Crowbar
Sever The Wicked Hand


3.5
great

Review

by Matthijs van der Lee USER (219 Reviews)
February 8th, 2011 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Barely surprising, somewhat repetitive, but ultimately: another worthy Crowbar release.

Going nearly 20 years strong, Kirk Windstein and his Crowbar are sludge metal veterans, one of those typically consistent bands that have carved their style and keep employing it in great fashion. It’s been exactly six years since their last record, Life’s Blood for the Downtrodden, and fans’ expectations for Sever the Wicked Hand will be high. The band’s ninth studio album may not be altogether worth the long release gap, but it certainly is a powerful, relentless dose of quality heavy metal.

Those familiar with Crowbar and their sound will hardly face any surprises on Sever the Wicked Hand, which builds slowly over the course of its first three tracks and concludes in the same manner. Dense, brooding, heavy, and fittingly accompanied by a muddy production, the album is packed steadily with powerful riffs, which find perfect company in Windstein’s vocal presence, shouting his way through in an unforgiving manner. During the middle portion, from Let Me Mourn onwards, things pick up considerably, in speed and in quality, with the band’s hardcore influences growing more apparent when The Cemetery Angels comes around. The following songs enjoy some more creative, and also melodic input, but apart from the much-needed break A Farewell to Misery, the repetition of the record is inevitable. This is of course a given in sludge metal, and barely mars the impact here. It does however prevent the record to become something more, something that goes beyond Crowbar’s usual level of quality.

It’s not as if the band need the album to be more than it is. The last thing their fans, or those of sludge metal in general will be, is displeased. With Sever the Wicked Hand, Crowbar have created a good fifty minutes of pounding, downbeat, and ultimately powerful music that many a metalhead will be blasting into his ears with great pleasure, and perhaps that is really all there is to say about it.



Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (86)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Lambda (3.5)
Solid, if at times overly repetitive, Crowbar's latest should please fans of their older material....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
February 8th 2011


8315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Since I wasn't sure if the staff was going to bother about this: here we go.

wyankeif1337
February 8th 2011


6739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fuck i was gonna review this

pos, good album, good review

DoubtGin
February 8th 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yea I agree with this

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2011


8391 Comments


Nice review Nag, this is already on my list of things to pick up but your review further solidifies it.

omnipanzer
February 8th 2011


21660 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Another review did this just come out yesterday?

Review is nice and brief BTW.

Nagrarok
February 8th 2011


8315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is already on my list of things to pick up but your review further solidifies it.


Yeah I can't see you disliking this. Thanks for pointing out the errors too, they are no more.

Thank you guys.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2011


8391 Comments


Yaah, I hope to get this today, but if not, I'll be sure to aquire it during the rest of the week.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2011


7320 Comments


ultimately powerful music that many a metalhead will be blasting into his ears with great pleasure

Maybe include the feminine pronoun (her) as well? Minor thing, I know, but why not - right? =)

Great review Nag. Not a fan of heavy music, but this review was open and accessible enough even for n00bs like me.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2011


7320 Comments


Also, album cover is f&%king BOSS.

jingledeath
February 8th 2011


7104 Comments


I have this in my pc somewhere but I don't feel like listening to it.

Nagrarok
February 8th 2011


8315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Maybe include the feminine pronoun (her) as well? Minor thing, I know, but why not - right? =)


A good point, which I nevertheless will dismiss since the majority of the metal-listening population is of the male gender (not to mention the population of this site's users). Also yes, the cover art is good.

Jethro42
February 8th 2011


12624 Comments


Another excellent right-to-the-point review, dude. Out of what I've heard, screaming vocals remind me those found in The Ocean band.

Tyrael
February 8th 2011


20972 Comments


Oh I was expecting a continuation of the Yes storyline, but this is nice too. Good work Nag.

Nagrarok
February 8th 2011


8315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Another excellent right-to-the-point review, dude. Out of what I've heard, screaming vocals remind me those found in The Ocean band.


Thanks mate, haven't heard anything by them.

Oh I was expecting a continuation of the Yes storyline


Worry not, I take breaks (mostly when the line-up changed) to prevent boredom by writing on the same group for too long. Next up will be another Yes review.

Tyrael
February 8th 2011


20972 Comments


Ah I was wondering how you managed to keep your storyline reviews so fresh...

LepreCon
February 8th 2011


4156 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review as always, Nag. Also, cool avatar, never figured you for a Kingdom Hearts fan

Nagrarok
February 9th 2011


8315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hm, really? A combination of Disney and my favourite game series, what more could I ask for? They should make KH3 and then wrap it up though, too many unworthy pre-/interquels that add little to the universe.

Tyrael
February 9th 2011


20972 Comments


They should make KH3 and then wrap it up though, too many unworthy pre-/interquels that add
little to the universe.

Word.

LepreCon
February 10th 2011


4156 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well Birth By Sleep is pretty kewl and the new one coming out (Dream Drop Distance) is shaping up to be pretty awesome. But yeah I see where you're coming from, but KH3 is still a loooong way off unfortunately

Nagrarok
February 10th 2011


8315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I'm not saying they're bad (haven't played BBS because I don't own a PSP), but they just don't measure up to KH and KH2, and there are too many of them altogether by now.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy