Boris With Merzbow
Klatter


3.5
great

Review

by Angel STAFF
March 6th, 2011 | 87 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: More drone. More noise. More awesome.

An album that was originally supposed to be released in 2007, Boris and Merzbow’s sixth collaborative effort is just now seeing the light of day. And at a time when Boris fans are pining for the drone days of yore more than ever, the timing is actually pretty damn good.

The marriage of drone and noise can be a blissful one at times, as this dynamic duo has shown us before, but if either side gets too aggressive, it’s time to file for divorce. Boris and Merzbow have walked that tightrope before and made it to the other side, often with colorful results. Klatter is no exception. However, the abrasiveness of the hallmark sonic blitzkriegs one has come to expect of the artists separately has been dialed back considerably. Wata and Takeshi turn down the feedback to leave some room for Masami’s electronic tinkering, and Atsuo’s drumming sees a bit of a minimalistic reprieve from his oft punk-tinged percussion. The free-improv-like spaciousness gives each element room to breathe and create an atmosphere from both harmony and discord.

As with 2005’s 04092001, the listener is treated to a fresh approach to a couple Boris standards along with some entirely new material. While structurally “Akuma no Uta” and “Naki Kyoku” may not diverge from the songs Boris fans know and love, they have been re-recorded to amply suit the additions of their fourth member, so to speak. The riffs are there, but much of the aural bite is eschewed in favor of a gentler, more calming aesthetic. Merzbow’s techno-shredding gives the effect of the tracks being deconstructed and ripped apart at the very seams, but the trip to oblivion manages to be a pleasant meander rather than a threatening plunge.

Klatter is Boris doing what they always do - something different, even with some old standards. Merzbow simply offers them the ability to showcase this side that was probably inherent in the group all along, all the while providing some impeccable textures. While not every journey the two entities embark upon together can be labeled as a success, one thing’s for sure: they always make for an interesting listen. While big fans of either party (or both) might be a bit disappointed by the subdued nature of this album, at the end of the day, what we do have is another enjoyable effort by two very unique and innovative artists. Besides, there’s always Amplifier Worship and Pulse Demon.



Recent reviews by this author
Chelsea Wolfe Pain Is BeautyPrurient Through the Window
Muknal / The Haunting Presence SplitStorm Corrosion Storm Corrosion
Rudimentary Peni CacophonyNoothgrush Erode the Person
user ratings (21)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Like reviewing me some new releases.

On a side-note, just got Boris and Merzbow's Walrus/Groon EP on vinyl at the record store today. m/

couldwinarabbit
March 7th 2011


6996 Comments


ow hell ya. also two noise reviews on front page

Rev
March 7th 2011


9438 Comments


Woah


Gotta get this

I only have Sun Baked Snow Cave, what other Boris/Merzbow should I get

ev0ken
March 7th 2011


586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

will have to look into this one

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Definitely get their live recording Rock Dream as well as 04092001 and Walrus/Groon.

Urinetrouble
March 7th 2011


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ohmigodthisisoutmustbuy

Rev
March 7th 2011


9438 Comments


This is so good

sifFlammable
March 7th 2011


2741 Comments


Merzbow has the largest discography, like, ever.

TheSpirit
March 7th 2011


17944 Comments


sounds cool and ace review dude

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2011


6222 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

However, the abrasiveness of the hallmark sonic blitzkriegs one has come to expect of the artists separately has been dialed back considerably

i think you should put some commas in this sentence, 'cause it reads like a run-on one.


well written, have a pos.

i must check this.

Digging: Seduced (AT) - The Proclamation

MO
March 7th 2011


18894 Comments


great review, haven't gotten into too much drone, I'm guessing this is an ok place to start

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I would probably suggest getting some of Boris' earlier work (Amplifier Worship, Akuma no Uta, Feedbacker) rather than starting here. It's a neat album, though, like most of their collaborations.

scissorlocked
March 7th 2011


3511 Comments


seems like an interesting collaboration

Merzbow's discography is endless,I've only listened to several random albums

anyway, good review man

Digging: Traumprinz - All The Things

dreamobile
March 7th 2011


416 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's certainly not bad, but i was hoping for more original material.

Enotron
March 7th 2011


7695 Comments


can't wait to get on this

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Like Nike brah.

Just do it.

dreamobile
March 8th 2011


416 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"just wait dude, its not like we don't have 4 more Boris albums this year"

isn't one of them Heavy Rocks? That's old too. Plus judging from that one song Boris has taken a weird pop bent on their other new album which has me wary

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Heavy Rocks is a re-recorded version with some guest spots including Ian Astbury once again. I think it'll be pretty cool, maybe even better than the original.

I kind of want this on vinyl but I'm not sure I like it enough for the $40 price tag.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ah, ok. Just saw the different track-list. Someone told me it was going to be a re-recording of the album. Shit, that's pretty cool though. Hope it's good.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2011


6222 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Despite its "incomplete" character, I enjoyed this thoroughly.

Maybe it's this "incompleteness" itself that makes the difference here.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy