No Doubt
Return of Saturn


4.5
superb

Review

by Ryou-Neko USER (6 Reviews)
November 5th, 2005 | 20 replies | 14,964 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist


2 of 5 thought this review was well written

No Doubt is one of the most influential bands of our era - particularly when they released Tragic Kingdom, in 1995. After they released TK, high expectations were set for their third album, to be entitled Return of Saturn. It was named because at the time they started recording it, Gwen was turning 30, and this corresponded with Saturn's orbit around the sun. Anyway, Return of Saturn recieved wonderful reviews from critics, and I plan to do the same.

The CD starts off with the lead single, the rock-ish "Ex-Girlfriend". Surprisingly enough, this and the next...2 songs were also about Gwen and bandmate Tony Kanal's breakup. This single stayed the pop charts for quite some time, but didn't meet the success of Don't Speak, their first #1 single.

The next song, Simple Kind of Life, is perhaps the best song on the album and one of the only two songs Gwen has written entirely by herself, words and music. It starts with a catchy, ambiguous (happy/sad) chord structure, leading up to the meaningful chorus - "and all I wanted was the simple things/a simple kind of life/and all I needed was a simple man/so I could be a wife" - which talks about Gwen's longings to be a mother.

Bathwater, the fourth track, is an irresistibly catchy mid-tempo, trumpet-infused song that uses some of No Doubt's old sound, that brings to mind their 1994 Beacon Street Collection.

The cd continues with "Magic's in the Makeup". This is one of the more toned-down songs that No Doubt has made. It features a low guitar and is probably some of the most intuitively-produced music that No Doubt has ever made.

You're getting a bit bored by now, but the cd convieniently wakes you up with the nothing-but-brilliant Artificial Sweetener. It starts with a rock riff that brings to mind a faster version of the previous song.

The tenth track on the album, "Comforting Lie" is one of No Doubt's politically-inclined song. Whether originally written about George Bush or not, it was included on a version of Rock Against Bush, an anti-George Bush cd.

The cd slowly tunes down, going through three more songs, into the ballad Dark Blue, one of my personal favorites.

Return of Saturn is some of No Doubt's best work and will remain to be a classic album of the new Millenium.



Recent reviews by this author
Evanescence FallenGwen Stefani Love. Angel. Music. Baby.
Bright Eyes Letting Off the HappinessVanessa Carlton Harmonium
Bright Eyes Every Day and Every Night
user ratings (143)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2005



15727 Comments


Short and lacks detail. No Doubt has never done it for me, neither has Gwen.

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

masada
November 5th 2005



2733 Comments


I honestly don't think that No Doubt are as influential as you claim them to be, and I don't necessarily think that they're as great either. I haven't heard any of the songs from this album, but I don't think I'm really that interested in it. Ha, I actually like solo Gwen Stefani.

Anyway, about the review. It was lacklustre. You need a lot more detail when discussing the songs, the album, or whatever else is relevant to the album. What you have is alright, but you really need to work on writing with more detail.

Zebra
Moderator
November 5th 2005



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I like reading short & detailed reviews, unfortunately you didn't have enough detail, try adding more next time.

This album is weak IMO, No Doubts early stuff was bomb.

lightbulbsun
November 5th 2005



11 Comments


you overrated this way too much, and the review told me pretty much nothing.

DownPaymentBlues78
November 5th 2005



278 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I agree with Eliminator Jr., No Doubt aren't a fraction as influential or as great as you made them out to be.

YDload
November 5th 2005



1207 Comments


You should not write another review ever, as you are really bad at them. You got bored after two songs and tremendously overestimated both the band and the album's impact.

Ryou-Neko
November 6th 2005



48 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sorry for the lack of detail; this was mostly written to see what other people thought of this album, not to be a good review.

"You should not write another review ever, as you are really bad at them. You got bored after two songs and tremendously overestimated both the band and the album's impact"

I got bored after two songs? Please explain this to me, it's quite confusing...

No Doubt was one of the bands that got us out of that dreadful Nirvana era. I don't see any point in arguing that fact, but you may go ahead.

DownPaymentBlues78
November 6th 2005



278 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

You skipped about 6 songs in your review.

And if you think this album is anything of an improvement from Nirvana, you're crazy.

Ryou-Neko
November 8th 2005



48 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think that Nirvana is one of the most boring, annoying, and stereotypical bands of all time. They sound the same in every song.

NuMetalMania
December 15th 2005



325 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

No doubt is alright, but Ex-Girlfriend of this album is one of my all-time favourites, the fil clip also is one of the best.

Lollla
January 3rd 2007



7 Comments


I like your review! "The lack of detail", as people said, didn't bother me, maybe because I'm not used to this website! Return Of Saturn is for me the best ND album (though I'm hesitating with TK)...I agree with you on most songs, though I'm not enthusiastic as you on "Simple kind of life". Oh,"Ex-girlfriend" is not a reference about Tony and Gwen's breakup, Gwen explains it in a great "making the video", I think it's on Youtube. Artificial Sweetener and Six feet Under are my favorite songs on this album. And yes, ND is for me too a great and influential band! After all , the group was created almost 2O years ago! None of their album is the same, they kept their originality through all these years!

RazorBladeLight
June 21st 2007



258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love Gwen-No Doubt. I despise Gwen-Solo act. This was the last great thing No Doubt did either way. All the songs are good, just not perfect in any way. Artificial Sweetner is my favorite track. Damn seems like ages ago that I bought this. It's great for a listen every now and then.
I'm looking at a lot of people's low ratings and am not surprised. After reading about this album it seems like it came out with a lukewarm response, though your review makes it seem otherwise. I do know for a fact that this is in no way classic. Great, not classic though.

random
July 6th 2012



2259 Comments


I don't like anything Gwen Stefani has done after "Tragic Kingdom".

Pedropaydro
April 8th 2013



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is underrated. I never even looked at this album as a great album, I would always debate between TK and RS as their best album until a few weeks ago i found it and decided to listen to it again for old time sake and man am i glad i did. TK delievers a Ska sound in a punk rock format during a dark era in music and has become an essential recording,It was hip and fresh. but ROS comes out w/o a new hip sound but rather a straight up rock out attitude and if you really listen to and try to drown out Gwens awsome vocals and hear the music playing you can tell there is so much passion and refreshing energy put into it, the 80s influenced satire on lyrics and fade outs and background vocals and etc., Its amazing and obvious hard work shining. One listen to this album WILL DEFIANETLY not be enough so dont come up on here swining your fingers it sucks and is nothin special when you havent even analyzed the CD in a respectable manner. And track 8. New is there best song ever, and one of my personal favorites.

Pedropaydro
April 8th 2013



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh and yes No Doubts TK RS and ROS shit on Nirvanas B NVM and IU. are there albums good? of course. Are there albums also winey overrated bullshit that have become the product of mainstream scenery ? Why yes they have. No Doubt is fun and have more atmosphere and personality and also dont make every other track generic to the first track and Gwen Stefani could probably beat Kurt Cobains sissy ass with both hands chopped off.

dannyboy89
May 2nd 2013



11911 Comments


This is okay, but TK is easily better imo.

dannyboy89
May 2nd 2013



11911 Comments


I would like this more if it had less filler.

demigod!
May 2nd 2013



43853 Comments


ska punk >

Digging: Black Flag - My War

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 2nd 2013



19451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol this is like a track by track but it doesn't even follow through with it

Digging: The Who - Tommy

dannyboy89
May 2nd 2013



11911 Comments


This is a 7 year old review, so nobody seems to care.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy