Funeral for a Friend
Welcome Home Armageddon


4.0
excellent

Review

by Lambda USER (66 Reviews)
March 9th, 2011 | 37 replies | 5,829 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Simply put, this is Funeral For A Friend's best album

7 of 7 thought this review was well written

"Welcome Home Armageddon" is Funeral For A Friend's fifth release. Accused by many fans of regressing since their debut "Casually Dressed & Deep in Conversation," the band managed to generate some buzz last year with their well-received EP "The Young And Defenseless." Since two of the tracks from that EP appear on this album, it would be pretty safe to assume that they share similar styles. And that they do.

What stands out the most about this release would have to be the guitar-playing. It is excellent- very precise and well-performed- although really, all of the instruments hold their own. The drumming is impressive, the bass can actually be heard throughout the album, and the production is also fantastic. All of the ingredients are there for an excellent album, and that is exactly what Funeral For A Friend have produced with "Welcome Home Armageddon."

This record does not have much... well, in fact any, discernible filler, which is something that I love. This is a very solid album, with no inherently bad tracks at all (except for perhaps the sappy "Owls (Are Watching)" [and even that track redeems itself slightly with an ingenious use of clean guitar behind distorted in the chorus]). Really, the only problem with this album is that many of the tracks follow the exact same structure and/or have similar elements, and thus a couple do get unfortunately lost in the shuffle- tracks like "Broken Foundation" and "Old Hymns" don't really stand out apart from a couple of moments.

The vocalwork on this album really is great. It may be at times a little too over-the-top, but on tracks such as the adrenaline-fueled "Front Row Seats To The End of The World," drummer Ryan Richard's emotional and raw harsh vocals and Matthew Davies-Kreye's clear and poignant cleans alternate with apparent ease and gracefulness. While there are a couple of moments where Davis is slightly off key (the intro and outro of the aforementioned "Owls (Are Watching)",) you scarcely care because of the earnestness with which he delivers his lyrics (which are, for the most part, just OK). I would also be a midst to not mention the bass-playing on here, which is fantastic and holds its own with the guitars. It's always great to see creative bass playing, and with this record you get it in strides. From the solo on "Aftertaste," to the impressive runs on "Man Alive," there is some truly superb playing on here.

The awe-inspiring guitar solo and excellent basswork on "Medicated." The raw energy of "Front Row Seats To The End of The World." The riffing in "Spinning Over The Island." These are just a few examples of parts from "Welcome Home Armageddon" that really stand out and make it an excellent album. This is probably Funeral For A Friend's best release, and also one of the better releases from 2011 so far. Do yourself a favour: check this out.



Recent reviews by this author
fresh beatZ The MisunderstoodAvenged Sevenfold Hail to the King
Buckethead Buckethead Pikes #13Buckethead In Search Of The - Volume 10: 'F'
Buckethead In Search Of The - Volume 9: 'O'Behold... The Arctopus Horrorscension
user ratings (345)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lambda
March 9th 2011



2335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

50 reviews!

Oh, and this is streaming here: http://www.facebook.com/?ref=logo#!/funeralforafriend?sk=app_178091127385

gabethepiratesquid
March 9th 2011



4521 Comments


This could be one of my favorite pop-punk/post-hardcore album of 2011 so far.

Pos.

chesse13
March 9th 2011



2326 Comments


the ep was alright i guess.. ill check this out. good review

ConsiderPhlebas
March 9th 2011



6157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds pretty good so far

TomServo
March 9th 2011



542 Comments


Great review! I'm excited to check this out, seeing as the songs I've heard have been excellent. Definitely reminiscent of old FFAF.

Lambda
March 9th 2011



2335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys! This is a great album.

KrissWatts
March 9th 2011



96 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Loved the review. Simplistic yet at the same time superbly descriptive. I can't wait to listen to this album.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2011



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm still trying to get my head around this album, so not ready to review it just yet. One thing that is for certain however is that they have finally let Kris loose on guitar.

Apollo
March 9th 2011



10083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I am so stoked!

Lambda
March 9th 2011



2335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

KrissWatts - Thanks!

DaveyBoy - Yeah the guitar-playing on here is pretty impressive

Apollo - And with good reason ;)

Apollo
March 9th 2011



10083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm downloading right now. These guys were my favorite band 6-7 years ago

Apollo
March 9th 2011



10083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this fucking rules

Lambda
March 9th 2011



2335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah it's pretty sweet. The bass is awesome.

sailSAway
March 10th 2011



812 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

man alive!

THIEF
March 10th 2011



237 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I would argue that the only downright unforgivably predictable song on this album is Front Row Seats... But I do agree, some of the songs are much too built around formulas, such as Man Alive, which could have easily been the best on the album if they had strayed away from the VerseChorusVerse format. FFAF are sooo much better way they write songs with untraditional structures such as Red is the New Black and Hospitality. Other than that, there were some moments that surprised the hell out of me, such as the guitar solo in Broken Foundations, which is the first they've ever recorded for any official release.

Might I also add that Damned if You Do.. is one downright badass tune. I listened to it 40+ times on the EP, but it remains to be my favorite out of their post Hours discography.


Damrod
Moderator
March 10th 2011



1093 Comments


From all I heard of it so far, this seems to be the first album after 'Casually Dressed...' that I really could like. I have to give it a few more spins, but it does not seem to be bad at all

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2011



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can anyone answer why 'Sixteen' made this album ahead of 'Serpents In Solitude'?

Supaduck0
March 10th 2011



49 Comments


They should have released this 4 years ago, but it sounds good. Not big on this band anymore, but I hope they can sail back to the top of the scene like they did in 2005 or whenever.

rollnchew
March 10th 2011



85 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was going to review this but you've just put exactly what I was going to say, although I love Owls.

Great review, best album of their career and of the year (so far - Endgame comes out in 5 days)

Mordecai.
March 10th 2011



8256 Comments


someone please tell me that the first track is a cover of the Thursday song..



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy