Protest the Hero
Scurrilous


3.5
great

Review

by GLaDOS USER (4 Reviews)
March 16th, 2011 | 30 replies | 6,614 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A solid release for any fans of power metal, progressive metal, technical metal or just Protest the Hero in general.

2 of 13 thought this review was well written

Ahh Protest the Hero. This is such an odd band. I say this because they're the one and only time I've ever come across the meeting of power metal, progressive/math metal and punk/emocore that actually works. When I first heard this band, I had heard an earlier demo that was mostly a purely punk song, with a few technical flourishes. It's amazing to hear this band really evolve into something more than that.

So anyway, enough of the waffle, let's get to the riffle. Oh, that was bad. I'm sorry.

From the opening track "C'est La Vie" it's already clear that this isn't going to be a straight up sequel to Fortress. Where Fortress sounded like a technical/progressive metal album with touches of punk and an undercurrent of power metal, it seems that now the band have opened up to the power metal side of their sound more. Sure, the heavier, thrashier sound is still there, but definitely takes a step back to the "cheese" that seems to divide fans.

Firstly, vocalist Rody Walker seems to have almost abandoned the hardcore screams that were scattered throughout previous efforts and opted for a more melodic approach. To some this may be offputting, but if you overcome the need to have heavier vocals, he really has improved. His seamless blend of power metal and punk vocals has evolved nicely, resulting in a very original sound that can scarcely be heard anywhere else. His vocals provide a very upbeat alternative to the screamers and growlers out there that seem to be dime-a-dozen these days.

With a more upbeat vocal approach must also come an upbeat musical approach. Nowhere in these songs will you find a dark or downbeat sound. This may throw off some potential fans, but I like this as it's definitely a fresh take on the genre. Well, genres I suppose. The lead guitar riffs are still manic but less in a Sikth style mathematical chaos and more in a focused progressive form. That's not to say you won't find parts that remind you of this earlier sound, but as I said earlier if you're looking for a sound that carries over from Fortress as a faithful sequel, you may be disappointed.

The drums are as technical as ever, with a confident use of double kick blasts and interesting punk fills. But this time it's less about being "METAL!!!" and more about complienting the music. Having said that, I did find the drumming on Fortress superior, but each to their own I suppose.

Overall the album seems to have definitely taken a cheesier approach. Personally I would have liked some more songs akin to what you'd find on Fortress but that doesn't mean that this album isn't good. It's just...different. If anything it's possibly closer to the sound found on their debut album, Kezia. It;s a solid album, but personally to my tastes not quite as good as Fortress.

Still, better than a lot of music out there by miles. You certainly won't find many bands that sound at all similar to their blend of styles.


user ratings (1571)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mordecai.
March 16th 2011



8276 Comments


they're the one and only time I've ever come across the meeting of power metal, progressive/math metal and punk/emocore


where's the mega-neg button?

defjaw83
March 16th 2011



1765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea that's a bad one right there.

Album kicks ass but is a tad samey.

CrowsZero
March 16th 2011



91 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

what the fuck is emocore?

Slum
March 16th 2011



2579 Comments


always read the album title as scurvylous

ButcheredChildren
March 16th 2011



5591 Comments


-weak introduction

-fillers are unnecessary ex. "So anyway, enough of the waffle, let's get to the riffle. Oh, that was bad. I'm sorry."
> It just shows that you can't lead into your arguments

-use an expanded vocabulary, remove that 3 inch layer of dust covering your thesaurus and use http://dictionary.reference.com/ incase you forgot the exact meaning of a word

-"I did find the drumming on Fortress superior, but each to their own I suppose."
> This is a review not a conversation between aquaintences, don't use circular logic, it is a fallacy

thats all the negging I'll do this time around

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2011



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

use an expanded vocabulary, remove that 3 inch layer of dust covering your thesaurus

Having a large vocabulary doesn't mean shit. You have to be able to use it well and use it correctly.

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

Gyromania
March 16th 2011



15449 Comments


This ^

Tyrael
March 16th 2011



20795 Comments


So this is power metal?

DurzoBlint
March 16th 2011



1172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"But this time it's less about being "METAL!!!" and more about complienting the music."

Complienting should be complimenting? Unless this is a word I have never heard of.

IndieOut
March 16th 2011



498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

people, "cheese" is an inherently negative term. to describe protest's theatricality in a positive way is to use just that word - theatrical. 'Cheese' implies that it is overbearing and not executed well, which is indeed a fitting term for this album. don't use cheese as an adjective to compliment any band!

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2011



28369 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

god i love you mordecai

Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

ConsiderPhlebas
March 16th 2011



6157 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

they're the one and only time I've ever come across the meeting of power metal, progressive/math metal and punk/emocore that actually works.




Take some of your mum's pills and have a good rest.

psykonaut
March 16th 2011



3913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

he called protest the hero emocore! BURN HIM!

beefshoes
March 16th 2011



3406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

emocore.......
-_-

iFghtffyrdmns
March 16th 2011



7047 Comments


ButcheredChildren's post [2]

ConsiderPhlebas
March 16th 2011



6157 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

He calls them almost every genre that involves guitars. Surely emocore is better than power metal.

climactic
March 16th 2011



18575 Comments


youre all ridiculous besides acad and crysis

Acanthus
March 16th 2011



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It seems like this is a mix of an actual review and opinion, normally these tend to mix into one cohesive whole but your wording and phrases constantly pulled me out of the experience, reminding me that such wasn't the case.

Digging: The Cure - The Head on the Door

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 16th 2011



23800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Ahh Protest the Hero. This is such an odd band. I say this because they're the one and only time I've ever come across the meeting of power metal, progressive/math metal and punk/emocore "

I stopped reading there. pos.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 16th 2011



23800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"where's the mega-neg button?"

rofl



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy