Corrupted
Se hace por los suenos asesinos


4.5
superb

Review

by eternium USER (16 Reviews)
March 12th, 2011 | 88 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The redefinition of both heavy and bleak.

Think of the heaviest band that you know. Now imagine that band playing an all acoustic song. Weird, right? Well, weird is the one-word definition of the persona of Corrupted. Of course Corrupted is the notorious sludge/doom/drone band that hails from Japan yet most lyrics are in Spanish. Never heard of them? Maybe their refusal to do interviews or professional photographs and distaste for popularity have contributed to that. Eccentric? Incredibly, especially when considering that seventeen minutes is short compared to what monolithic brick walls of black the band usually produces. Even more so when that is the length of the all acoustic opening track: "Gekkou no Daichi." Does it work out? Hell yes it does.

The album is nearly split in half with the acoustic "Gekkou no Daichi" being seventeen minutes long and the 'normal' Corrupted represented in "Rato Triste" and "Sus Futuros" adding up to nearly nineteen minutes. Again, this is much shorter than the standard album or song from the band, with previous songs lasting 40-70 minutes. You can't really describe Corrupted's music without using the words slow, heavy, and dark (or some synonym) and that truly sums it up rather well. Even the acoustic track is very repetitive, sloth-like, and has a bleak atmosphere that hangs over it. This simply isn't for the weak willed at all. It all flows into "Rato Triste" and its opening feedback and sudden tidal wave force of guitars, bass, and drums as the low guttural vocals come in and out. It's all an earthquake for both songs and it's an experience that you will not forget anytime soon. Corrupted has found a way to redefine the word "heavy" in a way that will permanently alter your attitude towards this genre of music.

I personally feel that Se Hace Por Los Suenos Asesinos is the best record that Corrupted has released so far even though everything they have done is excellent. It is certainly the best starting point for anyone interested in the band, particularly because of its shorter length and not being made up of a single epic song. Anyone who loves grindcore and sludge should know of the band's cult status and numerous splits with legendary bands like Grief and Discordance Axis. There isn't really a band, however, that can compare to the deadly force of Corrupted. The easily disheartened should avoid the hopeless black sky blocking heaven's view that hovers over the opening track. The weak willed should stay out of the dark tsunami that consumes and destroys in the latter two. Listen at your own risk.



Recent reviews by this author
Portraits Of Past 01010101Barnswallow Twos
Some Mistakes Glamorous ThoughtsRorcal Myrra, Mordvynn, Marayaa
Noisear Subvert the Dominant ParadigmDead in the Dirt Vold
user ratings (80)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck yeah. Album's a beast.

eternium
March 12th 2011


16340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review is rather meh, I just pulled it out while listening to the album and noticing that there wasn't a review already.

rasputin
March 12th 2011


14555 Comments


Again, this is much shorter than the standard album or song from the band


Incorrect. Most of their material is actually similar in length and style to the two later songs on this record. Only their other LPs aren't like that, pretty much every other song is. Decent review though.

The weak willed should stay out of the dark tsunami


This was a very fitting line in light of what is going on in Japan now.

Piglet
March 12th 2011


4665 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Finally, a review for this (:

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This was a very fitting line in light of what is going on in Japan now.


Yeah, slipped right past me lol. This is probably my favorite album by these guys as well. Kind of ironic, but I was listening to Paso Inferior on vinyl when you submitted this.

BallsToTheWall
March 12th 2011


44805 Comments


Insensitivity points -123.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

wyankeif1337
March 12th 2011


6739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

glad to see this reviewed.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2011


7025 Comments


hated this

sifFlammable
March 12th 2011


2741 Comments


man i hav this and el mundo frio on my lap but still havnt really bothered to sit thru a listen. shud really do ae :/

esp with the tsunami in mind

123http://www.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/00500/11IN_2JAPAN_EARTHQU_500105g.jpg

Insensitivity points - 12345



Scoot
March 12th 2011


17914 Comments


okay what is this

Digging: Renounced - The Melancholy We Ache

ButcheredChildren
March 12th 2011


5590 Comments


wasn't into this, can't neg it though just wasn't my thing

sifFlammable
March 12th 2011


2741 Comments


iv only heard fragments (shamefully), but i smelt a classic :D will giv it a spin over the week

Pyosisified
March 12th 2011


2450 Comments


very good album but both paso inferior and el mundo frio are better

ButcheredChildren
March 12th 2011


5590 Comments


how shit would that be if the members of this band died in the tsunami

FelixCulpa
March 12th 2011


1240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A metal review from eternium? Automatically assuming I like this. You usually review metal I like so will see :P

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2011


16478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love this album.

eternium
March 12th 2011


16340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Most of their material is actually similar in length and style to the two later songs on this record.

I was only referencing the other LPs of course and their most famous works are the epic length songs.

jingledeath
March 12th 2011


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rules so muchuch

Pyosisified
March 12th 2011


2450 Comments


paso inferior will always be the best

jingledeath
March 12th 2011


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i prefer this and el mundo frio but paso inferior is ball busting goodness as well



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy