Glassjaw
Coloring Book


5.0
classic

Review

by slaythesocialists USER (3 Reviews)
February 16th, 2011 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: “And again you’ll find a miracle in inches…I know you will”

It seems that 2011 is THE year to be a Glassjaw fan. After 8 years of beating around the proverbial bush, possible legal troubles, Daryl’s medical conditions, and a dizzying array of strange marketing schemes it seems we finally have new Glassjaw material in our hands. Of course all of this waiting and incessant bickering on the part of their fan-base would all be for nothing if the new material didn’t absolutely slay, and make no mistakes, it does.

Coloring book represents a complete and total transformation of Glassjaw’s post-hardcore aesthetic. Granted, the band has always been a step ahead of its peers with regards to experimentation, showcasing great strides in creativity from debut Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Silence to their second LP Worship and Tribute, but Coloring Book is a different beast entirely. By abandoning all of the trappings of any specific genre identity, Glassjaw have reached a pinnacle in their long career, and have managed to create a set of songs that deviate sonically from anything else on the market. This EP is classic not because it evokes tremendous emotion or nostalgia for Glassjaw’s back catalog (it actually has quite the opposite effect), but because it manages to be so unique, so triumphant, and so confident with its inherent experimentation that it has left all other competitors in the dust…I’m looking at you Letlive.

From the opening drum kicks and brooding drone of Black Nurse to the closing croon of Daytona White, Coloring Book lets its listeners know why 8 years was worth the wait. The band seems so utterly flawless in its execution and so confident in its new direction that it’s impossible not to nod your head along. Durijah’s drumming is impeccable, Manny’s bass grooves seem inhuman, and Beck’s guitar tones and unabashed use of synths are astonishing. “Vanilla Poltergeist Snake” seems the best showcase of everyone’s talents consisting of an irresistibly catchy bass line, eerie synths, and Daryl’s new love for vocal harmonies with himself. However, each track brings something new to the table whether it be the latin-esque guitar line in the bridge of Gold, the methodical guitar distortion of Miracles in Inches, or the shocking jam of Daytona White; Glassjaw prove that coloring book will undoubtedly be the most unique, if not the best, set of songs from 2011. So it seems safe to say that Glassjaw have once again found a Miracle in inches, or rather a classic in a six song EP. Here’s to hoping for a full length…it’s never been more tangible.


user ratings (890)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
David Driver (4.5)
Not your big brother’s Glassjaw....

kygermo (4.5)
So much said in such little time.....

Ryan Flatley EMERITUS (4.5)
With the re-emergence of Glassjaw, Coloring Book provides a reincarnation of their sound....


Comments:Add a Comment 
slaythesocialists
February 16th 2011


171 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

some of my worst review writing imo, but i felt I had to get my classic view up pretty fast. I review a lot on a blog, so I figured I'd start here as well

iFghtffyrdmns
February 16th 2011


7047 Comments


worst review writing? reads pretty damn smoothly to me, short but says exactly what I think you were trying to say. i'll definitely have to check this out at some point in time.

slaythesocialists
February 16th 2011


171 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

haha thanks man, maybe cause I wrote it really quickly it just seemed kind of choppy to me

natey
February 16th 2011


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

how about them inhuman bass grooves!

dcha
February 16th 2011


990 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fucking bothers me when people post something they aren't happy with. Work on it until it's good and post it. Nobody cares how small the amount of time you put into it is.

slaythesocialists
February 16th 2011


171 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

alright bro tell you what, write a review first and if its better than this then you can talk shit, I liked what I wrote thought it expressed what I wanted to say, but don't think its my best writing

Knott-
Emeritus
February 16th 2011


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

dcha that's pretty dumb, most of the best writers on this site would agree that sometimes it just doesn't come out perfect. that doesn't mean it's unfit to publish.

good review and good rating.

cvlts
February 16th 2011


8955 Comments


hence the 'edit' button

dcha
February 16th 2011


990 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

*Hay guise, I wrote this in like ten minutes so herp derp.

I don't respect work with this asterisk attached. That is all I'm saying. The review is fine.

DinosaurJones
February 16th 2011


490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I haven't given it the 5 yet, but a couple more listens might get it up there. Then again, I have listened to it about 12 times since I got it yesterday...

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2011


17213 Comments


oh jesus christ. the daryl palumbo dick sucking on this site is just getting ridiculous. this is good but you guys are selling this way too hard.

Digging: Inigo Kennedy - Vaudeville

Defeater
February 16th 2011


5782 Comments


yeah guys if they formed in california it'd be at least 1 point higher

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2011


17213 Comments


the fuck does where a band forms have to do with anything?

Defeater
February 16th 2011


5782 Comments


this girl I know sings in this band















check them out




(cali)

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2011


17213 Comments


god damn i wish dave stuck to his guns and permabanned your ass.

PuddlesPuddles
February 16th 2011


4772 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is missing something. Whatever that something is, it's a lot of that something

Defeater
February 16th 2011


5782 Comments


yeah me too

sadly the irish consistently fail at everything worthwhile

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2011


31163 Comments


oh jesus christ. the daryl palumbo dick sucking on this site is just getting ridiculous. this is good but you guys are selling this way too hard.


This, so much

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

Yazz_Flute
February 16th 2011


18783 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You should change the last word from "tangible" to "palpable."

Digging: Battles - Mirrored

tkxxx7
February 16th 2011


6153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

or from 'more tangible' to 'close to tangible'

but Yazz's suggestion is better

cuz you know

can't touch it

yet



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy