Pearl Jam
Live On Ten Legs


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jamie Coughlan USER (11 Reviews)
January 19th, 2011 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A welcome addition to the casual fan's collection.

Imagine you are a member of one of the most renowned live acts in the world. Over the last ten years, your band has released nearly every one of your concerts as an official bootleg. Why then would you want to release a compilation of your shows from the last seven years? Surely, the only plausible reason for doing this is to appeal to the casual fan who may be a little daunted by the hundreds of bootlegs to choose from.

If this was Pearl Jam’s intention while tracking this album it makes it baffling that they chose to open the lp with a cover of late punk legend Joe Strummer’s “Arms Aloft”. Surely, it would have been more in their interest to open the set with a slow burner from their extensive back catalogue as they do live instead of a cover of an only half-decent song. As it is, the album only kicks off at the second track “Worldwide Suicide” from their 2006 self-titled album. The opener sounds out of place and I imagine will be skipped by most listeners on repeat listens.

Other than this, the album chugs along ably as a microcosm of an actual Pearl Jam gig. After the raucous opening songs the album heads into mid tempo territory with a cover before reaching the finale complete with classic sing-along’s “Alive” and “Jeremy” before finishing up with perennial set closer “Yellow Ledbetter”. The two pleasant surprises the album has in store for the listener are how well the new material from 2009’s “Backspacer” sits next to the classics and the muscular production, which is streets ahead of the quality of the official bootlegs. There are four cuts from the aforementioned Backspacer and each fits seamlessly into its designated place.

“Got Some” is the first newer song to feature and takes its place amongst the early upbeat tracks on the album, sandwiched between “Animal” and “State of Love and Trust.” It is unsurprisingly impossible for the song to overcome such illustrious company but the song holds its own bravely and does not let the side down. Near the beginning of the mid tempo section of the album lays “Unthought Known”, which actually succeeds in upstaging “I Am Mine” which precedes it. This is due to “Unthought Known’s” soaring melody and steady, tense build.

“The Fixer” follows soon after and with this being a great up-tempo pop rock song it has no problems brushing shoulders with “Rearviewmirror” and “Nothing as it Seems.” “Just Breathe” ends the mid-tempo section of the cd before the album heads into class, sing-along terrain. The song actually works as a delightful, low-key bridge between the two sections; the calm before the storm.

In spite of the odd choice of opener and the throw away cover of “Public Image”; the album achieves its goal of providing a mini Pearl Jam live experience for the casual fan. The album is hardly an essential for the hardcore Pearl Jam fan but would be a welcome addition to the casual fans collection.



Recent reviews by this author
Pixies Indie CindyNothing Guilty of Everything
Queens of the Stone Age ...Like ClockworkThe Replacements Hootenanny
Soundgarden King AnimalMelvins Stag
user ratings (43)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Blindsided
January 19th 2011


1871 Comments


Good review, I'll probably look into this just for Unthought Known.

mallen-
January 19th 2011


1235 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not a bad review. Don't listen to the band as much as I used to, but when I did the bootlegs were what I listened to most. Oh, and the thing you said about slow burning openers is so true. I think an opener like Release really brings a lot to their live shows.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
January 19th 2011


7404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty good review. I was going to do this too but I might not bother now.

Willie
Moderator
January 19th 2011


16133 Comments


Not a bad review, but it felt like you used "the album" too often. I could be wrong, though.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

Nagrarok
January 19th 2011


8301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was just picking up some PJ albums I hadn't spun in a while today. Not all that interested in this though.

jamiecoughlan
January 19th 2011


87 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Willie Maybe you're right. Didn't notice that at all.

LepreCon
January 19th 2011


4152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a decent enough live album
Pearl Jam are an incredible band but
There's too many songs here that I don't care about
Needs moar Ten and Vs

omnipanzer
January 20th 2011


21646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review but you need to fix the three typo's in the last three paragraphs.
Pos'd ;^)

shallowgrave
January 20th 2011


6 Comments


Good review, but I completely disagree about "Arms Aloft". I think it's a fantastic cover.

Josh D.
January 20th 2011


13968 Comments


No "Black", dammit.

Nagrarok
January 20th 2011


8301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^their best song evur evur evur

LepreCon
January 20th 2011


4152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh yeah, no Black, wtf

Nagrarok
January 20th 2011


8301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Exactly like you said, needs more Ten and Vs. At least they play Jeremy and Alive.

LepreCon
January 20th 2011


4152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Perhaps someday they'll make a truly spectacular live album (the overpriced Live at the Gorge set just didn't cut it), they're well capable of it

Nagrarok
January 21st 2011


8301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, they aren not getting any younger, now are they? I listened to this after all, nothing wrong with it but lacks intensity at times, especially Rearviewmirror and Jeremy, two of their best, are dissapointing. Also, as much as I agree a slow-buning openers work better, I find nothing wrong with the cover here.

Langstrompe
January 21st 2011


7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wasn't sure if I should get this or not considering I already have bootlegs from the three shows I went to last summer but I've ended up with it anyway. The new songs are fantastic live, especially Unthought Known and Got Some. It's also nice to hear live versions of songs they don't play often like I Am Mine and In Hiding. Nothing As It Seems is so beautiful, so sad they have never played it at a show I've attended

LepreCon
January 21st 2011


4152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Perhaps if they officially released their MTV Unplugged session then that would satisfy (I have the DVD but it aint the same, needz moar than six songs)

Langstrompe
January 22nd 2011


7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^They released their Unplugged session last year with the remix of Ten.

natebearclaw
January 23rd 2011


8 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

...well, there really are some good/great songs here, but overall I have to give this an average rating. Average rating for a live compilation by a great band that had some good music.

omnipanzer
August 9th 2011


21646 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nah, it's a great live album by a band that has tons of great material. That being said there are many
many better live Pearl Jam albums out there to get.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy