In Every Breath
Awakening


4.0
excellent

Review

by Irving Tan STAFF
February 22nd, 2011 | 102 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Don't let the band's incredibly unwieldy name deter you, for Awakening is an amazingly solid EP.

Although they aren't exactly newcomers to the hard rock scene, In Every Breath does give off the impression of being a wee bit fresher than most of their newer and more recent contemporaries. Unfortunately, lineup changes have a nasty habit of robbing a band of all its momentum, and having lost their guitar and bass player after the release of their debut album Distrust, In Every Breath was forced to spend a full three years scratching around the underbelly of their local rock music circuit. But with Awakening - the quartet's first compendium of new material since 2008 - the San Diego band has signaled that it is ready to make a second attempt at scaling the heights of mainstream success - retooled line-up and all.

Unsurprisingly, Awakening sees the band's pair of fresh acquisitions attempting to use their debut studio recording to showcase their skills to the world at large. In addition, they have also been tasked with achieving a second, decidedly less enviable objective - that of reinvigorating the band's long-dormant fans. This is a daunting mission for any musician, let alone a pair of fresh recruits. Yet throughout the EP there is a perceptible sense of bravado about it all; a touch of espirit de corps and an apparent willingness to go out on a limb. This unshackling of the band's ambitions produces some stunning results: the EP's first single "Temptress", for instance, is a particularly impressive arrangement, with new guitarist Justin Greenhouse's roiling groundswell of electric riffs serving as a veritable bed for vocalist Brandon Conetta's effective delivery.

New bassist Joe Ray also proves to be a potent addition to the band's arsenal; never content with simply repeating his guitarist's parts, his cleverly-spaced rumbles manage to add a gritty edge to the Awakening's overall sound. Most remarkably however, his gameplay is able to slip in neatly alongside drummer Joe Pine's double bass kicks, with the pair's synergy oftentimes creating a rhythm section that is very difficult to ignore. On this release, the two Joes' magnum opus is undoubtedly their interplay on "Back To Symmetry", where their heavily-delivered licks single-handedly make the number an unnervingly addictive piece listen. But even further down the EP, In Every Breath's penchant for busting out interestingly arranged pieces also becomes apparent; closing number "30 Below", for example, sees the band run the gamut of atmospheric interpretations, seemingly trying to compress as much as possible within six minutes of run-time. The song's overall concept is brazen and devoid of any pop sensibility, to say the least, yet it might just be the best that the release has to offer.

Perhaps unsurprisingly for a band of their stature, In Every Breath's Awakening EP suffers a little from underproduction, which may hinder the band's ability to expand its fanbase as quickly as it would like. But while this brief release is no grand artistic statement in itself, it does suggest that a sophomore album from this hard rock outfit would be a worthwhile proposition - and that may be where this EP's real victory lies.



Recent reviews by this author
U2 Songs of InnocenceThe Pineapple Thief Magnolia
Ty Segall ManipulatorLinkin Park The Hunting Party
Coldplay Ghost StoriesCaleb McAlpine All Things New
user ratings (16)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2011


7307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I would like to dedicate this review to Mr. Trey Spencer.

As always, comments and criticism will be greatly appreciated. Bring the rain, Sputnik!

Stream: http://ineverybreath.bandcamp.com/album/awakening-ep

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

Defeater
February 22nd 2011


5782 Comments


Thank you for the review.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2011


7307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hahaha, I think you should be thanking Willie - he's the one who pointed me to this album! And it was great!

cvlts
February 22nd 2011


8960 Comments


huh. looks interesting. and 4 songs looks harmless enough. will get, gratis.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2011


7307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Stream added to first comment!!

Slum
February 22nd 2011


2579 Comments


Oh hey an Irving review, and an excellent one it is. Just one thing

"As is wont for many a band of their size, In Every Breath's Awakening EP suffers a little from underproduction"

Not quite sure what you're saying here, maybe it's just the way i'm reading it.

Anyway pos from me, man. Keep up the good work. Might check this out in the morning

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2011


7307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Slum!

I revisited the offending sentence, but each time I read it I don't feel like anything is wrong...that being said, English is my second language and I could be completely wrong. Do you mind pointing out which section in the phrase appears to be problematic? Thanks!

Tyrael
February 22nd 2011


20883 Comments


Interesting...

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2011


7307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh my, Tyrael - you do test out new albums quickly o.O

Tyrael
February 22nd 2011


20883 Comments


Release date: 02/08/2011
New?
And I downloaded this some time ago, I'm listening to it right now.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2011


7307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

New as in newly-obtained, for you. I was under the impression that you only just listened to this, but were comfortable enough with it to give out a 4. That being said, this EP is just 20 minutes long, so maybe I'm just slow LOL.

PS - Your avatar? Pretty.

Tyrael
February 22nd 2011


20883 Comments


Yeah, listening to this again, a 4 might have been a tad too high...
Yes I know Marina is cute, you don't need to tell me haha.
Btw the review's good, I'm going to read it now.

Ponton
Emeritus
February 22nd 2011


5793 Comments


Good stuff Irving. I streamed a couple of songs from this and it was pretty cool

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2011


7307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ Tyraelxy:

Btw the review's good, I'm going to read it now.

LOL! You read reviews like you listen to music! =p What if in reading it again, a pos might have been a tad too high...haha! ;)

@ Observer:

Hey Jared, s'up? Yup the band's pretty cool - that being said, I watched the video for Temptress yesterday...and I have to say their frontman has REALLY got to work on his visual presence. He looks so...timid and unbecoming of a frontman.

Tyrael
February 22nd 2011


20883 Comments


I didn't pos... I did it now, but I could have pos'd on beforehand because I know that your reviews never dissapoint.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2011


7307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awww Tyrael you sweetie-pie.

Here let's be friends again ;) I'll even forgive you for having rated one of my favourite U2 albums of all time as a 2.0!!

Tyrael
February 22nd 2011


20883 Comments


I'm more of a Joshua Tree guy... Ah well I'm happy now, which is not good since it will contradict with my upcoming review!

Willie
Moderator
February 22nd 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Excellent review. Now I don't have to do it (especially since that damn Eisley stream just popped up). As far as the front man issue goes, he is a lot more animated in a live situation. I just think that he didn't know how to act on the video.

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2011


7307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Joshua Tree is miles better than HTDAAB, for sure, but HTDAAB is definitely not a 2.0 LOL.

When can I expect this next review of yours? ;) + =)

Tyrael
February 22nd 2011


20883 Comments


Fine! I changed to a 3, I hope you're happy now mister!
Oh and don't be waiting for it I know it took me two weeks to write my last one, and you're not going to like this one anyway...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy