Anna Calvi
Anna Calvi


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sputnik's official false metal authority USER (28 Reviews)
January 18th, 2011 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Relax, take it easy.

It sure has been an easy trip for singer/songwriter/guitarist Anna Calvi leading up to the release of her debut album. She got labeled as one of the most promising artists of 2011 by the BBC, and she got to open up for Nick Cave's Grinderman. This must definitely mean that she possesses some kind of talent, and that talent is her amazing voice. But she also possesses another, more hidden talent, the talent to create amazing songs, and to keep them interesting and varied. As you may have deduced from the cover, Anna Calvi is not an ordinary girl. The styles she successfully blends together on this album range from straight-up stadium rock to country tunes, with a delightful topping of blues. This of course makes it hard to describe her music with a genre, but it is certainly not 'flamenco' like myspace falsely reports. You can call it rock, if you will.

Anna Calvi's vocal capabilities remind of a certain other strong female vocalist namely Florence Welsh, and while her voice sounds different, she bears with her the same kind of girlish charm that miss Welsh possesses. Whatever the case, it is truly her gentle, but also very 'powerful in its own kind of way' voice that pushes the songs to a next level. Lyrically, Anna Calvi is strong, with the various lyrical themes fitting in with the general atmospheres of the songs. That said, the band is doing its job of creating a relaxing, dreamy and occasionally powerful atmosphere very well, but they are overshadowed by miss Calvi's powerful vocals. This isn't such a big problem because in the end they all fit together just nicely.

When talking about song structure, it must be noted that there is an awful lot of variety present here, in the form of various genres being blended together as I mentioned before. A fine example of that is the song 'I'll Be Your Man' which is driven by a western-like guitar strumming, as if you were in an old school western with a dead silence at the beginning, but with a strong build-up. The song really starts to shine when Anna Calvi's sudden vocal outburst lights up the entire scene in an almost theatrical fashion. Another great example of the amazing songwriting is the excellent rocker 'Suzanne And I', which is probably the pinnacle of Calvi's impressive vocal ability, and also showcases her pretty expansive vocal reach.

At any rate, Anna Calvi is a delightful, refreshing and most of all relaxing debut from a talented artist who might just be surprising us some more in the near future. Sit back, grab a drink and enjoy.



Recent reviews by this author
Deathspell Omega DroughtMarina and The Diamonds Electra Heart
Coeur de Pirate BlondedEUS Keep You Close
Cruachan Blood on the Black RobeAosoth III - Violence & Variation
user ratings (50)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyrael
January 18th 2011


20971 Comments


Meh, this needed a review anyways.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
January 18th 2011


7423 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review. I quite enjoyed this, definitely a strong debut.

Spec
January 18th 2011


27294 Comments


Bad artwork.

Tyrael
January 18th 2011


20971 Comments


Bad artwork.

Agreed
definitely a strong debut.

I just love her voice. Btw when is your review of White Lies - Ritual coming out?

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
January 18th 2011


7423 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Once I can find some motivation to finish it, I stopped half way through :-/

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2011


7320 Comments


Tyraelxy's improvement surge continues! Have a pos. Also - you'll pass me in less than two weeks at this rate man, LOL.

Finally, a minor niggle worth improving on (if you like):

It sure has been an easy trip for singer/songwriter/guitarist Anna Calvi leading up to the release of her debut album Anna Calvi.

Drop the second Anna Calvi - it's unnecessary and without it the review just reads a lot better.

Cheers!

Tyrael
January 18th 2011


20971 Comments


Tyraelxy's improvement surge continues!

Thanks mate, I can only hope to write reviews that are similar to those of yours/Xeno's in terms of
quality...
Also - you'll pass me in less than two weeks at this rate man

Write more reviews man! :D

Waior
January 18th 2011


11461 Comments


I have no idea who you are because I hardly exist here anymore but you're a good writer. Keep it up.

My apologies for the bump.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2011


7320 Comments


^ That's high praise. Good job Tyraelxy.

More reviews? I wish. It seems that my reviewing plans have to be put on hold until I make some headway on my geology thesis...speaking of which, I really shouldn't be here right now...LOL

Tyrael
January 18th 2011


20971 Comments


Thank you Waior that's very kind of you.
Idd Irving, I don't want you failing for your thesis lol.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
January 18th 2011


10662 Comments


Really diggin' the surge of reviews, xyxy, keep it up, you are improving with wonderful pace.

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III - Saturnian Poetry

Tyrael
January 18th 2011


20971 Comments


This was a nice break from all the metal i normally listen to, I should review more of these things!

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2011


7320 Comments


IT'S CHENOPHANES.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
January 18th 2011


10662 Comments


IT'S CHIRVING!


: D

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2011


7320 Comments


AND TYRAELCHY.

Tyrael
January 18th 2011


20971 Comments


FEEL THE LOVE

Meatplow
February 6th 2011


5524 Comments


This is really good so far

Meatplow
February 6th 2011


5524 Comments


upon listening completion I dare venture to say this is excellent

Tyrael
February 7th 2011


20971 Comments


Yes, I enjoyed this as well, she has a beautiful voice, and the music is very relaxing.

Meatplow
February 7th 2011


5524 Comments


could definitely use some more love around here



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy