Mt. Meridian
Emeritus


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sputnik's official false metal authority USER (28 Reviews)
January 21st, 2011 | 46 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If this EP is any indication, post-hardcore is still alive and well.

There are several things you can do as a band if a genre is dying. You can stomp it into the ground, Sex Pistol's style, or you can try to keep it alive, like Mt. Meridian are attempting on their first EP Emeritus. The genre I am talking about is, of course, post-hardcore. As quickly as it emerged thanks to bands like Emery, it is now sadly fading out. Mt. Meridian is one of the few bands that are trying to pick up the pieces and now they salvaged a last stand for post-hardcore.

The album's intro is already very effective in drawing you in, displaying a faded out guitar leading up slowly to the climax, which is also the beginning of the next song 'Wander'. This song immediately display's Mt. Meridian's guitar prowess and their singer's formidable vocal capabilities. It must be said, the band's lead singer Mike Rouleau is one hell of a talented singer. His growls are top notch, and the cleans by Peter Quinn are fantastic as well. To make the package complete, they fit together very well, as displayed on 'Night People'. This track is also a fantastic display of musical skill, and shows that they are capable of creating more than just classical hardcore riffs. Musically, the track could have been on Brand New's The Devil And God Are Raging Inside Me, at least until Rouleau showcases his amazing growls and turns the song upside down.

The best thing about this EP is that it is so varied in musical style, and that is why it is a very intruiging listen. The guitar playing is often pretty soft compared to the vocals, which creates a very enjoyable, calm vibe. Not that it is present on every song, but I was surprised that the band managed to perfectly balance the agression of the hardcore elements with the more technical and sometimes pretty emotional progressive elements. That vibe can also be found in the pretty dashing drums, which really pop out on several occasions and shift the quality of the songs to an even higher level. If I may refer to Brand New again, the song 'Animal Fair', albeit being an instrumental, showcases so much emotion that I had to check if I wasn't listening to The Devil And God... As for instrumentals, this band has mastered the art of progressive music. They never get too carried away with insane solo plays, but together, they sound dazzling. You just might forget all about Rouleau's amazing vocals, simply because their instumentals will carry you far away, straight to post-hardcore heaven.

In the end, Emeritus sounds like a fine blend between progressive, hardcore and other genres I can not quite put my finger on, just the way post-hardcore should sound. Where Mt. Meridian's creative exploits will carry us next I don't know, but I do know that I will treasure Emeritus as an amazing post-hardcore effort.



Recent reviews by this author
Deathspell Omega DroughtMarina and The Diamonds Electra Heart
Coeur de Pirate BlondedEUS Keep You Close
Cruachan Blood on the Black RobeAosoth III - Violence & Variation
user ratings (15)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyrael
January 21st 2011


20879 Comments


Constructive criticism is appreciated etc...

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Josh D.
January 21st 2011


13968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I sort of changed my mind on these guys. While the clean vocals irk me a little (that style in general does), everything else is good. I particulary like the drumming, and the way the drums sound.

Josh D.
January 21st 2011


13968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really like the post-rock style of "Night People". As for the review, you kind of write like I do, with short, concise descriptions.

bobosucks
January 21st 2011


30 Comments


Thanks for the review man, nice job! Just a couple things though; although Phil Lord did do backups on this album, lead vocals were done by Mike Rouleau and clean vocals by Pete Quinn. Otherwise, sweet.

Josh D.
January 21st 2011


13968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I saw a live video of a show last night on YouTube. I didn't know they were so young.

Hep Kat
January 21st 2011


15351 Comments


hatin on this for personal reasons

Josh D.
January 21st 2011


13968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They kicked you out of the band and hit it big.


Sucks.

Counterfeit
January 21st 2011


17819 Comments


un ennerrstuys

Captain North
January 21st 2011


6787 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I was thinking of writing a review for these guys, they deserve one. Good review bro.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2011


16021 Comments


Would have been better if an emeritus reviewed this

Digging: Yellowcard - Lift a Sail

BTBAMbear
January 21st 2011


96 Comments


"hatin on this for personal reasons"


lol. Please, do explain.

t4n2004
January 22nd 2011


37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this band rules. great dudes, great music!!!

Tyrael
January 22nd 2011


20879 Comments


@bobosucks fixed thanks!

@Josh D Well I felt that kind of writing was suited for an EP.

@SowingSeason sorry to dissapoint you man.

@t4n2004 totally!

bobosucks
January 22nd 2011


30 Comments


"un ennerrstuys"

What is this? I'm just curious, Google had no idea.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
January 22nd 2011


16021 Comments


Just kidding haha this is a good review obv

caseyaylward
January 22nd 2011


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

while on the surface this may seem like post-hardcore whatever, i think these guys have injected enough feeling and raw passion into it that is translates better than most all of the bands who make "this" kind of music. good job guys, can't wait to play together.

Josh D.
January 22nd 2011


13968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What.

Tyrael
January 22nd 2011


20879 Comments


@casey They are definitely post-hardcore, but they do incorporate a lot of different elements that
give the songs a special kind of vibe. By the way, there are a lot of post hardcore bands that have a
lot of emotion put into their songs, Trophy Scar's Darkness, Oh Hell EP is a perfect example of
that.
And just like Josh said:

I really like the post-rock style


@Sowing I knew it! Thanks man.

caseyaylward
January 22nd 2011


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@tyraelxy what i meant to convey, was that this album holds a special place for me. i got to see it evolve from rough recordings to the final product. and being that im buds with mark, im just proud to see it all come into fruition, and for some reason just tagging it as post-hardcore seems lackluster for me. but we can agree that its a great album no matter which way you slice it.

Tyrael
January 22nd 2011


20879 Comments


Well it needs a tag for me to be able to review it anyway. And for me, post-hardcore well done is about the best thing ever. But I see your point, and I know that it is hard to define what this truly is, but I can say one thing: this is a great EP.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy