Nirvana
In Utero


3.5
great

Review

by Sherlock Jacobson USER (1 Reviews)
February 28th, 2011 | 102 replies | 6,082 views


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With the name literally meaning ''in uterus'' Nirvana's third and final full length album gives us a more raw approach as compared to the polished sound on Nevermind.

1 of 5 thought this review was well written

Ah Nirvana one of the most talked about bands in modern music today, and for good reason. Still, after all these years being more popular with age. The Seattle three piece rock band got their start with influences from the pixies, R.E.M, and bands of the alternative persuasion. however they developed a more raw yet very approachable sound as they progressed further into the spotlight. With In Utero we have a return to the Nirvana sound that Kurt Cobain hoped to achieve all along. In Utero is a rough and rugged album, a sound Kurt Cobain was looking for.


Ideally Kurt Cobain's raspy voice fits perfect with the more raw sound. In fact, i would go out on a limb and say that this is probably the only Nirvana album that you could show to someone who disliked the band and maybe sway their opinion a bit. Having listened to Nirvana throughout my life, even I was unaware this album even existed and that seems to be the case with In Utero it's a album that most Nirvana fans regard as the bands best album yet it doesn't get talked about as much as Nevermind. It's like that odd girl in class that you think is cute, doesn't get much attention and is overlooked, that is the essence of this album.

The songs on In Utero very much feel like a fully realized piece of music, as a whole it's without a doubt Nirvanas most well thought out and put together album. There is a more desperate vibe within the album, When considering all the hype surrounded by this band and their lead singer who passed away earlier than expected i feel the music on this album gets forgotten as I've said before, the main focus is it's Nirvana's last album. That's sad because this is the best Nirvana album. At least in my opinion.

It's great to see a return to form for Nirvana with In Utero and it's a great way to submit their legacy within the rock, alternative, and grunge scene. This is a album that wasn't even trying to be mainstream and accessible, yet still managed to do so. That's a great feat for any band and it just goes to show that Nirvana has a magnetic vibe surrounding them. The music is easy to relate to, that's never more apparent then on In Utero. I can't help but feel that the music is a bit vague and distant within this album, it gives you splashes of personal anguish and maintains a very frightening, raw, real life sound. This is a classic album even if overlooked more so than Nevermind this album is much more a whole, in depth, album as opposed to a so-so release with a few hit singles on it.


user ratings (3799)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
omnipanzer
February 28th 2011



21418 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no, sorry

Digging: Grant Lee Buffalo - Fuzzy

efX20
February 28th 2011



65 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's pretty rushed. I'll be back later to fix any errors i find. ; )

HenchmanOfSanta
February 28th 2011



1852 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A lot of grammatical errors. Especially this one:

Having listened to Nirvana throughout my life, even I was unaware this album even existed and that seems to be the case with In Utero it's a album that most Nirvana fans regard as the bands best album yet it doesn't get talked about as much as Nevermind.
What on earth is this?



omnipanzer
February 28th 2011



21418 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"seems to be the case with In Utero it's a album that most Nirvana fans regard as the bands best album
yet it doesn't get talked about as much as Nevermind."

what are you talking about Sherlock?



WatchItExplode
February 28th 2011



3203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ah Nirvana one of the most talked about bands in modern music today, and for good reason.

It's great to see a return to form for Nirvana with In Utero and it's a great way to submit their legacy within the rock, alternative, and grunge scene.


Ranking: #49 for 1993

oh, and summary is quite lol


Maniac!
February 28th 2011



26246 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It is better

letsgofishing
February 28th 2011



900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You said the same thing 4 times in 4 paragraphs.

Read some other reviews, observe how it's done, and most importantly don't stop writing. But this review..it needs a lot
of work.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Choirs of the Eye

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that comment needs a lot work too

well not a lot work, but some

letsgofishing
March 1st 2011



900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sorry Aids, didn't realize you were part of the comment gestapo :P

but yeah, all the punctuation and shit is fixed now, so you can go back and read your comments in peace. ha ha.

Titan50
March 1st 2011



4588 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lol woops, accidentally clicked pos

dimsim3478
March 1st 2011



4735 Comments


First review; fine. But you're missing some stuff:

- You got a lot of the points over well, but you missed some of the essential details.
- Considering this is a review is counted as a literary work, you may want to keep an eye on your comprehension and spelling.

Overall, not a pos', but not a neg'. Read heaps of staff reviews and learn from them. You got good potential. Hope to see more soon!

Digging: My Psychoanalyst - Choreomania

porch
March 1st 2011



8451 Comments


good album

ffs
March 1st 2011



4819 Comments


yeha

LepreCon
March 1st 2011



3591 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album rules face

Tyrael
March 1st 2011



20738 Comments


Better than Nevermind.

kanecooper
March 1st 2011



630 Comments


much better than nevermind (which sucks)

Tyrael
March 1st 2011



20738 Comments


I wouldn't say that it sucks, it's just overrated.

kanecooper
March 1st 2011



630 Comments


whatever you say, sir

BigHans
March 1st 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not even close to as good as Nevermind.

Inveigh
March 1st 2011



24798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like it better than Nevermind, by quite a bit



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy