bit rushed, and it something you can listen to and improve upon, or ignore. I was only trying to help by giving a tad of constructive criticism, but if you don't care then fine.

Dethtrasher
November 11th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Ok sorry, I guess that's just because that alot of my earlier reviews does not have any feedback, ratings or no comments at all, and I haven't been able to do any progress in my writing.

I'm a scandinavian and my english may be very simple so I not so good to use english words as much as my mother-language.

Peace?

ocelot-05
November 11th 2005


807 Comments


Peace, but there was no war to begin with. :cool:

NEDM
November 11th 2005


1113 Comments


Not that bad of a review Deth. I'm not into Death Metal though, but I thought this one deserved a read from me.

You get my vote on terms that this is one of your better reviews.

Cravinov13
November 12th 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Not a problem Dethtrasher. The review kicks @$$.

Arrakakaka
November 17th 2005


685 Comments


What are these guys? Melodic death? Gothenburg?

Dethtrasher
November 18th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I don't know really, they are not Guthenburg and they don't play melodic stuff.

Peter was inspired by the Florida death-metal so I would say that these guys play old-school death-metal with a modern sound.This Message Edited On 11.18.05

Jondur
November 18th 2005


92 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't think it's old-school in any way. The first Hypocisy album "Penetralia" was pure Morbid Angel but since "Abducted" they haven't sounded anything like that.

I always find Hypocrisy to be second-rate. They have a few songs but none of the twisted genius that marks out the genre's leading lights.

Dethtrasher
November 18th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

As I said. I didn't know what kind of death-metal they play. Thanks for correcting me.

Storm In A Teacup
November 18th 2005


13191 Comments


Alright reviewThis Message Edited On 11.18.05

Dethtrasher
November 25th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

No offense OCELOT but your avatars or profile-pictures whatever is just getting worse

Cravinov13
November 25th 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Actually Dethtrasher, you are wrong, Hypocrisy is probably one of the most purist forms of Goathenburg Death metal. From album to album they change styles from Grind Death, Melodic Death, Deathcore, and even a blend of Black Metal and Death, but they are Goatheburg Metal as theya re from Sweden and play Swedish Metal.

Dethtrasher
November 25th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I am FROM SWEDEN and I have read about this band, I thought that they played a more extreme and less melodic death-metal compared to other bands. (I have though not heard so much Gothenburg except In Flames etc...)

Gothenburg/death-metal is more melodic ACCORDING to the information I have found. And I had didn't have a clue what type of death-metal they played when I answered ¨Unstable Minds¨ comment.

But thanks for letting me know for sure.

Cravinov13
November 25th 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Oh, sorry, didn't know that. No, melody doesn't havn't to be vocally, Hypocrisy is extremly melodic musically, especially in The Arrival and Virus, and even this CD.

Dethtrasher
November 25th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I think that they are melodic in their ballady-stuff, otherwise I think that they are very great metal-musicians.

It really is enjoyable to hear the progress of the band when you listen to their earlier stuff compared to their present material.

Cravinov13
November 25th 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, they wen tdownhill for awhile, After the self-titled, anyways. Doesn't mean it wasn't bad, they just didn't seem to make anything that compared to this album. That was, until Virus came in, and that's why I gave it a classic rating, it was Hypocrisy's big comback.

Dethtrasher
November 27th 2005


2211 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Ever heard of a swedish death-metal band named ¨Mercyless¨? I bought one CD of that band and I listen to it one or two times and I haven't listen to that CD for two or three years now.

Should I do a track-by-track or should I go on with the other reviewing style instead?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy