Blue Oyster Cult
Spectres


4.0
excellent

Review

by Gigglesdemon USER (31 Reviews)
January 31st, 2011 | 17 replies | 7,249 views


Release Date: 1977 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of classic rock's most underrated albums.

This album makes me angry. Furious even. Not because it’s bad. Actually, it’s just the opposite. It’s fantastic. It is such a great album, along with so many of other of Blue Ӧyster Cult albums, and not many know it. People know Blue Ӧyster Cult for about four songs. (Don’t Fear) The Reaper, Cities on Flame With Rock n’ Roll, Godzilla, and Burnin’ for You. All great songs in their own right, but no one knows the really great Blue Ӧyster Cult tunes. Songs like The Marshall Plan, Veteran of the Psychic Wars, and others. And this album has three or four of the Cult’s greatest songs. Blue Ӧyster Cult on this album is:

Eric Bloom- Vocals, Guitar
Joe Bouchard- Bass, Vocals, Guitar
Donald “Buck Dharma” Roeser- Lead Guitar, Vocals
Albert Bouchard- Drums, Vocals, Harmonica
Allen Lanier- Keyboard,Guitar

Spectres opens up with one of Blue Ӧyster Cult’s biggest hits, “Godzilla.” It rumbles along like the giant monster of the same name. This song really shows off Donald’s great guitar work, and this trait of Blue Ӧyster Cult carries throughout the whole album, having some of the Cult’s best guitar driven songs, like “Godzilla,” “Golden Age of Leather,” and “R. U. Ready to Rock?.”

But the one thing that always drew me to BӦC is the vocals. All of the songs on here have great vocal parts, and everyone really gives it their best shot. One of the main reason that Blue Ӧyster Cult never got big, even with tracks that seem tailor made to be hits like “Going Through the Motions,” is the dark atmosphere (at least for the time). And the vocals and soft guitars really accomplish this. Even the upbeat tracks like “Fireworks,” “Going Through the Motions,” and “R. U. Ready to Rock?” are rather dark and creepy. But the two songs that really accomplish this, and are some of the definitive Cult songs are “Nosferatu” and “I Love the Night.” In both these songs the vocals really carry the track, and are haunting and creepy. Particularly “I Love the Night,” which is one of the creepiest and most enjoyable songs I’ve ever listened to.

Another underrated part of an underrated band is the drumming. Albert Bouchard is a fantastic drummer, and he is one of my favorite drummers of all time. His drumming is always spot on for the song, and technical and demanding.

Any fan of classic rock, or even early heavy metal, should check this album out and become more familiar with one of the most underrated bands of all time.

Pros:
-Haunting and Creepy vocals
-Solid Guitar work
-Effective and technical drumming

Cons:
-Some songs aren’t particular standouts, and seem a little generic

Recommended Tracks:
I Love the Night
Golden Age of Leather
Fireworks



Recent reviews by this author
Nobuo Uematsu Final Fantasy VI: Original SoundtrackHuntress Spell Eater
Holy Terror Terror and SubmissionLegend (USA) From the Fjords
Manilla Road Atlantis RisingVyrion Vyrion
user ratings (99)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
scissorlocked
January 31st 2011


3509 Comments


Its so sad there aren't any comments here.This happens to be a huge rock band, and the album is brilliant.

Godzilla is such a cult song

Gigglesdemon
January 31st 2011


187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks. This is my favorite BOC album, and I was shocked there wasn't a review. So I cobbled one together. It's probably not my best, but it's not my worst. I'll probably edit it later.

scissorlocked
January 31st 2011


3509 Comments


review is generally good
Just try to avoid saying your opinion with such straightforwardness like this:

"and he is one of my favorite drummers of all time."

You may find it useful to use implications about your opinion.,they make the review less "informal" and generally more consistent

North0House
January 31st 2011


1764 Comments


These guys are awesome.

Gigglesdemon
February 1st 2011


187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the advice, I just wasn't really sure how else to phrase that.

Happy2review
September 19th 2011


112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I recently bought this CD not to long ago. Definately a good pick up, not sure which BOC album to get next, there are quite a few choices..


TheVoiceAndTheSnake
September 19th 2011


3663 Comments


Their self-titled Happy2review

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
June 7th 2012


1874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's not their best, but it is a little more 'polished' than its predecessors.

Digging: Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden

Snooze00
December 2nd 2012


236 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This album is the worse. There music is just a little too sparkly and happy joy joy for my tastes. They just cant seem to write good hooks into there songs that dont sound cheesy and muddled not to mention uninspiring. I really tried to like this band, as apparently they are very influential and pivotal in history of Metal and rock. but to no avail. There out of here, cya later.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
December 3rd 2012


1874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, that's your opinion and should be respected. Have you heard their first three albums yet? I feel you might judge the band a little better if you'd listen to albums like 'Tyranny and Mutation' or 'Secret Treaties'.

Snooze00
December 3rd 2012


236 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I did go and listen to both albums and I do think there better albums then the current crop ive been listening to but still very average but thanks for the recomendation. Secret treaties was the better of the 2 IMO but still Im not connecting with the overall vibe. I just think the song writing and the vocals are just not connecting with me in any meaningful way.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 3rd 2012


15997 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

bit weak but has its moments

Digging: Hominido - Estirpe Litica

dannyboy89
March 21st 2013


11960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Track 2 is pretty good.

dannyboy89
March 21st 2013


11960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, this is a solid 4.

mark7477
December 21st 2013


393 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This album has plenty of it's good and bad moments but I think Godzilla and Nosferatu are the most stand out tracks on this one and the rest is somewhat generic if not weak more than one occasion.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2014


15997 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

damn this is so weak, even mirrors had the vigil on it but this is all dross

MrSirLordGentleman
June 19th 2014


4401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

mena, why

Digging: Nina Simone - Pastel Blues



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy