Slipknot
Slipknot


4.5
superb

Review

by Pedro B. USER (303 Reviews)
October 31st, 2005 | 570 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist


‘Twas the year of 1999, and nu-metal was running rampant. New clones of Korn or the Deftones popped up off the ground like mushrooms, and spread like cancer. Most, if not all, of these bands sucked big time. However, one band showed that there was still some originality left in the US music scene. And surprisingly, they were anything but a nu-metal band.

Slipknot had started out in 1995, as the brainchild of percussionist Shawn Crahan. In those days, they were a seven-piece outfit and featured a very different formation from the one they have today, including a different singer. This formation released a nearly impossible-to-find demo entitled Mate, Feed, Kill, Repeat (or if you will, MFKR) in 1997, which despite showing some promise failed to make a blip in the radar.

Shawn quickly came to the conclusion that the band needed to improve, and the first thing he did was to get rid of half of his musicians, including incredibly sucky vocalist Anders Colsefni, whose main source of lyrical inspiration was videogames. He did, however, retain the services of bassist Paul Gray and amazing drummer Joey Jordison, while at the same time expanding the band through the inclusion of both a DJ and a samples manipulator. Slipknot thus became a nine-piece, an obscenely high number for a music ensemble, particularly a rock band. Not only that, they hid their entire image behind grotesquely deformed masks, and refused to ever show their faces, which contributed to the mistery surrounding them. All that is gone now, of course…*sigh*

In late 1999, the band released what would become their master opus, Slipknot. This self-titled debut caught the fairly stale music world by storm, with its abrasive mix of frenzied drums, crunchy guitars and claustrophobic samples. This was definitely not your average tattoo-laden new-metal band. Heck, it wasn’t even a nu-metal band in the first place. What Slipknot do is basically to blend the relentless percussive attack and cutting-edge guitar riffs of death/black metal with atmospheric and sometimes paranoia-inducing samples, creating what I like to call industrial death metal (copyright BB 2002). This original brand of extreme metal, felt throughout such cuts as Wait and Bleed or (Sic), helped establish the band as one of the freshest acts to appear in a long, long time.

There is, however, one factor of contention in Slipknot’s music: Corey Taylor. Some will say he sucks, others that his voice is perfectly suited to the group’s sound. Whatever the case, the truth is he does not write about videogames :D . Instead, he bases his lyrics on personal experiences and shows a clever use of metaphors, although he does rely a little too much on one particular four-letter word. In fact, if there ever was a record that justified the Parental Advisory symbol, this was probably it. However, his lyrics stray somewhat wide of the usual nu-metal clichés, although at times they do veer dangerously close to them.

But Corey isn’t the only good musician on this album. Later on in their career, most of the band members would prove to be multitasking musicians, however, on this album, it’s Joey who really stands out. Amazing is too weak a word to describe him. Imagine your average blastbeating death metal drummer, then elevate him to the tenth power, and you’ll have Joey. His performance on this album is as varied as it is powerful, and Slipknot’s sound clearly benefits from his presence.

But the real trump here is the songwriting. The same songwriting that would sound so stale on Iowa and so painfully directionless on Volume 3 really shines on this one, with tracks as furious as they are interesting, and as catchy as they are varied. Songs such as (Sic) and Only One are aggressively varied and musically very well-constructed, while Wait and Bleed or Spit It Out are more straightforward and insert a few melodic elements into the equation. Sure, with 14 tracks, there’s bound to be a few that don’t really stand out, but in the most part these are good, solid tracks.

Slipknot would slowly deteriorate after the release of this album. Their next outing Iowa would show a greater inclination towards death metal, without as many of the elements that make their debut so original. As for Volume 3…well, it’s best we don’t talk about it. However, S-knot’s first opus still stands as one of the quintessential records of the late 90’s and early 2000’s, and should be purchased by anyone who likes their metal solid, varied and aggressive.

Reccomended Tracks:

(Sic)
Wait And Bleed
Surfacing
Spit It Out
Only One



Recent reviews by this author
Big Ball Hotter than HellChosen Resolution
Werefox I Am MemorySound City Players Sound City: Real To Reel
Nirvana NevermindEnforcer Death By Fire
user ratings (2673)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Arrakakaka
October 31st 2005


685 Comments


Amazing review. This makes me want to even consider digging this up again...

Cravinov13
October 31st 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good album. Good review too.

time33consume33me
October 31st 2005


16 Comments


decent review but if i wasnt already a fan who owned this album id be none the wiser after reading this review, no detail on songs or over all sound of album, its more of a brief band history than an album review. and wtf? they would "deteriorate" after this album? are you crazy? vol 3. is an amazing step forward for them, very ballsy move for a band with simpleton fans who wont let them move in a different and more technical direction.

JacksonPlayerA7X
October 31st 2005


8 Comments


Once you tried to make them out to be death metal twice I just stopped reading. There's nothing death about them. Extremely basic and ridiculously detuned riffs paired with quite possibly the worst screamer I've ever heard in my life, and you got yourself something I'd coin even 'metal' very losely. Not to mention 9 people and halloween 24/7 obviously doesn't do anything for the musicianship..

wikuk
October 31st 2005


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not so good review a bit short, try to tell something more about the songs independent

and i'm sorry, but i voted no to your review, not to say that all your review aren't good, but this one was just a bit too short and not much about the album itselfThis Message Edited On 11.06.05

shimmy
October 31st 2005


41 Comments


Maybe u only had to talk more 'bout the songs but however...it's a nice rewiev with a lot of good info about the band...amazing album and great great drummer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ocelot-05
October 31st 2005


807 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You should write for Revolver or Rollingstone or something. Your review wasn't really long, which can be a good thing in certain contexts. Doing a track-by-track for Slipknot s/t would be kind of silly, and you wrote a review like a pro. Cheers! My vote you get.

Shadows
Moderator
October 31st 2005


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Nice review, although I disagree. This is easily the worst Slipknot album. The only song I like here is Eyeless.

wikuk
October 31st 2005


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review, although I disagree. This is easily the worst Slipknot album.


why?

gimo80
October 31st 2005


225 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The album is superb, by far the most aggressive and adreneline fuelled. Get in there :D

Shadows
Moderator
October 31st 2005


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

[QUOTE=wikuk]why?[/QUOTE]
It all comes down to personal taste. I really dislike nu metal, and this is Slipnkot's most "nu metal" album to date. Songs are creative and often dark, but the music is way too simplistic. I also find Corey's vocals here to be his worst ever (which is ashame, because I think he has a great voice) and it seems like they were trying to come off as frightening and depressing more than anything. It all bothers me, but I think it's mostly just stupid reasons and small annoyances.

Still, good review. This album is extremely influential in modern metal.This Message Edited On 10.31.05

barosjn
October 31st 2005


501 Comments


So far the only SlipKnoT album I've really liked was Vol. 3: (The Subliminal Verses). However, even though I hate Corey Taylor I like how the sound of his voice can get anyone listening to this band moshing. Good review for one that isn't track-by-track.

Atticus 69320
October 31st 2005


49 Comments


"surprisingly, they were anything but a nu-metal band."

Suprisingly, I stopped reading there.

Cravinov13
October 31st 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Actually, I think their more Nu-Metal now then then. Back then they were juts really angry heavy metal. Nu-Metal can be both music that is too heavy to be rock yet not enough to be metal *shrugs*. Or it could be Funk Metal, like Korn.

Storm In A Teacup
November 1st 2005


13226 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Vol3- 3.5-4/5
Iowa- 2.5/5
Slipknot- 1.5/5
MFKR- 4/5
Edit: 9.0:Live now as well is a 4/5

Pretty much sums up my opinion, I used to think Iowa was a 4, but then I got into real metal. I thought this was a good review.This Message Edited On 11.05.05

Dead_Trench
November 1st 2005


159 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

You need to stop trying to fit bands into genres. You aren't good at it. Slipknot being death metal is laughable. Death metal is built upon heaviness, technicality, gutteral growls, and gorey lyrics. This album doesn't really have much of that.

Cravinov13
November 1st 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Quote: You need to stop trying to fit bands into genres. You aren't good at it.

^^Only someone who who know little of genre classification would say that.

Arrakakaka
November 1st 2005


685 Comments


RGRFRG. GAAH! I despise people who neg reviews, just because they hate the band. Yes, I despise Slipknot, but BassBeginner's review was superb. I'm slowly losing my hope in mx.


Killtacular
November 1st 2005


1314 Comments


Cravinov, are you saying that Slipknot is death metal, or are you just blindly insulting his genre knowledge?

Cravinov13
November 1st 2005


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

When the hell did I say Slpknot = Death Metal?

I'm insulting everyone's genre knowledge. And no, I'm not saying I know everything about genre's either, but some people are just stupid, that's it. I guess it started when someone put Devildriver in Rock that pushed me off the edge.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy