Lucy
Wordplay For Working Bees


4.5
superb

Review

by Adash USER (43 Reviews)
March 18th, 2011 | 25 replies | 5,706 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist


3 of 3 thought this review was well written

It’s undoubtedly a good thing that most people don’t judge artists solely by their name, otherwise no one would have listened to The Beatles or GY!BE and artists called Lucy would be better off not releasing music at all. Thankfully, at least part of humanity is willing to let the music do the talking, and for good reason; when it comes to this unassuming debut at least, the return on your aural investment is massive.

Wordplay for Working Bees is a vast, expansive canvas; a melancholy twilight of somnolent synths sprawled across a dark landscape, surrounded by the echoing whirlwinds of indistinct and indefinable voices that swirl through the aural ether. These fragments of dark and disturbing monologues and conversations, coupled with the chilling ambience that Lucy conjures up, imbue much of the album with a disconcerting air, one that genuinely makes for an alluringly frightening experience.

The true strength of the music, however, is evident once one delves beneath the icy obsidian surface, to where the shadowy mechanisms of sound lurk unseen in the darkness. Here it becomes most evident that Wordplay is nothing less than a meticulously crafted work of art, one where layer upon layer of dense and gorgeous sound has been welded together to form an immense behemoth of intelligible noise.

Lucy has the uncanny ability to weave a dark, enthralling web of sound that can pass from astonishingly blasé to crushingly intense in a matter of seconds. The astounding Gas, with its morose, droning synths and morbid whispers, twists and coils around your ears like a serpent around its prey; sinuous, deadly and utterly terrifying.

Many of the tracks feature off-kilter beats that stagger as if drunk; Lav clatters like an overloaded steam train through the night, polyrhythmic percussion clashing in the darkness. All the while, the gentlest brushstrokes diffuse tiny splashes of rain and wind over the surroundings, permeating the music with a heartbreakingly human pulse. Indeed, it is the way that raw power is integrated so subtly with pure beauty that elevates Wordplay to another dimension; the raindrops that patter over Mas are so agonizingly exquisite to the ears that it’s almost unbearable.

Lucy’s programming ability is second to none, an elegant ballet that melds melody and rhythm into an intoxicating dance, a genuine hurricane of turbulent emotion that emanates from a dark, discordant stage with almost supernatural precision. His skill in mixing cold electronics and soulful ambience rivals that of Monolake; both are utterly accomplished in creating dark, enchanting masterpieces that threaten to burst into bloom at any moment. This is one such creature; although its skeleton may be that of cold metal, its heart is human and buzzing with an overwhelming life force of almost irrepressible vitality. Wordplay for Working Bees is sublime, beguiling and totally, utterly irresistible.



Recent reviews by this author
Autechre ExaiVladislav Delay Vantaa
Pinch and Shackleton Pinch and ShackletonOneohtrix Point Never Replica
Patten GLAQJO XAACSOMatthew Herbert One Pig
user ratings (9)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Adash
March 18th 2011



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First album I've heard in ages that deserved a review; all you Nicholas Jaarheads should like this

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 18th 2011



6007 Comments


excellently written, have a pos.

separate the 3rd and the 4th paragraph.

i will check this.

Digging: Troldhaugen - Obzkure Anekdotez For Maniakal Massez

DoubtGin
March 18th 2011



6749 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Space Is Only Noise is probably my favourite album of 2011 so far

will listen

Adash
March 18th 2011



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

much obliged Voivod

I'd say Space edges this out by a bit, but only because this is based on techno and Space is based on secret moon runes

Yotimi
March 26th 2011



6472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Want this but can't find it

Digging: Millie and Andrea - Drop The Vowels

Zettel
March 31st 2011



590 Comments


I listened to some songs, but they failed to grab my attention. I may reconsider listening to this; it is not the first time I misjudge an album. Glad to see you reviewing again. Electronic music does not get enough love.

Adash
April 1st 2011



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As usual, much obliged. Having a phase at the moment where I don't feel passionate enough about recent albums to review them, this being the exception. (Tesseract's One being the failed experiment : )

Hopefully I've got the ball rolling again

Zettel
May 5th 2011



590 Comments


I am glad I gave this a second chance. It is a very good record, and it is prove that some albums are meant to be heard in its entirety to be really appreciated. I still feel it has two or three very weak tracks, but is overall strong.

I do not get the Nicholas Jaar comparison, though.

Adash
May 10th 2011



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Musically you are right, not similar at all. But the vibes and the overall atmosphere appears to me to be right down the Jaar street

lobby
May 23rd 2011



1251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what a wonderful album. it reminds me of drone music. that is a good thing. dark, dense, minimal, pretty much an album that relays 2010's "Black Noise" by Pantha du Prince. Between those two releases, don't think I need much more

Adash
May 23rd 2011



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That depends on whether you have Shedding the Past and The Last Resort or not.

Glad you joined us

lobby
May 23rd 2011



1251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mmm, dont think I really care that much about the genre to look into any more stuff for the time being, i'm happy with what i've got

Adash
May 23rd 2011



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fair dues, but highly recommended for the future. Both of the two I mentioned are pretty much 5/5's on a cross genre standard

lobby
May 23rd 2011



1251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

maybe once i get through the 200 2011 albums i have on my wishlist, ill give it a try

Zettel
May 23rd 2011



590 Comments


Mmm, dont think I really care that much about the genre to look into any more stuff for the time being, i'm happy with what i've got


I wish I could say the same! It pains me so much to miss the opportunity of hearing a great electronic record...please let me recommend you both the new Kangding Ray album OR, it has a very similar vibe to this, less techno-ish, more IDM, but also very hypnotic, dark and minimal.

lobby
May 24th 2011



1251 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

check out my ratings, i dont frequently listen to this type of stuff. just like it pains you to miss out on a good electronic record, it pains me to miss out on a good black metal record, and a good psych rock record and, i try to get most of the acclaimed albums in my fave genres, this isnt one of my fave genres. i LIKE it, but prob won't hang on every new acclaimed release.

i will check out OR and give u a rec of my own: Peaking Lights new album "936". it's fun, laid-back psychedelic/dub.

Zettel
May 24th 2011



590 Comments


I hope you realize I was not criticizing you or "forcing" you to listen to something you are not interested in...that recommendation was directed more to Adash, but I figured out that you might enjoy it as well, given your comments. I rarely recommend stuff; I am aware people have different tastes.

That said, I will check out Peaking Lights. Never heard of them.

Yotimi
May 24th 2011



6472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good call on Kangding Ray, Zettel. I need to check out OR, I love Automne Fold.

Zettel
May 24th 2011



590 Comments


You will not be disappointed, although OR is very different.

Adash
May 25th 2011



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the rec Zet

missing out on The Last Resort is like missing out on the greatest album of all time



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy