Former Ghosts
New Love


4.5
superb

Review

by iluvtweepop USER (7 Reviews)
February 21st, 2011 | 13 replies | 3,819 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist


In 2009, former ghosts released the album fleurs. To me this album was (and still is) perfect, from the gloomy (and surprisingly danceable) ‘dreams’, to the very joy division-esque ‘hold on’. Every song was an epic win, and the fact that the band consists of THREE of my favourite artists (Jamie Stewart, Freddy Rupert, and Niki Roza) only made the album better for me. The album was an ultimate triumph of synth-pop goodness. So, how does new love differ?

Well it doesn’t, it’s yet another ultimate triumph of synth-pop goodness.

Opener ‘the days will get long again’ pretty much solidifies this, with deviously simple instrumentation and heartfelt, metaphor laden lyrics (‘’ Let’s stay wrapped up in sheets/We'll place fate against fate/We'll stay until the days get long again/The biggest lie that anyone ever told me was...). Then the unbelievably brilliant ‘New Orleans’ pops up and you know the album's going to be fantastic. It’s a mid-tempo track with a very nice synth in the background and a simple beat. The lyrics hark back to the song ‘dreams’ from fleurs (we'll leave here together/have that life we always dreamt of/wooden floors and chandeliers/and you can tell me I’m not dreaming).

And then something amazing happens: my 3 favourite songs on the album appear back to back. First up is ‘chin up’ with the lovely and extremely talented Niki Roza. She doesn’t sound as operatic as she does with Zola Jesus and on this song she sounds reigned in almost. That doesn’t stop the song being any more amazing. (On a side note: Niki Roza should be waaaay more popular then she is. Just saying). ‘…and when you kiss me’ is up next and it as if Freddy has been possessed by the ghost of Ian Curtis (r.i.p). Opening with an insanely good guitar riff (!), it becomes a very happy song with a great chorus (Round and round again/and when you kiss me/It seals my fate). Then my absolute favourite song on the album, ‘Taurean Nature’. The lyrics are a mournful reflection on the end of a relationship, with the narrator stating ‘’ everyone that comes after you/i will love them more than you/just to spite you/yes, just to spite you’’, With an extremely simple backing to force you to listen to what’s being said. It’s so heartfelt that you have to like this song, it’s impossible not to.

So if the album's so good, then why have i given it 4.5? Surely it’s a 5? Well I can’t give it a 5 because it hasn’t changed all that much from fleurs. They haven’t progressed that much, and although it’s a winning formula, a bit of experimentation would have been nice. But I guess that’s what xiu xiu’s for right?
All in all this a superb album. Both of this bands albums have been spectacular and I expect much more from them in the future.

Recommended songs:
New Orleans
Chin up
…and when you kiss me
Taurean nature



Recent reviews by this author
Single Mothers Single MothersJohnny Foreigner Johnny Foreigner vs Everything
Los Campesinos! Hello SadnessAnimal Collective Danse Manatee
Xiu Xiu Dear God, I Hate MyselfThe Mars Volta Octahedron
user ratings (6)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
iluvtweepop
February 21st 2011



463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As always tell me how to do my job and suggest improvements
i will be forever grateful

Tyrael
February 21st 2011



20394 Comments


Oh god finally a normal review!
You might want to add the tracklist by the way.
Review's good but you might want to refrain from asking questions, it's a tad confusing.

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

iluvtweepop
February 21st 2011



463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i did, it didn't show up
and oh ok thanx

iFghtffyrdmns
February 21st 2011



7047 Comments


1.) Work on capitalization. Band Name should be capitalized, album name(s) should be capitalized. Song names should most likely be capitalized, unless if they appear lower-case on the official album tracklist.

2.) Punctuation: In what I think is the third paragraph, you use parentheses and single tic quotes. Don't do this, use regular double quotation marks and drop the parentheses.

3.) "...you know the albums going to be..." - should be album's or album is. Again in the last paragraph, albums should be album's or album is.

4.)Work on repetitiveness. You use the phrase "ultimate triumph of synth-pop goodness" three times in the first couple paragraphs. While I was reading, this fact really irritated me. Try not to be quite so trite.

5.) In general, try to take a less casual, more professional approach to writing. You can write your review with a slight feel of conversation, but this goes a little too far with it. Avoid saying things like how "amazing" or "brilliant" a song or record is without providing some analytical insight to back it up. Also, some of your "rhetorical" questions do make this review sound chunky and clumsy in parts.

My biggest piece of advice to you is to just read a lot more reviews on this site. It's not that you've written a bad review here, it's just that your writing style in general really detracts from the points you're trying to make in the album analysis and whatnot. Check out writers like Irving, Xenophanes, SowingSeason, SeaAnemone and read as many of their reviews as you can, they all have very nicely flowing writing styles and it might help you to get an idea of how a more cohesively written review should sound.

Sorry to throw a LOT of criticism at you, but I'm doing so in the hopes that it will be constructive. You've obviously got some nice things to say about these records and sometimes you do back it up nicely with your analysis, but your style of writing tends to take away from this. Hope this can help out some.

iluvtweepop
February 21st 2011



463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wow thanx for that
i will defo act upon what you've said
and don't say sorry if everyone said i was good and i wasn't i'd remain crap forever :D

omnipanzer
February 21st 2011



21391 Comments


Holy god it's not a radiohead review
/Cheer

Digging: Dead Combo - A bunch of meninos

Tyrael
February 21st 2011



20394 Comments


Holy god it's not a radiohead review

I feel people are gonna be posting them all week long... I have one ready but I'll post it when the hype is over.

iluvtweepop
February 21st 2011



463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i hate the new album so i'm not gonna waste my time with it tbh
eventually we'll get a good negative

Tyrael
February 21st 2011



20394 Comments


Yeah, mine ^^

iluvtweepop
February 21st 2011



463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

whoop whoop :DD

LiveUnsigned
February 21st 2011



2 Comments


I agree with your review (mainly): http://www.liveunsigned.com/Former_Ghosts/

iFghtffyrdmns
February 22nd 2011



7047 Comments


these damn celebrities coming through again....

still waiting for thom yorke to post on a radiohead review

iluvtweepop
February 23rd 2011



463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that'd be lolz
who's a celebrity on this one then?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy