Suplecs
Mad Oak Redoux


4.0
excellent

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
March 6th, 2011 | 24 replies | 7,714 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Suplecs combine plenty of musical styles to craft a southern rock album that is both uniquely diverse and concise.

Just as the majority of New Orleans' inhabitants, southern rock trio Suplecs had to face the consequences of demolition caused by Hurricane Katrina. This has resulted in a five-year long hiatus in their songwriting process. Thankfully, they have managed to return way stronger as well as more furious than before. Their first album on Small Stone Records "Mad Oak Redoux" showcases the band at their prime with a melting pot of influences adroitly interwoven with one another. While Suplecs still retain the characteristic stonerish sound along with southern vibe of their previous albums, "Mad Oak Redoux" is evidently their most adventurous and unpredictable effort. It's impossible to foresee how the next song will sound like, which comes as a significant asset especially when compared to the general lack of resourcefulness in the genre.

The whole album oozes with post-Katrina aggression being the album's loose lyrical theme. This attitude manifests itself unexclusively in a fist-raising nu-metal/rap crossover of "Fema Man" as well as alternative guitar rock of "World's On Fire" which recalls some mellower tracks out of TAD's "8-Way Santa." The middle section of the album sounds absolutely phenomenal beginning with a refreshing stoner rock anthem "Tried To Build An Engine" in which largely chanted vocals coexist with smooth, yet bombastic ever-changing guitar riffs. Guitarist Durel Yates also shines through almost entirely instrumental "2x4," the reflective composition that evokes images of the tragedy only to transform into galloping trash metal. The effect is nothing less than breathtaking.

Another standout track "In Your Shadow" can be described as a hybrid between sludge metal of Crowbar and alternative rock of "Doolittle"-era Pixies. What doesn't sound good on paper Suplecs are able to transform into a mine of gold in this supremely catchy, old-school tune. To make the disc even more diverse, the act display their punk influences in "Stepped On" which resembles surf-rockers Fu Manchu. Whereas "Coward" exemplifies a more conventional, groove-oriented approach to stoner metal, the album ends on a high note with slow, atmospheric sludge expertly executed in "Switchblade."

With their influences all over the place, Suplecs provide a valuable lesson on the history of hard rock encompassing in one concise disc more musical styles than most bands are able to cover throughout their entire career. "Mad Oak Redoux" easily might have been a failure, but by means of top-notch songwriting it is quite the opposite, a triumphant southern rock record that refuses to be taken lightly.



Recent reviews by this author
Kimbra The Golden EchoDog Fashion Disco Sweet Nothings
So Slow DharaviMastodon Once More 'Round the Sun
Fire! Orchestra Enter!Ought More Than Any Other Day
user ratings (6)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2011



7361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"In Your Shadow" can be found here:

http://www.brokenbeard.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/07-In-Your-Shadow.mp3

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2011



8327 Comments


Good review Greg, although if I'm honest with you I dont really fancy when the summary is exactly the same as the conclusion (word by word I mean).

Album sounds pretty cool, I'll check it out.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2011



7361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks. I really hate writing summaries. That's why I don't really do it.

The album is kick-ass. I'm sure you'll like it.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2011



7361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah. Nevermind. In fact, I've just written the summary for this album. More people should check it out.

pizzamachine
March 6th 2011



12571 Comments


You know your rock so I'll check this out.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2011



7361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent decision! Initially I read this "You know you rock" I guess it's also true. ;)

pizzamachine
March 6th 2011



12571 Comments


I read it that way too. : ) Argh, I only found 'Worlds On Fire' on youtube, but it was cool.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2011



7361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There are way better tracks here than this one. Check out the one I posted in the first comment.

pizzamachine
March 6th 2011



12571 Comments


Song is chill, pretty surprising.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2011



7361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah. There are not even two similar tracks on this record. The songs, tempos and moods
just change and change to the end. As I put it in the review, there are evident stoner, alternative,
punk, sludge and even rap influences.

Jethro42
March 6th 2011



12391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah great song indeed. Is it the same link you gave me couple days ago? Song is still lost somewhere in my shoutbox. Excellent write up, bro. Review makes the album sound pretty interesting.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2011



7361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Muchas gracias senor. Yes. It's the same link. I'm always glad when at least some Sputnik users want
to check out the album I reviewed.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2011



7361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

World's On Fire:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOKIQTpUHGU

Jethro42
March 12th 2011



12391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Excellent album. Stand Alone, Switchblade, Tried to Build, 2x4 and In your Shadow are my fav here. Songs fluctuate from 4 to 5.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2011



7361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent choices! I'd perhaps replace Stand Alone with Stepped On, but other than that I couldn't agree more. The consensus is always the same it seems: more people should give it a spin.

Jethro42
March 12th 2011



12391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It seems stoner/hard rock and prog have a serious problem in common; It's sooo hard for both genres to get the attention they deserve here on Sputnik. Oh well...

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2011



7361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I totally agree. The guitar work on this album is ace! Especially in Tried To Build An Engine.

Jethro42
March 13th 2011



12391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, guitar is pretty sharp on that one, I also love its funky vibe. It's arguably my favorite track to date.

Jethro42
March 13th 2011



12391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

double post

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2011



7361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

2x4 is my favorite. It gives me shivers every time I listen to it. Epic!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy