Behemoth
Evangelion


4.5
superb

Review

by Darion Paone USER (77 Reviews)
February 21st, 2011 | 22 replies | 4,252 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: How can a demigod be so grievously wounded so soon after releasing such a godly album?

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Blackened death metal act Behemoth, hailing from the great land of Poland, was put on hiatus when frontman Nergal was hospitalised soon after the release of "Evangelion". Have no fear, though, brothers, as you cannot kill a demigod! Unless you use chaos-type weapons from the Fel Orcs... sorry, nerd moment.

Getting back to the topic at hand, the Polish act has had one hell of a time, both in studio and onstage, and have released a total of over twenty-five media CDs. The most recent of these, the previously-mentioned "Evangelion", is a marvel in both the integration of pagan ideals in songwriting and a sound that is both skull-crushingly heavy and undoubtedly some of the best melodic death metal material you'll hear anywhere. Between the inspiring chorus of Daimonos and the torturing melodies of album closer Lucifer, you'll not find a drought of headbanging within this record. "Evangelion" successfully builds upon the foundation that "The Apostasy", the band's previous release, set up. The carefully-planned riffs in Ov Fire and the Void will cause many to reminisce back to "At the Left Hand ov God", and the drum-centred intro to "Transmigrating Beyond Realms ov Amenti" will bring you back to the killer track Demigod. While Behemoth leaves behind many a trace of their black metal origins in instrumental form, Nergal's vocals are spat more crisply and roughly than ever before (especially within Shemhamforash), which, coupled with the stylistic guitars and Inferno's heavy double-bass drums make for such an arcane mix of death and black to fittingly be labeled as 'blackened death'.

The album isn't without faults, however. Certain tracks don't hold the same allure as album headliners Daimonos and Ov Fire and the Void. The track The Seed ov I, for instance, is rarely listened to, especially when I could spend time pleasing my ears with melodies like "Alas, the Lord is Upon Me". That being said, even the filler track(s) in the album aren't bad by any means necessary - they just don't hold up too well when compared to other tracks in the same record. I'm also not a personal fan of black metal-heavy screaming as a song closer, as featured in Shemhamforash. It just doesn't seem like a good way to end a track, and I wouldn't normally associate Behemoth with it, even if "Demigod", one of their best records, included it as their title track's closer.

Filler track(s?) aside, "Evangelion" is an incredible record. It earned its "Official Steven Stamp ov Awesomeness", reserved exclusively for Behemoth records, as soon as the finale track "Lucifer" uttered its last, grave whispers. Enjoy the album, guys.



Recent reviews by this author
Origin OmnipresentSepticflesh Titan
Hour of Penance RegicideWretched Cannibal
Whitechapel Our Endless WarCarnifex Die Without Hope
user ratings (770)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
February 21st 2011



34465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was a good review. Album rules.

Digging: Equilibrium - Erdentempel

Pr0nogo
February 21st 2011



373 Comments


This was a good review. Album rules.


Thanks much. The album is great, indeed. Later on today or tomorrow I'll pull something up for Amon Amarth's Versus the World.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2011



6937 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good review, pos. iv just started getting into behemoth.

Pr0nogo
February 21st 2011



373 Comments


good review, pos. iv just started getting into behemoth.


If you are, check out albums "Demigod" and "Thelema.6". They're great examples of Behemoth's styles, both past and present. Glad you liked the album.

Hawks
February 21st 2011



34465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't put up another review until yours is off the main page. It's pretty much an unwritten rule of Sputnik. As for the band, Demigod is easily their best album.

Pr0nogo
February 21st 2011



373 Comments


Don't put up another review until yours is off the main page. It's pretty much an unwritten rule of Sputnik. As for the band, Demigod is easily their best album.


Yeah, that's why I'm waiting a few hours at the least. :P

Hawks
February 21st 2011



34465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good point. It's been kinda slow the past few days so you might be waiting a little longer haha.

Pr0nogo
February 21st 2011



373 Comments


Good point. It's been kinda slow the past few days so you might be waiting a little longer haha.


Yeah, I've noticed. Just a general question as a relative newcomer to Sputnik, but are my review lengths alright? My first review was hellishly long because I included a track-by-track (which I'm never doing again ever), but the body part of that review was longer than the others I've done. I don't want to write a whole page's worth of filler for half of my review, but I don't want to write too little, either. Should I just write till I stop having things to say and then be done?

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2011



6937 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Pr0nogo
yeah iv got those albums rotating on my ipod now,
digging mainly the demigod album.
Iv just started putting up albums, and im after peoples opinions what do you think of mine, im after all the help i can get.


Hawks
February 21st 2011



34465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Length isn't really a factor in a review tbh. Just make sure the quality is good. I mean, of course people would rather read a review of decent length than a monstrous one, but it's still about quality.

Pr0nogo
February 21st 2011



373 Comments


@Pr0nogo
yeah iv got those albums rotating on my ipod now,
digging mainly the demigod album.
Iv just started putting up albums, and im after peoples opinions what do you think of mine, im after all the help i can get.


I shot you a shoutbox message concerning your reviews.

Length isn't really a factor in a review tbh. Just make sure the quality is good. I mean, of course people would rather read a review of decent length than a monstrous one, but it's still about quality.


Alright, thanks a bunch.

Hawks
February 21st 2011



34465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No problem at all man.

Darkvoid67
February 22nd 2011



383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review. Demigod is best Behemoth, this is second. If you ask me, the length was just right; long enough to get your point across but short enough so I didn't become bored.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2011



5918 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

although this is not a breakthrough in death/black metal by any means, it is excellent.

Digging: Essence Beyond - Carnivalism

Pr0nogo
February 22nd 2011



373 Comments


Nice review. Demigod is best Behemoth, this is second. If you ask me, the length was just right; long enough to get your point across but short enough so I didn't become bored.


Thanks for the comment! I agree that "Demigod" is the best so far, but I think that they mastered the sound they were aiming for with "The Apostasy" in this record.

although this is not a breakthrough in death/black metal by any means, it is excellent.


Agreed.

TheNotrap
September 3rd 2011



7981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Just bought Evangelion on Amazon.
Next week I will be jamming hard

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2011



7021 Comments


This is one of the last death metal albums I recall enjoying thoroughly.

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

TheNotrap
September 3rd 2011



7981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Can't wait to hear
m/

but your rate is...let's say...low

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2011



6937 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

but your rate is...let's say...low


it's a 'great' rating lol

Acanthus
December 4th 2011



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So far I enjoy this more than Demigod.

Digging: The Cure - The Head on the Door



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy