The Color Morale
My Devil In Your Eyes


4.0
excellent

Review

by Nu Metal USER (28 Reviews)
March 4th, 2011 | 151 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Color Morale prove to be a band soaking with potential in a dry genre.

Illinois Post-Hardcore band The Color Morale turned many heads with their original release “We All Have Demons” in 2009. That being said, those who were enticed by their vibrant and soulful craft of Post-Hardcore will have no problems enjoying this album, as they did not make the mistake of not trying to change their sound too much this time around.

The Color Morale make their presence felt in their opening track, and continue their relentless assault throughout the duration of the album. The procession of songs are much more smooth, and overall production of the album is much more crisp than their first time around in We All Have Demons. The guitarists show their competency throughout the album, especially in the song The Dying Hymn where they successful utilize chugging chords that really are used to grab at the emotion rather than being there for no purpose other than to sound heavy for the sake of being heavy.

Human(s) Being is another where really where they show to have improved their craft showing much more crisp guitars, smoother transition, and better work on their choruses. It also shows the competency of their drummer. Who is able to keep up with the ever changing and sporadic time changes of the band, time changes that do not become exhausting or tiring after replay. It also shows one of the best lyrical pieces in the album that goes, “I am not afraid to die, I am terrified of life.”

The song Falling Awake is a real high point in the album. The incredibly voice of lead vocalist Garret Rapp truly shines the most in this track with his soulful and powerful cleans opening the track, leading to his screamed vocals. His screams, are just as notable as his cleans, showing a ton of competency and showing that they have improved dramatically since his last bout being able to transition from a more higher range to his lower range flawlessly. The guitars also shine on this album as they begin with a softer tone that goes along with Rapp’s soaring cleans before going into a much heavier and melodic sound. Demon Teeth is also another high point, showing the band’s technicality. The song is likely the most fast paced and chaotic song on the album, showing a lot of similarities of similarities to Disambiguation era Underoath and a lot of the other more chaotic bands in the game.

Although the album may not change naysayers minds or convert critics of the genre into lovers, The Color Morale show to be a very decent band in the genre, triumphing over a lot of the more dried out acts in the genre. If you are a fan of this band or love Post-Hardcore in general, then My Devil In Your Eyes will be an album that will have high replay value on your playlist.



Recent reviews by this author
Rude Awakening Collateral DamageAlcoa Bone & Marrow
Full of Hell Rudiments of MutilationSole No Wising Up No Settling Down
Have Heart The Things We CarryBorn Without Bones Say Hello
user ratings (288)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
EyeForAnEye
March 4th 2011


1692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

12th review, be nice everyone.

Oh, and source is Rise Record's youtube.

gabethepiratesquid
March 4th 2011


4521 Comments


Idunno, on this album they seemed to sacrifice progression for catchiness, but it's still enjoyable

Pos

EyeForAnEye
March 4th 2011


1692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To be honest, I was a little skeptical of this album at first, but a couple of listens through this album quickly changed my mind.

DurzoBlint
March 4th 2011


1181 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I disliked their first album... From this review I doubt I will even check it out.

BetaAquilae
March 4th 2011


248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Terribly catchy, and the vocalist in one of the best in the genre right now.

chesse13
March 4th 2011


3455 Comments


track list?

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted

TomAkaVeto
March 4th 2011


1650 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm listening to it for the first time and I think it sounds pretty good so far.

AntsoftheSky
March 4th 2011


35 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

band is easily among the top in this genre. they added just enough heavy to bring some serious mosh and left the great stuff about their cleans alone. they aren't reinventing anything but this sounds damn good.

EyeForAnEye
March 5th 2011


1692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, when I think this band is excellent given the genre they play in.

iwubmoosik
March 5th 2011


386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Good review, pos'd


"band is easily among the top in this genre. they added just enough heavy to bring some serious mosh and left the great stuff about their cleans alone. they aren't reinventing anything but this sounds damn good."

Personally, I wish they just did their best the entire time and left the heavy moshing stuff to their more, not-as-talented, counterparts.

AntsoftheSky
March 5th 2011


35 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thats like asking for a different band dude. their heavy parts are great.

iwubmoosik
March 5th 2011


386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

In a live setting, sure, but those kinda riffs get old quick, imo.


Also, thats why its a wish

AntsoftheSky
March 5th 2011


35 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah maybe its just me. i have a terrible weak spot for bands that do the heavy melodic thing.

iwubmoosik
March 5th 2011


386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Haha, I don't blame you! I'm the same way mostly, I just think there are bands that do it better than what TCM did with this release. I'll definitely listen to this here and there, but at the moment I'm definitely gonna stick with DGD's new release and my other albums xD.

ZippaThaRippa
March 5th 2011


2418 Comments


Be Longing Always is so cool

bloc
March 5th 2011


34872 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really good album, I enjoy it a lot.

feedhertothesharks
March 6th 2011


144 Comments


good review album is pretty solid

Fieryfenderz
March 8th 2011


1448 Comments


saw these guys live a while back. Really good vibe.

shortone323
March 8th 2011


883 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review. I wasn't too impressed by the singles at first, but the more I've listened to the album the more I've come to like it.

loveisamixtape
March 9th 2011


6037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So... This is good..?

The only thing I've heard is The Dying Hymn. Loved it.

Digging: Free Throw - Those Days Are Gone



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy